We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To long a wait but!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queens Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Askham B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“To long a wait but!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely welcome, promise of good food, good table, lovely atmospher and very friendly staff.
All of this was 100% perfect but our only problem was we did have to wait over an hour for our food, there was four of us and my Mother waited about 10 mins after we had been served for her meal BUT,
The food was worth waiting for it was excellant.
Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    24
    9
    2
    11
See reviews for
27
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We found this pub after we were rejected in an arrogant manner by the nearby Crown and Mitre. How lucky we were. Good food at reasonable prices with the most welcoming atmosphere. We ate here most days and it made our holiday. We forgive them for closing for the wedding.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We came across this pub when we were looking for The Queens Head at Tirril. What a gem it is, we 're to early for food but we got a very warm welcome. We looked at the menu and decided to come back the next evening to eat but unfortunately the pub was closed due to a wedding reception.The pub is very olde worlde with a great atmosphere. We sat and played one of the many games they have available and enjoyed our drinks, will will visit again when we return to the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Queen's Head for my brother's wedding and my entire stay was ideal. Welcoming staff accommodated every need of the wedding party, from its dog friendly policy, to vegan dietary requirements, nothing was too much trouble. Staying here for two nights with friends and family we really felt at home. A hearty full English was perfectly cooked and even included haggis as bonus. Having young children with with us the kitchen were really accommodating in catering for their preferences. While the rooms are small, the carefully considered decor and well planned use of space means they are cozy rather than cramped. Chatty locals and a picture postcard setting really made this place a home from home. I would recommend The Queens to anyone, to eat and to stay, I look forward to my next visit. A big thanks to all the staff who really put in a lot of effort to make my brothers wedding and our stay such a pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliebarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had luch here and the food was excellent...really good chef !
however the carpet at the back entrance is appallingly dirty and there is no fresh smell on arrival ....also there is a tiny dog running around that is in grave danger of being squashed by an unsuspecting customer !
The meal when it arrived was very very good.
However the ladies toilet had no light, maybe a blessing as was not clean, paper towels just stacked near sink. The men's were also not clean. Rather disappointing and off
putting.
We have eaten here frequently in the last but after the recent change of management I doubt we will return unless There is a general improvement in the level of hygiene.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensHeadAskham, Owner at The Queens Head Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi thanks for your review, we are pleased you found the food really good and yes we have an excellent chef, as for your other points one of the bulbs had blown in the ladies toilets which was replaced as soon as we were notified, hand towels placed on the sink does not constitue an area being dirty our toilets are cleaned reguarly, sadly the carpet is a little worse for wear (we inherited it with the pub) however its not dirty but very worn in places of high foot flow, and as for Oscar he is our teacup Yorkshire Terrier who would always get out of your way so don't worry about standing on him he is very friendly and as we are a dog friendly pub we sometimes have him with us, but only during the morning, we would love it if you came back to visit us as you obviously enjoyed your meal hope to see you soon.

regards

Eileen Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spent two nights from 6th September. Lovely old inn with a good menu. Really enjoyed the evening meals. However, the breakfasts were something else - we could hardly move afterwards!! Although the rooms were only small, they were comfortable. Everyone was really friendly. Have already recommended The Queens Head to a number of friends, and hope to return in the not-to-distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at The Queens Head, Ashkam and we were delighted with our 'find'! It was a last minute booking but we were very impressed overall. The location is excellent for access to The lakes, but the surrounding area is beautiful and well worth a visit. The hotel is family run, very friendly and the service and the food are both excellent. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the hotel is brimming with 17th century charm. Obviously, the room was quite small (if you compare with a modern hotel for instance) but it more than met our needs. We are already planning our next visit and hope to book the Lowther suite so we can treat the family. It's probably also important to note that the owners are extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming and it's fair to say that they go out of their way to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askham
3.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
438 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
401 reviews
6.4 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 11 in Penrith
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head Inn

Property: The Queens Head Inn
Address: Lower Green, Askham CA10 2PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Askham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Askham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Queens Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing