We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect balance of professional, efficient, friendly and fun service.”

Carver's Steakhouse & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Carver's Steakhouse & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 902 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Centre
Cross street: Gilbert Road
Transit: 491 - Stop at Gilbert Road & Westminster Highway, we are just beside 98 B-Line - Stop at #3 Road & Westminster Highway, we are 10 minutes of walk on Westminster Highway (left)
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect balance of professional, efficient, friendly and fun service.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were blown away by the service of this restaurant. Our main server, Jordana, was absolutely excellent and went out of her way to ensure things were perfect. She exceeded our expectations by doing special things for us on her own accord. The support staff were also very good, refilling our water glasses, taking plates away and brushing crumbs without being intrusive. When we left the restaurant, (we think it was the manager/server Michael), he made a point to come out of the restaurant to say goodbye and thank us. It was a very nice touch and ending to a five person birthday celebration.
The room is dark and masculine. The chairs are large and comfortable and the tables are linen covered. There is a nice wine display area and bar a bit away from dining.
The food was very good as was the Malbec. The bread was really delicious. They served two kinds and although they gave us a good amount we ate it all. Because it was so wonderful we asked for more which we never do. All five of us enjoyed our meals. My 7 oz filet was one of the best steaks I ever had and I'm still thinking about it. My husband had the sirloin which was good but not as tasty as mine. We were surprised that both steaks were cooked exactly to our rather picky specifications. The sauce was very delicious. The sable fish served with pasta was also good and the kitchen made some alterations for the dietary restrictions of one of our party. My daughter was not feeling well and only ordered soup and a baked potato. Jordana brought her hot water, honey and lemon to soothe her. When she brought out the potato she brought out butter as well as clarified butter to see if one would be better for her. All without us asking. Although the mashed potatoes were not hot and could have had a bit more taste, all considered it was not a problem.
The lemon cheesecake was very light unlike the usual heavy thick cream cheese kind. It was delicious and the berry sauce came on a decorative spoon on the side rather than slathered all over the cheesecake which is a pet peeve of mine at other restaurants. The chocolate lava cake was lovely and they put and candle in it and quietly gave birthday congratulations. ( I had called earlier saying please no singing and they took care to remember.)
Note: You are given a pass to put in your car so you park for free in the lot. Also, you can order your main and for just a few dollars more you get a starter and a dessert which is really a great deal. There is enough food so that it's not necessary and we didn't take advantage of it but we thought is was a very good deal for someone wanting a bit more.
We didn't know about this place until recently and are glad we found it. It exceeded our expectations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonichestnutantosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

It was the last night of our trip and we decided to have steak. We were staying at the Hilton and did not want to drive too far. We put in the GPS. for restaurants and Carvers came up on the list. After looking at the reviews and website we decided to give it a chance. We were not disappointed from the greeting at the door to the final good bye.
Our food was well presented and excellent! Michael, our waiter, was very attentive. Professional would be the best way to describe Michael.
Price was reasonable. Would recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ladygolferontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, atmosphere,& service!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

For our last evening in British Columbia we decided to have a nice meal without traveling far from the airport. Carvers certainly fit our criteria, and exceeded our expectations. We took advantage of the three course option, as explained by our polite and attentive server, Michael. We also took advantage of the two wines paired to the meal. These made the meal an outstanding value for the fine food! The chef created both steak and chicken dishes that were presented artistically and were done to perfection. The desserts were fabulous. I highly recommend this restaurant for adults looking for a calm and delicious meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fair Food Fair Ambiance”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have to say that I was disappointed with my experience at this restaurant.
From the moment we walked in, it was a disaster. Waitress told us to go sit where ever we wanted she would come and hand us menus. We were not walked and seated by anyone. Then our table was wobbly, which they told us to go sit at the bar while they changed the tables, because of this inconvenience our cocktails would be complimentary. However at the end of the night the drinks were on our bill, which we did pay for.
We ordered the oyster Rockefeller, as a appetizer. I don't even know how to describe this dish. It was an oyster shell full of bread crumbs. NO oyster in there at all. only bread crumbs. For $ 15 and 4 oyster shells, I complained to the waitress, at which her reply was this is how we make our Rockefellers. The escargot dish was a bit spicy with cinnamon hints, very different but good.
For our main we ordered the Fillet and the Rib Eye, which was satisfactory enough, but I would not say it is steak house quality.
I noticed that after my complain about the oysters we had another server, which was fine as she was much friendlier and her English was understandable. Desserts were fine. By the end of the night the kitchen staff was blaring out rock music from the back radio which was over lapping with the quiet music from the restaurant.
Over all I would not go back nor recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Adolmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Beware of purchasing any coupons/vouchers for this restaurant. Even after reading the fine print, and presenting the voucher to the restaurant staff and manager, Michael, there was a discrepancy on what we should be receiving. Voucher was for ANY 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, 2 desserts and coffee/tea for 2 people. Paid $50, but the restaurant staff said if we go over $50, then we pay extra. Our voucher clearly states that there be no additional payment beyond tips and tax. I even checked with travelzoo and they agree with me. We wrote a review and the manager asked that we remove it, since they rely on tripadvisor ratings. Had some "BILLING" problems on my VISA and took 3 months to resolve. Don't want to go into tooooo much detail, just want to say BUYER BEWARE.
Besides this issue, food was mediocre, ambiance (that night-tour group!!) was poor, service poor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Yummy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carver's Steakhouse & Lounge also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Carver's Steakhouse & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing