We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful resort - comfy beds, just a couple of minor issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copperstone Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copperstone Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort - comfy beds, just a couple of minor issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked two nights at the Copperstone Resort through a travelzoo deal. I was expecting a one bedroom suite and we ended up with a gorgeous three bedroom, two storey suite with two king sized beds, two full bathrooms, and a third room with bunkbeds. It was just my boyfriend and I so the extra rooms weren't necessary but it was good to know their suites are so big for the next time as it would be a great place to stay with a group. With the pull out couch in the living room, we could have easily slept 8 people! It also had a full kitchen with granite countertops, and a lovely gas fireplace. The suite was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. There is a communal hot tub in the courtyard but we didn't get a chance to use it because it would have been a freezing walk to and from. The views were also gorgeous and it is very close to Canmore.

I only had two concerns. The first was that we didn't receive any housekeeping service at all. I phoned in the afternoon to inquire about housekeeping and they said that they didn't come because I didn't request them to. I asked them to re-stock our coffee and they did so. The second concern was the furniture in the living room area. We attempted to curl up on the couch by the fireplace to watch a movie but the couch was so hard, it was impossible to get comfortable. We ended up watching TV in the bedroom so we'd have a comfy place to sit.

Overall, it was a great place at a great price and would have gotten a 5 out of 5 if the housekeeping and furniture had been a little better.

Room Tip: You may want to request a room with a view - ours faced another building. We could see the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle282828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello Michelle,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the Housekeeping service. I will address your concerns with the team, as this is not our standard of service. All guests receive daily housekeeping service.

Also, if you should return (and we hope you will), please feel free to take advantage of our plush robe service. These robes certainly help with the cold weather and will make your hot tub experience a great one.

All of our sleep sofas (all units are sleep sofas) are brand new. If you can contact me to let me know what room you stayed in, I can have a look to see what may be causing this.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Joey Belanger
General Manager

Copperstone Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    293
    68
    28
    10
See reviews for
424
293
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Disappointed. First night, saw a mouse in the kitchen. The following day, lost my iPhone EarPods (only been used on that trip) left in the master's bedroom. Reported it. The following day, at checkout, got told that the housekeeping crew grab it in the room because she apparently mistaken it to be hers. The receptionist handed me a grayish-colored and knotted EarPods which I declined to accept because it wasn't mine. It's a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JASED29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear JASED29,

Thank you for the feed back. I do apologize for the challenges you encountered while staying with us. I will speak with our team to see what happened with the EarPods. I will also follow up with the uninvited pest. We are quite aggressive in addressing and preventing these concerns, as this is the time of year when wildlife is seeking shelter from the cold.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel so we can discuss further.

Thank you once again, and best regards,

Joey Belanger
General Manager
Copperstone Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had booked a 1 room suite. When we arrived, we realized it was a queen bed. My husband was having back problems, and we needed a larger bed for us both to be comfortable. There was also a nasty smell in that suite. We were upgraded for a small charge to a 2 bedroom. It was very clean and comfortable. The resort is set back far enough from the highway that there is barely any noise, and is less than 10 minutes from Canmore. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelaw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thankyou for bringing some of your concerns to our attention. I am glad the staff accomodated you and promoted the upgrade so you and your husband found the two bedroom more suitable. We hope when you return we will make sure you have a similar room. It is our pleasure to ensure our standards meet with yours.

Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a great family weekend! It accommodated our large party, we had 5rooms on a busy weekend. I didn't realize that it was a hotel and not a condo but none the less I would expect more of a place with a kitchen. It was great to have an oven in our suite but with no cookie sheet to cook on it was a bit useless. And one dish towel and dish cloth was also not sufficient for 4 days. The worst of it all was no wine opener!!! (Don't worry I was resourceful) I would be better prepared next time with kitchen supplies.
We pre booked 5 rooms and requested 2 play pens. They were not there when we arrived and we had a difficult time with the staff. They wouldn't return our calls and just left us hanging out without a safe place for the little ones to sleep. They said they would get us one from their sister hotels for the next day but then no one contacted us! Finally, a manager went to Calgary and brought only one back. It could have been a better weekend....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Front Office Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in leaving a review. Our team works extremely hard to assure that the highest level of guest service and cleanliness is achieved and it is gratifying to know that you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Safe Journeys,
Rose Foster
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've stayed here on a number of occasions now, both in summer and winter and I've been happy with my visits every time. The one bedroom suites are comfortable (except for the pillows), spacious and welcoming.
I would recommend Copperstone Resort to any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thankyou for your welcome comments on your stay at The Copperstone Resort. We apreciate that you found the accomodations repeatedly satisfactory and comfortable. We welcome you to return and enjoy another vacation experience with us at any time.

Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I came for a work conference in Kananaskis and decided to stay here and commute to the conference. It was a great deal through Expedia. We got a one bedroom suite, and the place was beautiful. I was very spacious, like a little condo! Front desk was very helpful and kind, and cleaning service was prompt and efficient. The only downfall is there is no where to eat close by. There is a diner across the street, but as for restaurants you have to drive 10 minutes into Canmore. There are a lot of great places to eat there. Our place did have a full kitchen, but we didn't know that, otherwise we would have brought our own food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thankyou for making The Copperstone your choice of accomodation while attending your Conference in the area. We hope you will return and bring some groceries to enjoy our fully equipped kitchens. And dont forget we have the gas BBQs as well out by the hot tub area if you enjoy BBQing all year round.. Please feel free to let us help you book your next business or pleasure stay with us!

Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This resort was outstanding. Our 2 bedroom plus den was huge with 2 bedrooms upstairs with King Beds and bunk beds in the den on the main floor. It is a 5 minute drive into Canmore and is in a peaceful little hamlet. The front desk was very pleasant and the Hot Tub was enjoyed by kids and adults. If you don't mind being away from the main street then you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Your Comments are very much appreciated and happy to hear the entire family had such a good time and enjoyed the Hot Tub. The accomodations offer a unique spacious enviorment with the full kitchens that make it possible to have the choice to dine in or dine out as well. It would be our pleasure to make another stay with us possible.

Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dead Man's Flats
4.5 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
4.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
5.9 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#10 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
4.6 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#18 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copperstone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperstone Resort

Property: Copperstone Resort
Address: 250 2 Ave, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copperstone Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes outside Canmore, Alberta, in the serene hamlet of Dead Man's Flats, our all-suite property is just moments from downtown shopping and dining, world-class golf courses and Banff National Park . Whether you prefer to spend your time downhill skiing, hiking to glaciers, mountain biking, camping or fishing, every season brings a new reason to visit The Copperstone Resort Hotel. Our spacious, condo-style suites are designed to leave you feeling refreshed, so you can make the most of your time in the Rockies. All accommodations include fully equipped kitchens with granite countertops, two HD televisions, in suite laundry machines, additional sofa beds and cozy electric fireplaces. Best of all, each suite features a private patio or balcony with breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains, so you can enjoy the beauty of Dead Man's Flats without even leaving your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Copperstone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperstone Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Copperstone Hotel Canmore
Copperstone Resort Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing