We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay, would go there again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copperstone Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copperstone Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay, would go there again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We rented a condo for two families and had so much space it was great as it was the same price as renting two small hotel rooms. There were two bathrooms (unfortunately both upstairs), two bedrooms with king beds, 1 room with bunk beds and a pull out sofa. Both king rooms had TV's and large closets. We really enjoyed the barbeque area and hot tub outside also. The only downside is there isn't anything at Dead Man's Flats, you have to drive to Canmore which is a short drive for anything you need. There is so much to do though in the Banff area that we are looking forward to going back!! Only downfall is when they built the place (in the section we stayed anyway) they messed up and you can't wheel a luggage cart off the elevator to your condo as there are steps. So the housekeeping carts were also sitting at the elevators as they can't wheel them to the hallways to get to the rooms neither. Just a small complaint as my dad had a broken foot when we went and it gave him grief to help carry any luggage.

Room Tip: If using the Barbeque area, get a room close to that as we had a carry our food a ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1PickyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. As the new General Manager I depend a great deal on guest feedback. As simple as it may sound, your BBQ comment certainly brought to light a challange that would never have occured to me. So thank you once again for noting that. We will certainly look at what options we might have to improve this for our guests.

Also, being new to the team, it is crutial that I get into the rooms and work with the housekeepers. Having said this, I have noted first hand the challenges presented with regards to your comments about the lack of a ramp. We are limited in our options, but none the less, we are looking to see what we can do to address this challenge and ease the stress it puts on our guests and housekeeping team alike.


Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Joey Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    258
    64
    28
    10
See reviews for
379
237
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family had an excellent stay at the Copperstone Resort. The suite amenities were perfect. The only complaint we had was the matresses in the bedroom and the pull out were very uncomfortable and there was no outside garbage can for poop bags from the dogs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.

This being the first holiday season as a pet friendly property, we did discover how crutial it is to have deposit areas for poop. It is in my plans to source out a suitable solution; hopefully in time for your next visit.

Feedback from our guests is very positive with respect to the quality of their sleep, so I suspect that if we do find a problem it will be a localized one. We will inspect all of the bed frames to ensure that there is no damage, as a problem bed frame would certainly take away from the quality of your sleep.

Thank you once again for your comments, they certainly help a great deal.

Beast regards,
Joey Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We got an amazing deal through groupon. I think it was about 240 for 2 nights. Great room as it was fully furnished with a kitchen, refrigerator, living room, and patio. Nice view of the mountains from the patio. When we were there the hot tub wasn't working.

About a 5 - 10 min drive into Canmore.

Front desk needs a little more work on customer service as the guy was pretty rush rush no "hi" or smile as we checked in.

Overall a great stay. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandHVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Front Office Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in leaving a review. Our team works extremely hard to assure that the highest level of guest service and cleanliness is achieved and it is gratifying to know that you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Safe Journeys,
Rose Foster
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

It's not easy to find a three-bedroom condo in Canmore so we were glad to find Copperstone. There is nothing to see/do in Dead Man's Flats but it is a short drive into Canmore for shopping and dining.The heated underground parking was a treat and the suite was spacious and well decorated. It wasn't until we settled in that our opinion changed. The bunk beds did not have proper duvet covers (wrapped in two sheets) and there were fresh blood stains on them! These beds had not been changed since the last guests. Under the bunk mattresses were pieces of Lego, food crumbs and dirt. Even our children were grossed out. The other bedroom linens seemed fine but the bedside lamp was broken. In the kitchen, it looked like some dishes had been put away without being cleaned. Given what we paid, this suite should have been spotless. Probably won't go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing creek are extremely quiet and have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hacbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your response and valued feedback. We take great pride in the cleanliness and appearance of our rooms and hotel facility; so needless to say, I was very surprised and disappointed to read about your stay with us. I would like to apologize and assure you that this is not our standard.

I will be following up with the management team to review what happened, and take the needed steps to ensure that this never happens again.

Please feel free to contact me should you have any questions or concerns.

Respectfully,

Joey Belanger
General Manager
Copperstone Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very nice property - almost brand new and fitted like a full townhouse with full kitchen (with granite and stainless steel), 2 baths, 2 bdrms, living area with fireplace, balcony, heated underground parking, hot tub and daily maid service. Perfect accomodations for a family. Great overall, except for the mattress in the sofabed - lumpy and felt the springs so was not good to sleep on.

The only downside is the location - its located in the whistle stop of Dead Man's Flats about 8 km east of Canmore, so you have to drive to everything. Dead Man's Flats is limited to a gas station. There is no onsite food services or other hotel amenities, although there is everything you could possible need in Canmore (charming mountain town). Location is fine for sightseeing and activities in Canmore and Banff areas (Banff about 35 km away). However, we were skiing at Lake Louise and found the drive (almost an hour each way) a bit long.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the highway (its a half block off the Transcanada Highway) and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanTravel106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Front Office Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in leaving a review. Our team works extremely hard to assure that the highest level of guest service and cleanliness is achieved and it is gratifying to know that you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Safe Journeys,
Rose Foster
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Got a groupon for a good deal, and what a deal it was. Place is nice, has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Clean, super comfortable bed, flat screen TVs, however, decore is a bit dated (no big deal). Awesome, large hot tub. Friendly staff. Location is the only downside. 7-10minute drive to down town canmore. There is NOTHING happening in dead mans flat. Other than this, I would definately stay here again if a good deal like a groupon presented itself.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Awdil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Front Office Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in leaving a review. Our team works extremely hard to assure that the highest level of guest service and cleanliness is achieved and it is gratifying to know that you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Safe Journeys,
Rose Foster
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 1yr Anniversary at Copperstone Resort a couple weeks ago and we were beyond impressed. Booking on-line was incredibly easy and the staff helped answer all of my questions right away. We arrived and check-in took all of 5 minutes. We requested a second floor room with a mountain view and they delivered. The room was modern, clean and perfect for the 2 of us but could of easily accommodated 4 people. The fireplace was very cozy and romantic and the kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed. We took advantage of the hot tub both days we were there and met some great people. The underground parking was my husbands favorite part and they even have storage units for all of your skiing or boarding gear. The suite had a washer and dryer which I thought was great. I read some reviews and a few complained about the resort being far from Canmore. It's an 8 minute drive. We actually took a cab into Canmore for dinner one night and it cost $15.00 each way which we were fine with. The resort is pet friendly which is nice for those who have pets. We didn't find any traces (smell or hair) of dogs or cats in our room. This was something I was a little worried about but it was fine. The rate we received was excellent and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We will definitely be back.
Thanks Copperstone Resort for making our 1yr Anniversary so special!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, Front Office Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in leaving a review. Our team works extremely hard to assure that the highest level of guest service and cleanliness is achieved and it is gratifying to know that you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Safe Journeys,
Rose Foster
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dead Man's Flats
4.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
4.5 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#12 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
4.6 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#17 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copperstone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperstone Resort

Property: Copperstone Resort
Address: 250 2 Ave, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copperstone Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes outside Canmore, Alberta, in the serene hamlet of Dead Man's Flats, our all-suite property is just moments from downtown shopping and dining, world-class golf courses and Banff National Park . Whether you prefer to spend your time downhill skiing, hiking to glaciers, mountain biking, camping or fishing, every season brings a new reason to visit The Copperstone Resort Hotel. Our spacious, condo-style suites are designed to leave you feeling refreshed, so you can make the most of your time in the Rockies. All accommodations include fully equipped kitchens with granite countertops, two HD televisions, in suite laundry machines, additional sofa beds and cozy electric fireplaces. Best of all, each suite features a private patio or balcony with breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains, so you can enjoy the beauty of Dead Man's Flats without even leaving your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Copperstone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperstone Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Copperstone Hotel Canmore
Copperstone Resort Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing