We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nice stay loved the views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Gate Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banff Gate Mountain Resort
canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice stay loved the views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great family friendly location. Beautiful serene views of the mountains and away from the busy crowds of Banff and Canmore. Nice chalet that comfortably sleeps around 6. Lots of space and baby friendly. Excellent choice for the area and enjoyed being able to have unlimited privacy. Pool was nice and rooms were fairly clean, nice jet tubs for a soak. Ask for the national park passes to save $20 each time you visit Banff and area.

Room Tip: chalets are very similar I was near the laundry which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardengirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    21
    16
    11
See reviews for
59
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Chalet was very clean and comfortable. We were on the last row and the view was fabulous.
After being outside which was a little chilly, it was nice to have the fireplace. Kitchen included microwave, coffee maker,blender and plenty of dishes/cutlery. Was nice to cook and have most meals in the chalet. Dishwasher also a plus. We did not utilize the pool/excercise room but they looked good. Was nice to hike right behind chalet as there were trails up the mountain.
Short drive to Canmore {groceries and restaurants} a little further drive to Banff. Laundry facilities were available. Kids enjoyed the games room, and if you needed internet it was available in the main lodge. Lastly the staff were great and very helpful when we asked questions and needed help.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belle017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We left a Sony battery and charger in the lodge when we departed on October 13th. We called the same day and asked them to mail it to us. Stephen said that he would go right to unit #44 and mail it to us. A week later, when we called to say it never arrived, Stephen said that we" never called and never talked to him". We called back and spoke to a "New man" at the desk and he said," Oh yes, it was revovered and returned to the office" and that he will mail it to us right away. It is now October 31, and we have not received it. Doring the last three weeks, two employees have promised to mail us the Sony battery and charger, and we still do not have it. I guess we will just have to purchase another unit.
We went to the website to submit a written request via email and could not find any email address to write to management. We are going to send a copy of this report via regular mail in hopes of getting a response. If we not not get one, we are going to change our review from Poor to Terrible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileenvoorhees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dead Man's Flats hotels

Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Fairly basic accomodations that were very comfortable. Property is showing it's age, but we really had no problems with cleanliness or function. Chalet's are two bedroom with master on second floor with private bath. Full kitchen with dishwasher. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice. The property is a 15 drive to Canmore and there are lots of eating options. The Husky nearby had a great breakfast. The view every morning was stunning!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We went to Banff for a family vacation from May 27 - June 3 2011. We stayed in chalet number 37 which was in the last row on the top of the resort. My 11 year old daughter and 14 year old son loved the chalet. It was clean if only somewhat outdated. Full kitchen facilities with plenty of dishes, etc. They did have laundry facilities on site which I used twice. The wash and dryer were each $2 per load. We did not require a midweek cleaning as I was able to keep the chalet clean and organized. I am aware that they charge for a mid week cleaning ($35?). They also have gas grill on the deck but we did not use it. It was great having the elk and mule deer come right up to the property. This facility is close to Canmore (10 minute drive) and about a 20 minute drive to downtown Banff.

We did not use the pool or hot tub during our stay but the facilities looked clean. They do have wifi available at an additional cost although due to some electricity issues on the day we arrived this was waived. They also have outdoor activities and a game room available but we spent most of our time outside of the resort. When we came back in the evenings we would play games in our unit or watch some t.v. We made use of the kitchen by cooking breakfast every day and most of our diners as well. As previously mentioned, the unit had plenty of dishes and cookware available.

The views were amazing from this unit. It was also very nice to have your own space and not feel like you were surrounded by lots of people.

If we go back to Banff we will definitely be staying at this facility again.

Room Tip: We obtained this room via RCI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ensamhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Resort is outside of Canmore, but not far. It is a short drive to Banff itself. The units are self contained and spacious, but older. We had a 2 bedroom. Smaller room downstairs and larger room upstairs. And there is a mudroom for storing ski equipment. The living room and adjoining kitchen were large enough but the furniture and kitchen equipment is very dated. I liked the electric gas fireplace. There were 2 bathrooms - the toilets were a bit dodgy with plungers next to each one. There is a little balcony with a BBQ. They do not have laundry facilities in the units, but there is one onsite. There is also a pool and a games room. I did not use the pool. The games room is pretty run down, but there are games and puzzles for the kids. They have sleds and such for some family fun in the snow. There is a little playground as well, but this was covered in snow when we were there. People at the reception are friendly. There is also a computer to use at the reception area and you can print boarding passes and such. Intermittently there was wifi available in the units. Really, it isn't an awful place, just older and run down. However, it is economilcal, and if that is what you are looking for, it isn't a bad deal. Units comfortable sleep 6.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Proflyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

To say the Banff Gate Resort is substandard would be far too generous. When we checked into our unit, we found dishes in the cupboard which were dirty. According to the rules we were handed when we checked in, there was no maid service the entire week we were there and if we wanted our unit cleaned, it cost $65. If we simply wanted clean towels, we were required to bring them to the lodge to exchange them for $35. There was a vacuum cleaner that I attempted to use, but quickly realized that it did not pick anything up. I discovered that the bag was completely full and was useless. When we left after our stay, we were expected to strip the bedding and put all bedding and towels in the bathtub or risk an additional $65 cleaning fee. To the managements credit, when I complained about the poor cleanliness of our unit and the vacuum cleaner bag, they did order up maid service without a charge. However, I have never stayed anywhere other than my own home that did offer maid service let alone expect guests to clean the linens when leaving.

It was apparent that many of the furnishings have not been replaced, perhaps since they opened in 1988. Examples are bedding with holes in the blankets. A mattress that had no box springs and was completely worn - when we striped the bedding after our stay to save $65, the middle of the mattress sagged to about ½ its intended thickness. The couch that was worn out and also sagged making it very uncomfortable. There were numerous holes in the wood siding. The remote controls were both missing the backs with batteries scotch tapped on.

In short, they should be marketing this resort as a third world hovel!

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank SLOrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dead Man's Flats
0.7 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
5.2 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
5.3 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#18 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Gate Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Gate Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Gate Mountain Resort
Address: 302 George Biggy Sr. Rd., Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Gate Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Gate Mountain Resort is an outdoor playground for all ages where mountain activities and rustic amenities meet. It is nestled in the majestic pines of Pigeon Mountain at the foot of the Lougheed and Windtower Mountains. Our 46 fully appointed chalets are surrounded by Lake Louise and the adventures of the Banff National Park. Activities include water rafting, hiking, skiing, mountain biking, dog sledding, golf and more. For those preferring more peace and quiet, the picturesque grounds of the resort provide the perfect retreat. Children’s play areas are intertwined by hiking trails that sprawl throughout the resort connecting to the surrounding wilderness. Local wildlife often wanders unhindered throughout the area and across the property. An indoor heated pool, hot tubs and a family clubhouse provide a well-rounded travel destination for families and adventurers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Banff Gate Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Gate Mountain Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Banff Gate Mountain Resort Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing