We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Awesome Accomodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copperstone Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copperstone Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Carman, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, Awesome Accomodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was worth the short drive to stay in Copperstone Resort instead of right in Canmore. The location was just as picturesque as anything in Canmore (it is that close). The town was definitely quieter than Canmore, which made for a more restful stay. Our accomodations were spacious, modern, and clean. The resort was able to supply us with a pet-free room which we needed because of alleriges in our family. The few items that we did not find in the well-stocked kitchen were very quickly brought to our door by the friendly staff. The price was very good for the type of accomodations. If we found a price like that again for the same unit, we would definitely be back!
p.s. We have five people in our family, so most hotels in the Banff/Canmore area would not book us in one room (even when there were enough beds to accommodate us.) Staying in the 2 bedroom unit at Copperstone was WAY cheaper than booking 2 hotel rooms. It was also wonderful to come home after sightseeing all day, and put our feet up while our supper cooked in the oven. (There are also Barbeques right close to the hot tub area!)

Room Tip: You could ask for outward facing units to maximize your mountain view, but we enjoyed having a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RGDMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thankyou for sharing your comments and positive experience during your recent stay with us at Copperstone Resort. It gives us great pleasure in knowing all your needs and comforts were met and hope you will return to enjoy all the facilities Copperstone can offer. To book your next reservation please feel free to call us directly @ 1403 678 0303.

Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    310
    73
    28
    11
See reviews for
459
315
15
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

HI, we stayed here over Christmas holidays - nice at first appearance, but we left disappointed: at check-in we were told that they had be "innodated" so there would be no room service unless specficially requested. When we made up the hide-a-bed we found a sheet in a closet that was folded up but badly soiled in the middle. So we found someone and asked for a new blanket - it never came. At night my son forgot his toothbrush so we went to the desk to get one for him. There was no one there, only a sign saying someone would be back soon - after 10 minutes we left without seeing anyone. Our coffeemaker shut off every 10 minutes or so. Our frying pan handle was completely broken. And don't even think about wi-fi: the whole trip there we were unable to connect, even though it was apparently being reset. Since it is a Deadman's flat, cell service is very spotty (at least with Rogers) so that was a pain. We have had much better hotels in Canmore area, I wouldn't bother with this one unless they can improve their service - even though is is mostly an owner-owned complex, the service shouldn't be that much worse than a regular hotel chain.

Room Tip: Can't help here - it is wood construction so if you have noisy neighbors you'll hear them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winchester86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We are sorry to hear you met some challenges during the Christmas Holidays. Flyers were issued to each suite to ensure all guests were aware that Christmas day housekeeping may be limited but as usual our front desk was open 24 hours to address any requests. The issues you encountered are not our regular standards and will address these to the apropriate departments. Please feel free to contact us directly to dicuss any other options thru our General Manager Joey Belanger.

Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 1 "den"(bunkbed room). We paid the extra $20 for a mountain view which was well worth it. The only downside to that was you are more exposed to #1 highway noise. 4 adults shared the 'room' and space was not an issue at all. Will always look forward to future return visits!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thankyou for your most welcome comments. The one bedroom plus den are very accomodating but feel free to enquire about our two bedroom with one king bed and one queen bed plus ensuite bath that sleep up to 6 adults.Our front desk would be happy to address any special requests when you call directly @ 1403 678 0303. We look forward to your return stay.

Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Copperstone Resort. The mountains are breathtaking! Our suite was a good size and it was nice having the full kitchen. We went in the hottub everyday-it was good family fun! It would be nice if there was a restaurant within walking distance, however Canmore was only 5 minutes away. My only peeve was the housekeeping-it was sketchy at best and non-existent at times-not sure if they were short staffed or what but I found it annoying that I had to call down and ask if they were cleaning our room that day. Overall I think it was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauden66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We are sorry to hear you encountered some challenges during your stay with us at Copperstone Resort.These are not our regular standards and will address the issues to our housekeeping manager and department. We would like to discuss this for further options. Please contact us @ 403 678 0303.

Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was our third time staying at Copperstone Resort in Dead Man's Flats and we couldn't be happier with the property. It's a full condo full of everything you could possibly need - fully stocked kitchen, spacious rooms, comfortable bedding. The premises are kept absolutely spotless and unlike a lot of the condo's in Canmore these have been kept up very well (no markings on the walls, ect). The area is very quiet as there are only a couple of residences here but it's close enough to Canmore that if you need to pop there for groceries it's no trouble at all. We love the pet friendly rooms and the hot tub. While cooking we realized we needed a specific utensil which didn't come in the suite, all we did was call the front desk and they had one for us within minutes! Only negative that we had was that there were no movie channels at all and limited options for DVD's at the front desk, if the resort is catering to many people who stay for a few nights this would be very pleasant to have. Booked through a groupon so had a great deal.

Room Tip: If you want quite, try to get a room facing the road or the river, the rooms facing the hot tub area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank naveed7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
It gives us great pleasure to know that the standards we strive for at Copperstone Resort were met to your satisfaction during your stay. As well as being conveniently located just 5 minutes from Canmore it gives us the benefit of having a quiet and peaceful enviorment to enjoy in the beautiful Rocky Mountains. We look forward to your return and feel free to contact us directly so we may accomodate any special requests.

Yours Sincerely
Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Much like the other Clique properties, Copperstone is a nice, apartment style hotel with good facilities and helpful staff. Typically I stay at its sister property the Falcon Crest, but had to take the dog for this trip.

I would have ranked the Copperstone 5 out of 5 except for two things:

First, I was under the impression I could leave my dog in the room while we went out. Hotel policy prohibits this, even if the dog is crate trained and quiet. This put a cramp in going out for a nice dinner, as it is hard to leave him in a car, and even harder to convince a nice restaurant to let him come in with us. :)

Second, the Copperstone is a bit of a drive outside of Canmore. Which in turn is a bit of a drive outside of Banff. I go to Banff quite often, and even knowing what I was going to be driving a bit, the back-and-fourth became a bit tedious.

Otherwise, I would stay again if I needed to take my dog with me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thankyou for making Copperstone Resort your choice for a pet friendly accomodation. Our location allows us to offer a 75% pet friendly Hotel. We are happy to hear you found your accomodations with us as comfortable as our sister hotels.Being a pet friendly resort the Front Desk Agents and Staff would be happy to offer suggestions when requiring pet sitting services. Please contact us directly for any of your future reservations and special requests.


Senioe GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had 12 family members (split into 3 condos) travelling from different places & meeting in Canmore for Christmas. This was a great location just outside the town of Canmore as you approach from Calgary. It was easy to find & easy to get in & out of. We had 3 large dogs with us - all of whom were greeted with a special gift bag & made to feel right at home. Our aging 13 year old Lab isn't able to navigate the stairs anymore but managed OK on the elevator. It would have been better if we had booked a ground level condo with direct access to the outdoor space. The condos were lovely & kitchen fairly well supplied although serving dishes were at a minimum. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful, underground heated parking was great & community B-B-Q's appreciated. Great weather too!

Room Tip: Although there are elevators in each building, 2 bdrm condos are located on the 2nd floor & have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We were pleased to hear that things went well for your Senior companion to make his way around during your stay over Christmas. As important both guests and your pet enjoyed their stay. It is always a pleasure to make sure all your needs are met and the housekeeping department and front desk always have extra kitchen wares and neccesities at your request. We hope you will return and make sure we take care of any of these.

Yours Sincerely
Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dead Man's Flats
4.5 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
4.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#10 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
5.2 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
4.6 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#18 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copperstone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperstone Resort

Property: Copperstone Resort
Address: 250 2 Ave, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copperstone Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes outside Canmore, Alberta, in the serene hamlet of Dead Man's Flats, our all-suite property is just moments from downtown shopping and dining, world-class golf courses and Banff National Park . Whether you prefer to spend your time downhill skiing, hiking to glaciers, mountain biking, camping or fishing, every season brings a new reason to visit The Copperstone Resort Hotel. Our spacious, condo-style suites are designed to leave you feeling refreshed, so you can make the most of your time in the Rockies. All accommodations include fully equipped kitchens with granite countertops, two HD televisions, in suite laundry machines, additional sofa beds and cozy electric fireplaces. Best of all, each suite features a private patio or balcony with breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains, so you can enjoy the beauty of Dead Man's Flats without even leaving your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Copperstone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperstone Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Copperstone Hotel Canmore
Copperstone Resort Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing