We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch (and Plenty of Vegetarian Options)”
Review of Shanghai River

Shanghai River
Ranked #19 of 910 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Lunch (and Plenty of Vegetarian Options)”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was a bit worried that I would have a hard time finding vegetarian options here, but that wasn't the case at all. Our server was very friendly and helped me figure out what was veg and what wasn't. We ordered a selection of veg and non veg things, and liked the xiao long bao, prawn and chive fried dumplings, chive and scallion pancakes (v), veg steamed dumplings(v), mushroom roll (v), vegetable tofu roll with sauce that tasted like mint sauce (v) plus slightly sweet bread with condensed milk (v). Good value, and I'm really glad we detoured here on our way into Vancouver.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lettezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    77
    22
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Love Love the Dimsum!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place is great for entertaining friends and family as it has a large window in the center of the restaurant that showcases the masters of dimsum making it fresh right infront of you just like its done in shanghai. The service is very friendly and attentive,the best way to grab a waitresses attention is to Flag them down when needed as they are running around lots! always large groups dining (7 or more)... but they do accommodation smaller parties as well, I highly recommend making a reservation beforehand, (this place is always packed) I would also like to mention to all the dim-sum Rockies/newbies.... this place is most popular for its dim-sum, and its only served from 11AM to 3PM. After 3 they have a dinner menu that has a very very small selection of dim-sum. So, if you want to try all the wonderful varieties of dim-sum they are known for, go there between 11AM and 3PM.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koukla702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick, maryland
Level Contributor
669 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
“Worth a detour for soup dumplings and great fish”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had dinner here twice during a short visit to Vancouver. It was recommended by several locals. Food and service was superb. It was also a novelty for us, new to soup dumplings and fascinated by the dumpling production line in the kitchen which is visible to everyone in the dining room via a large glass window running for nearly its length. We had pork and crabmeat dumplings; both were a taste treat but the crabmeat was our favorite. There is a process, evidently well known to even the children of the Chinese-Canadian families around us, where the dumpling is picked up by the stem at the top with the chopsticks, dipped in the vinegar and shredded ginger, and then lifted to the mouth with a combined spoon support and chopstick lift. You bite in carefully as it may be hot and to avoid squirting the liquid contents in all directions. When we were done, the tablecloth around me was a disaster but I was entirely satisfied; my wife's area was much neater, so the method can be mastered. For one of our dinners we had the sweet and sour rock cod - it was cooked perfectly and provided an awesome dinner that is now added to my favorite taste memories. Also tried fried pork dumplings: they were good; and the hot and sour soup: elaborate composition and also good but with a hint of strange flavor that reminded me vaguely of chipotle. We knew that this place was popular so we arrived early (5-6 pm) both times and were seated immediately. Also, it was immediately clear that we needed to be guided by the menu and photos and not so much by extensive conversation with the wait staff as their English and our Chinese were inadequate. I highly recommend this authentic restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fred200099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Shanghai food”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

It provides a good level of Shanghai food that makes me a little surprise.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pui Yee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food but the servers need ESL”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Shanghai River is one of several restaurants that were opened in Richmond in recent years which specialize in Shanghainese cuisine, one of the eight styles of Chinese regional cooking that is known for its braising and stewing, robust use of sugar, dark vinegar and julienning skills. Unlike Cantonese cooking, dumplings, buns and noodles are the main staples.
This restaurant is located on Westminster Highway between No. 3 Road and Minoru Blvd with indoor parking on the side of the building. As the restaurant has been packed nightly with patrons since it opened, reservation is highly recommended. The décor is contemporary, minimalistic and devoid of the usual Chinese nuances while the floor to ceiling windows facing the street give it a bright and airy ambience. There is a glassed-in kitchen showcasing a trio of smiling cooks making Xiao long bao (steamed buns with soup in a bamboo basket) and other assorted dumplings from scratch while a fish tank located at the far end of the restaurant that is filled with live crabs, lobsters, rock cods and tilapia attracts the attention from children of all ages. The menu is extensive and offers the usual favorites such as jellied pork, smoked fish, Peking duck in two courses, hot and sour soup, tea leaves fragranced smoked duck, deep fried whole fish in sweet and sour sauce, braised whole sea cucumber and so on. Appetizers are around $7 each and you can create your own combo while most entrees are under $20. All the dishes on the menu are accompanied by vividly colored pictures, a thoughtful touch for patrons who are not familiar with Shanghainese cuisine. There are also the quintessential dumplings, steamed buns and wontons and an array of desserts to choose from if you still have room after dinner.
As much as the food is great, the service seems to suffer when it gets busy. The majority of the servers also lack fluency in English and non-Chinese speaking patrons tend to get ignored. With the restaurant within walking distance of several hotels, this is an issue that management must work on.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Icebergs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai River also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Shanghai River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing