We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Punchbowl Inn Askham - highly recommend”
Review of Punchbowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punchbowl Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Askham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Punchbowl Inn Askham - highly recommend”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Punchbowl this weekend . The rooms are lovely and our stay was made extra special by the warm & friendly atmosphere . The food was excellent offering a wide & varied menu which is all freshly cooked to your liking. An open fire gave a lovely welcome back feeling after walking the fells which are on the doorstep. Simon the proprietor was very accommodating to all our needs resulting in a most enjoyable relaxed weekend . We plan to return very soon .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    56
    11
    14
    12
See reviews for
39
103
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had many meals over the last 15 years, obviously with different owners. It used to have an excellent reputation & the food was perfect. We still remained loyal when it changed hands many times...however at one time it was very poor. Not to be disloyal, we came back after the pub closed for a while. Our friends stayed & the accommodation is just basic...should be cosy! I know the rates are huge & it is very difficult to make a living in a country pub. I would hate to see the demise of the Punchbowl...we regularly travel nearly 2 hours to spend time in Askham. We plan to book a room in December (we can take our beloved Lab to certain rooms).Last Summer, when the Lowther show was on, we booked our tourer on the pitches behind the pub....£10 a night!...and the food was very good this time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catsycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time that we have visited the Punchbowl and we can say we have never had a bad meal here. The food is good with plenty of variety and portions are more than adequate. The specials are aways changing so there is usually something different to try out. The staff have always been friendly and eager to please, and the Inn itself still maintains it's traditional looks. The only gripe is they always seem to have Jazz FM on the radio, not our cup of tea but we always have a laugh to ourselves when we go in! If you are near Penrith or close to Askham why not pop in and see for yourself.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at the Punch Bowl but ate there after peoplet we met on a walk recommended the food. The chef and girl behind the bar were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. My meal was the best lamb I have had in years ,perfectly cooked. We even got mints to end the meal.
Thank you to every one at the Punch Bowl

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punchbowl_Inn_Askham, Manager at Punchbowl Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I hope you can join us again next time you are in the area

kind Regards
Punchbowl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

stayed at the punchbowl inn 20/09/2013 we were in room 6 on arrival found that there was no heating the toilet seat was broken and no TV. room cost 85 pounds we think it was quite expensive considering lack of amenities. the young man who was looking after the inn (not the owner)was very apologetic ,he managed to fix the heating the one thing that was very good was the breakfast.

gerry

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerryjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punchbowl_Inn_Askham, Manager at Punchbowl Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the the time to post a review.

We are in the process of updating all of our rooms, room 6 infact has just been completed this week and is now finished in a rather fetching lime green complete with matching fixtures and fittings.

As you have stated there was a member of management on hand to help you as we do try our very best to address issues in the unlikely event that they do arise, so thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

I think on this occasion because you had requested a dog room unfortunately due to the very nature of these rooms the carpets were slightly older, we have now taken this on board and replaced the carpets in all of our dog friendly rooms.

I appreciate that you feel the room was over priced but I would also like to point out that when you mentioned this to our team they did offer you a substantial discount on the standard room rate and furthermore added a few extra perks at no extra cost.

I am happy that you did enjoy a lot of aspects on your stay with us and would like to hope that now we have addressed the negatives you will feel comfortable enough to come back and give us another try at some point in the future.

Thanks again
Simon Brown and the team at the punchbowl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had lunch here today and it was excellent.
The main courses were huge with really fresh ingredients.
Staff friendly , helpful and knowledgeable.
I would recommend the chicken burger !
We will return .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stopped off on a trip from Inverness to London: great location not too far from motorway. The staff were excellent, very friendly and working very hard to please. We arrived early and were given a choice of rooms. We choose room 5 which was further from the top of the stairs. Room was clean and tidy and bed extremely comfortable. The hairdryer was the most powerful I have ever had in any hotel! A great value for money find and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMac172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askham
3.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#1 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
4.8 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
14.5 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punchbowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punchbowl Inn

Property: Punchbowl Inn
Address: Askham, Askham CA10 2PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Askham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Askham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Punchbowl Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Restaurant, Pub and Bed & Breakfast located in the picture postcard village of Askham. We offer Twin and Double Rooms all En-suite and would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to escape the mundane pressures and stress of everyday life and enjoy a wonderful break with us in this picturesque region.We serve food from 12 noon through 'til 9pm every day (service hours during winter may vary). Finally, dogs (and children) are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Punchbowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punchbowl Hotel Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing