We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service; great food”
Review of Melbourne Arms

Melbourne Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: International, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A delightful country pub located in the picturesque village of Melbourne near York. Fast becoming one of Yorkshires must visit Gastro-pubs. With open fires and a warm welcome it wont disappoint. The menu pushes the boundaries of cuisine. With all food freshly prepared and made from scratch. Amazing cask ales, unbelievable wines and even our famous cocktail of the week make The Melbourne Arms a must visit. We cannot wait to spoil you.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here on a Thursday evening with a group of seven friends. The pub has been refurbished to a high standard although the wooden floor must be highly polished because a few of us slipped a little - before we'd had a drink, may I add! Not at all busy and the waitresses were very attentive. We didn't have to wait too long for our food and all eight of us enjoyed it, despite ordering a range of dishes. Downside - they ran out of Pinot Grigio! Apart from that, it was a wonderful evening.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 253 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2019

Went for the evening meal with friends. Glorious food and amazing pint of Guinness. Had to come back next evening. Fantastic place

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Premmyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

We were visiting the area and visited this pub. We were greeted by an impolite male staff member and then a rude lady, who I think was the owner behind the bar, who spoke in such an awful way that we are compelled to post this negative review. We were not the only visitors to the restaurant who thought this and overheard other people saying the same.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

Non welcoming owner who will not deviate from their rules even for just a portion of chips for my tired children who had walked 5 miles to go on a boat ride. Rude welcome. Wouldn't come again.

Date of visit: August 2019
5  Thank Fudgeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019

I run a pub lunch group and we are always looking for new places to eat. Melbourne Arms doesn’t open for food lunch times. They opened especially for us. Food was tasty and hot and service was very good. Everyone enjoyed it. Going to return for birthday lunch with family.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cawf728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Arms also viewed

Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Sutton on Derwent, East Riding of Yorkshire
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Melbourne Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing