We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & service”

Chop Steakhouse & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Chop Steakhouse & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 913 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bridgeport Road
Transit: Richmond Center: Richmond Center Bay 9, catch the 410 22ND STN arriving at Cambie rd at NO 4 Road, travel time 8 minutes. Walk East until St. Edwards Drive, turning North to Chop. Walking distance approx. 5 minutes.
Description: Chop's Richmond restaurant on St Edwards Dr near the Sandman Signature Hotel features great steak, seafood, desserts, cocktail and wine menus.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great restaurant to have in hotel. Good food, reasonable price. Service was also good! Will go again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffiemonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    78
    50
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please do not go to this restaurant”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Last night 11 woman and myself were out celebrating the upcoming wedding of our good friend. We spent the day at the River Rock Spa then went back to our room had a couple drinks and got ready to head out for what we thought we be a nice dinner at Chop. We arrived and were taken to our table. Unfortunately the restaurant had sat us at 2 different tables which didn't really make sense given we had a reservation for 12, anyways the hostess helped us move the tables together and we all sat down. Literally 15 min after we walked into the restaurant the manager came over and said he would not serve us because the group was visibly intoxicated. This was an absolute backless claim, in fact 2 girls in our group had not even had a drink all day. The rest of us had had a couple drinks, max 3 prior to arriving at the restaurant. The manger stated he saw one of the girls fall on her way into the restaurant, she fell another 2 times as the night went on because she can not walk in heels and in fact has anxiety thinking about wearing heels at the wedding because she is unsteady on her feet. The manager also stated that because another member in our party blew a "stagette theme whistle" she was drunk. The group decided to leave the restaurant d/t the discrimination we were faced with. Another woman and myself stayed behind to talk with the manager who could not back up his false claims and fumbled through the conversation. Overall, the discrimination a group of professional women faced at this restaurant is enough to make is clear to us this location does not deserve our business nor anyone elses' for that matter. Following the conversation with the manager we walked across the parking lot to the Sharks Club and were greeted warmly. Due to the large group the manager actually came over and asked us what the occasion was. After talking for a few minutes I asked the manager if he thought our group was visible intoxicated. He said not in any way was our group acting inappropriately or intoxicated. Interestingly enough, the Shark Club and Chop restaurants are owned by the same company. This would lead me to believe they would follow the same serving it right standards. Apparently not as we were able to enjoy our evening at the Shark club despite the terrible experience we had at Chop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegOrgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but steak is mediocre...”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a party and had a fun time because of the ambience and service.

The decor is really nice with high vaulted ceilings. You can't find a better place to relax and eat in Richmond.

The service was accommodating and totally awesome.

The food was decent but highly priced for the quality. It's 28 day aged beef which is not bad, but I would have liked seeing it a higher quality of meat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW FAIRFIELD
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Nice Steakhouse”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Two friends and I stopped in for dinner on the strength of a recommendation by our motel clerk. We were on our way to a fishing lodge north of vancouver the next day, and thought a celebratory meal was in order. This is definitely not a cheap place to eat, but all three of us had excellent meals, and the service was attentive. The only negative was not the restaurant's fault; a group of 20 or so teenagers was very loud and intrusive.

I'll eat hear again if I am in the neighborhood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garymwhipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sandman Signature Hotel, Vancouver, and this Restaurant is at the hotel, so we went for dinner and loved it, It was a Friday and it was busy, Great food, friendly staff, wonderful meal, we are looking forward to returning

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Chop Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing