We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The American Grille

The American Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The American Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 883 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $37
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Centre
Cross street: Minoru Boulevard
Transit: A short 5 minute walk from the Brighouse Canada Line Station.
Description: Located in the heart of Richmond at the Vancouver Airport Marriott Hotel, The American Grille continues to be one of Richmond's most popular lunch and dinner destinations. Offering a comfortable business-casual setting by day and elegant candlelit dining at sunset, The American Grille is sure to wow you and your guests.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I am not usually a fan of hotel restaurants and usually avoid them. My first night in Vancouver I was tired and didn't feel like going out so I went to the hotel restaurant for dinner. What a pleasant surprise it turned out to be. I sat in the lounge and had the pleasure of being served by Donovan. I hope this Marriott knows what an asset he is to their hotel. Friendly, attentive, top notch service all the way!

The food was very good, I had a steak sandwich one night and a halibut burger the second time I went. Both were very well prepared, tasty and fresh. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone staying at the hotel, but also as a go-to place for diners staying elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    114
    36
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

In our four night stay, we ate in the breakfast room four times and dined once at The American Grille. All experiences were outstanding - great food, great service and everything crisp and clean at all times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TaringaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Richmond's secret surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is too easy to walk by this Richmond Gem with the elephant in front. Step inside and experience the poetry that attentive, friendly service and delicious menu offerings combine to make a surprisingly great dining experience. The lunch or dinner salads are incredible and the steak and blue cheese salad is the best in the Lower Mainland!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal for Dine-Out Vanouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Set menu for Dine Out Vanouver. My appie was the beet/goat cheese salad and my husband had the carrot ginger soup. Both were delicious. The entree we both chose was the Maui ribs which came with a cauliflower purée and surrounded with roasted root veggies. Absolutely delicious - the meat was so tender it fell off the bone. Dessert was good but not spectacular. I had the sticky toffee pudding and my husband had the pistachio cheesecake.

Service was good. The ambience was nice. Absolutely no negatives. We'll be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichmondCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse Yukon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Donovan the bartender makes this place great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

First and foremost: if Donovan is working, I guarantee you'll have an excellent visit! He has a great personality which is perfectly suited for working with people. The food is quite good, as well. The seafood chowder is a must try.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skookum_gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The American Grille also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to The American Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing