We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, comfortable and peaceful cottage in a...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
40 reviews
The back of the cottage.
This is the viaduct at Monsal Head. The tunnels on the Monsal Trail have all been reopened for visit
If you are fit you can walk from the cottage through Biggin Dale and all the way to Dove Dale.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marigold1...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable and peaceful cottage in a lovely location.”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage is small but has everything you will need and is very clean and pretty. There are extra blankets, included heated ones (lovely for chilly nights) and lots of extra pillows and bedding should you need it. The mattresses are firm and comfy! This is always a must- for a farming family who only get one week away a year, it's GOT to be comfy!
The kitchen is reasonable and easy to use, having all you could need.
There is a lovely view from the back of the house and the whole village is very pretty and quiet.
The local Waterloo pub is very friendly and allows dogs who are well behaved.
The hotel just a bit further down the road apparently has nice food and cream teas but ,as they do not allow even children, we didn't find out.
There is a nice little playground a short walk away and the bike trail is great- practically flat all the way from Biggin- you can join it just up the road- all the way to Parsley Hay ( a couple of miles) where there is a fab little cafe and shop selling all things Peak District and bicycle accessories.
Inside the cottage there are lots of dvds and videos, books and games, should it rain - and a nice open fire which makes it feel very cosy.
The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is that there is a noisy meter in the hall way and I am a very light sleeper so this bothered me a little- although the rest of the family said they didn't notice it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you for this lovely review. You are right about the meter - it has suddenly become very noisy and we are getting the electricity supplier to come and change it as soon as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. We are sorting out the problems with the heaters this week.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carrie W
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Comfort, tidy and quiet. A pub is just 1 minute walk from the cottage. The food was great!

Will recommend to friends definitely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2017
Thanks Carrie, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Biggin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzslatte...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Club Cottage is a lovely little place that has everything you need for a weekend getaway.
It's in a beautiful location as well, with a great pub and hotel just down the road, where you can get some great food.
Wendy the owner is lovely and made sure that we had all the information we needed before we arrived.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Hi Suzy, thank you for this great review. So pleased you enjoyed your break in beautiful Biggin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward S
1 review
“Weekend away”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely little cottage in a very quiet village. Well kitted out with everything you need and is in s lovely condition . Perfectly positioned for some great walks. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Thank you for this lovely review. So pleased to hear that the cottage was everything you wanted it to be.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyoreil...
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Great Great”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very nice cottage , area great for all the main peak district attractions. Good pubs & restaurants near by & plenty of friendly sheep

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Thank you Andy. Glad you enjoyed your time in our cottage and exploring the Peak District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeleine...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, perfect holiday”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Could not recommend 1 Club Cottage enough. We chose this as an escape from London after a stressful year and it was the perfect few days. We loved having the fire and the cottage was easy to find, and very close to Buxton and Bakewell. Wish we had booked for longer! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2017
Hi Madeleine,
We were so pleased to hear that your stay in our cottage was just what you needed. We always find our visits are rejuvenating!
Thank you for the lovely review.
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing