We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
147
68
16
18
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
147
68
16
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews punch bowl the pub askham hall lovely village peppercorn sauce mushy peas lovely lunch onion rings sunday lunch bank holiday weekend received a warm welcome lamb an evening meal stayed for one night following morning open fire lasagna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 263 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Booked a nights bed and breakfast on a Saturday night and reserved a table for an evening meal.
On arrival. We we received a warm welcome from the Manager, Iain, who went through a few points before showing us to our room.
The room was clean, spacious and well presented with a king size bed and large en-suite with a shower over the bath.
At the Punchbowl you complete a form with your breakfast requirements and hand it in during the evening.
The evening meal was really good from the sharing fish starter through the lamb shank and pork belly with a side of onion rings. Really tasty food, piping hot on hot plates and well presented. Soon demolished with no room for a dessert so on to a liqueur coffee.
Mustn’t forget to mention Jason, Iain’s capable barman / waiter who is a right character. What a star.
A good night of undisturbed sleep in the comfy bed and up for breakfast which was superb. Cereals and fruit juice of choice and a full English set us up for the day.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Punchbowl - I would recommend trying to book direct with them.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank TIJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday with a group. We had preordered our meals. We arrived at 2.00pm, the rest of the party arrived approx 10 mins later. The starter (only 1 person had this) was served at approx 2.45pm. We then waited till about 3.30pm before the main meals were served Considering we preordered our meals. I understand there was only 1 chef in the kitchen that day which is okay but we should have been advised there would be a significant wait for the lunches. The children were starving as was I. Also the puddings were highly overpriced for what they were £6.95 per pudding is a lot to pay for a tiny piece of sticky toffee and a small crumble!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Cathcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

Visited the Punchbowl 3x while away and the service, food and staff are all excellent. We can definitely recommend this as a place to have tasty food. Dogs welcome as long as behaved and also get a little treat off the staff

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank GrandTour595620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

Booked a one night stay at The Punchbowl Inn because it was one of the cheapest rooms available that day via this app. I was expecting a standard room above a pub but got quite the opposite! The double room I stayed in was a good size, beautifully decorated, the bathroom was modern and featured a huge walk in shower complete with a rainfall shower head - bliss! Bathroom was stocked with nice products - shampoo / conditioner / body wash / lotion - it’s clear a lot of time and attention has gone in to setting up the rooms and it pays off. Downstairs the bar was very cosy with a fire going in the corner, a welcome feature after a long day out walking in the cold. Plenty of drinks available and the barman also has his own cocktails. The biggest surprise was yet to come - the food was absolutely delicious! So much better than your average village pub and I was genuinely shocked at the level of detail both in the presentation and the service. All other guests were equally complimentary about their meals. I would stay again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend to others visiting the area.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank sew1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

We drove over after walking in Ambleside. Fantastic warm welcome on our arrival, lovely fire going in the downstairs area and the room was fantastic. Extremely comfortable bed and a lovely bath to soak in. The evening meal was great, we had the pheasant and the fish. Breakfast was top notch and the staff very friendly. Very much hope to stay again, probably the best hotel stay we've had in the UK!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EnglandTraveller475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews