We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vossestrand Hotel & Apartement
Ranked #1 of 1 Myrkdalen B&B and Inns
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Skiing trip”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

What a fantastic place this is.
Four of us booked a stay here for 2 nights before moving to the bigger hotel next to it. We had a fantastic apartment that was a great size,lovely and clean and the staff were so friendly and took great care to please our every need. There is a bar,pool table and television area downstairs and for an extra fee breakfast and dinner can be ordered, we had the breakfast that was well worth the money. There is a bus that takes you to the ski resort just up the road till midday for free.
We really wish that we hadn't moved to the hotel and had stayed at the Vossestrand for our entire stay as the hotel wasn't nearly as nice as the Vossestrand. Stay here you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Saw three rooms here and they were all great nice sized rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilathemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

3 nights my wife and I stayed there. The room has a full kichten, relax area, dinning table and good for a longer stay. Almost every room has it's own balcony. My one facing to the back hill. The lobby is large and have sofa for people relax in the evening. It's quite clean and comfortable.

The receptionist is helpful and teach me how to use the indoor ventilation fan (for kitchen and bathroom).

Room Tip: Book breakfast when checking in. Othwise you have to cook yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Vossestrand Apartments are situated in a peaceful location about half an hour from Voss or Gudvangen, though it's a nice drive & is great if you have a car but it would probably be difficult getting there otherwise. The closure of the tunnel between Gudvangen & Flam meant we weren't able to see as much as we hoped of the surrounding areas so keep that in mind in your planning (not sure when it's due to open again, it's creating a nuisance for many ppl). Our apartment was on the basic side however was still nice & the kitchen well equipped, very quiet, bed's and pillows were comfortable. The staff were all very helpful & gave good advice regarding how to plan around the tunnel closure.

The only issues we had is that the wifi signal was not strong enough on our level to work in our apartment, so had to go to the bar. Also charging for linen & cleaning is a bit cheeky. We figured 'cleaning' meant washing all the kitchen utensils, stripping the beds & removing the garbage (usual for an apartment), but staff said they also expect the floors to be vacuumed, mopped, bathroom, shower, toilet & kitchen sterilized, completely replacing the need to get their cleaner in. This system concerned us as how do we know that the person before us actually sterilized everything & didn't just make it appear to be clean? Or does their cleaner clean it regardless? The cleaning fee for not cleaning yourself is quite steep (much more than it would cost to pay their cleaner to do it), so it seems like a bit of money grabbing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location of this hotel is beautiful and peaceful. Especially if you travel with kids, the place is perfect. The apartment we staid in had a living with a kitchen and a balcony, two bedrooms (one near de living and the other upstairs - enough for 3 or 4 children) and one bathroom (small, but ok for our needs, with a shower cabin). The kitchen was fully equiped (so, if you have time, you can cook). We staid here 2 nights and we visited Bergen (not very faraway) and we saw Borgund Stavkyrkje and some waterfalls(Tvindefossen, Latefoss and Lonfoss); also we took a trip with Flamsbanen. The first morning we paied for breakfast and it was very good (diversified, good coffee); for dinner the hotel offers only pizza, so if you arrive late is better to eat on the way to the hotel (the pizza was good and not very expensive). In the price of the apartemnt was not included the price of the bedlinen and towels and, also, the price for cleaning. If you don”t have you own bedlinen and towels, you have to pay extra 100 NOK for person. For cleaning is also 100 NOK, but we prefered to clean it ourselves because we had all the things you need for that.The view from the room was beautiful. If you travel by car, the hotel has a parking and it is free. The wi-fi is also free.

Room Tip: I think it is better a room with a front view and to ask them to show you two different apartments s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihcojocaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Vossestrand Appartments for 5 nights in the middle of August. We arrived very late at night due to the Gudvangen Tunnel being shut and not knowing this before time (Grrr) and a 4 hour detour later we arrived at 1am. The staff were very understanding and made sure we were comfortable before leaving us to rest. Both my wife and I were relieved when we saw the quality of the appartment and even wondered if there might be amistake knowing how little we were paying!

The next morning we awoke to find ourselves in very quite and serene surroundings. The hotel sits at approx. 550m above sea level and the view down the valley is wonderful. Voss is approx. 25 minutes away and to be fair, once I had seen it once, I had no strong desire to see it again. The Klatrapark (Norways answer to Go Ape) is 15 minutes dribe, Voss Rafting Center 25 minutes drive, Gudvangen (for the Norway in a nutshell fjord cruise to Flam) is about 30 minutes, but you do need to have your own car. Just be careful though, getting around Norway by road is a slow business and if you break the very low speed limit, prepare for a hefty fine when you get home. We drove to Bergen (2 hours) 80kmph most of the way I unfortunately crept up to 88kmph at one point and found a ticket in the doorstep when I returned home. £175!!!

Norway is a devastatingly beautiful country and you could not stop at a nicer place to enjoy this particular part of it. We paid about £325 for 5 nights for 4 of us, we would struggle to find a Travelodge for that money in the UK, so it was exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: We had an apartment at the back of the hotel, view isn't great (looking up the hillside) but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmitchell1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice newly renovated apartments with fully equipped kitchen and a lot of beds. Our apartment had room for 6 people and a sofa. Staff is friendly and the hotel has very nice views down the valley.

You need to have your own car to get here and it is a bit out of the way from main attractions if you are here in summer. Noise from road and neighbours in hotel can be a bit disturbing if you are sensitive.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is definitely best since rooms are not soundproofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgvan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the Vossestrand Hotel for four nights early in June. We were made extremely welcome by staff and felt very much at home. The apartment was really well designed - modern and quirky - and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed to be completely self-catering. The atmosphere of the hotel is extremely friendly and relaxing. We had a car (and this is probably necessary) but the location of hotel is excellent. It is handy for Voss, Vik and some beautiful walks on the Pass. We definitely intend to stay here again in the future and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJCurnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrkdalen
0.3 mi away
Myrkdalen Hotel
Myrkdalen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vossestrand
161 reviews
12.2 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
203 reviews
15.7 mi away
Fleischer's Hotel
Fleischer's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Voss Municipality
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Park Hotel Vossevangen
Park Hotel Vossevangen
#3 of 7 in Voss Municipality
152 reviews
21.3 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
14.9 mi away
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaurant
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaur...
#1 of 7 in Voss Municipality
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vossestrand Hotel & Apartement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vossestrand Hotel & Apartement

Property: Vossestrand Hotel & Apartement
Address: Myrkdalen 5713, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Voss Municipality > Myrkdalen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Myrkdalen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vossestrand Hotel & Apartement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing