We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a casual place with fine dining meals.”

The American Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The American Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 897 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $37
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Centre
Cross street: Minoru Boulevard
Transit: A short 5 minute walk from the Brighouse Canada Line Station.
Description: Located in the heart of Richmond at the Vancouver Airport Marriott Hotel, The American Grille continues to be one of Richmond's most popular lunch and dinner destinations. Offering a comfortable business-casual setting by day and elegant candlelit dining at sunset, The American Grille is sure to wow you and your guests.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Always a casual place with fine dining meals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love this place. It's such a casual, central, good parking and lots of good food options.

The salads are incredibly good. They're promo and service is good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taka K, Manager at The American Grille, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit at the American Grille Restaurant. I will definitely pass along your comments to our team as we take pride in our restaurant.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    118
    37
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Desert and lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

The food was good but the lunch/afternoon service was slow. I'm not sure if the server was trying to leave us in peace or was just inattentive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taka K, Manager at The American Grille, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us. Please accept my apologies for your recent experience at our restaurant. We pride ourselves on service excellence and I am surprised to hear this was not the case during your visit. Thank you very much for your valuable feed-back and hope you will visit us again to make it up to you.

Sincerely,
Taka Kuwata
Manager, Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Our second time here, very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We went as part of the Dine out Vancouver event. We were a company of 4, each had different choices of starter, main and desert from the pre-set menu for $28, plus chief's vine pairings for $20 per person additionally when every dish you pick is already paired with the appropriate wine - so you get to try 3 glasses of wine with 3 course dinner. The food was fresh, tasted well and nicely presented. My only complain would be the really small size of the bisque soup that had 1 (one!) tortellini in it, looked funny. I mean. come on, I realize it is a starter but why put 1 tortellini in it, why bother at all. The wine pairing were good except the read wine served with the lamb shank that was not up to a level of the rest of the wines, desert wines were excellent. Good service, attentive but not annoying. My problem with this restaurant would be the price if I was there outside of the dine out (it is cheaper then but still more expensive than at many places in Richmond). We will return but probably only as a part of some kind of event.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“above average prices for average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

A decent-enough hotel restaurant with typical fare (at surprisingly high prices)... During my two visits, the serving staff were difficult to locate for being seated or paying the bill. I don't know if they were short staffed, or we were catching them at the end of a rush, but either way they seemed to have insufficient servers to go around.

There is a multitude of alternate dining opportunities within easy walking distance, I'd suggest heading out on foot for better food and service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ndsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“An excellent choice for Dine Out Vancouver Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Had dinner this Saturday evening at the American Grille, Richmond, which is one of the participating restaurants with the Dine Out Vancouver Festival. The menu selections are good, food is superb, nice ambiance and, above all, we have had good luck of having a very pleasant server called Lisa for our table, who has a very sweet smile, very attentive, positive attitude and excellent service. Thanks for providing us with an enjoyable evening and many thanks to Lisa who is a valued member of the restaurant team, I am sure! (R & K)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The American Grille also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to The American Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing