We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

The Mad Dog Cafe & Market
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: Indian, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Offering daily curry specials and samosas, along with homemade soup, sandwiches, other non-curry grab and go favorites, great locally roasted specialty coffees and organic teas, craft beer and regional wines, we hope you find our little cafe & market a great place to stop for a quick snack when passing by, a comfortable meal when meeting friends or family, or the place to go to buy all your favorite Mad Dog Products for your pantry or freezer. Here we now have our booking office and meeting place for our dogsled clients, a casual counter-service cafe with the food that we have become best known for at our markets, and a larger retail area interspersed filled with our own Mad Dog Quality Products and other local market favorites.
Canmore, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'd heard many great things about this place since the spring, so I finally went a few weeks ago and it was great. there was a very large group of us and the service was great. our food came out in great time, and it was fantastic! I got the butter chicken. the naan bread is also great, it was soft and yummy. I plan to go back soon! good pricing as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canmore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Curry & more”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This new restaurant is only 7 minutes from downtown Canmore and well worth the short drive. Entering, you are enveloped in complex aromas of Indian spices in a cozy warm dining room. The four different curry entrees we ordered were served individually in bowls on plates with rice and cucumber onion salad. It was easy to pass the bowls around family style so each could be enjoyed by all. While much of the menu is Indian they also do a burger and fish and chips. The list of beers is short but perfectly complementary to the food. Service is relaxed & friendly and knowledgeable.
Dinner for 4 including drinks & dessert under $110.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 1of945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A bit of India in Dead Man's Flats”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Would you expect to find fine Indian food next to the gas station at Dead Man's Flats? We wouldn't have if we hadn't read about the Junction House in the local paper. These people have been producing Indian food for the Canmore farmers' market and other outlets for some time, and now they have their own place. We visited before the official opening, but even then the food was delightful. Indian friends agree that it's nicely done and exceeds their expectations. There's more than curry available: you can have steak, pulled pork , burgers and that sort of thing. We had butter chicken and the daily curry, both really nicely spiced - to our hotness specifications - and tasty. Next time I want to try the Indian poutine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Izmircanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Jum, Thailand
2 reviews
“So happy to find”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Came across Russel Donald wonderful spice kits at the farmer market in Canmore and wanted to purchase some more but was not going to be in town on Thursday so after googling his name to find out where else he sold, we were delighted to find he has The Junction house. Absolutely wonderful food, I cannot praise it enough. Our friends who are local to Canmore were also very happy not to have to travel far for fabulous Indian food. Both Russel and his wife were so very kind and welcoming, we will be returning for sure on our next trip to Canmore.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bentley46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic curries”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Visited the restaurant about 6 tImes during our stay in Canmore & tried all the curries. I've eaten loads of curries in England, lots of the on the 'famous' curry mile in Rusholme, Manchester, & I can say without doubt that The Junction House curries are by far the best I've ever had ! And don't get me started on the samosas - you've got to try the beef ones, absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend a visit, it's a great restaurant, with excellent food & a lovely relaxed atmosphere. I'll be back :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Dog Cafe & Market also viewed

 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Mad Dog Cafe & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing