We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage and surroundings”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ramblers Barn

Log burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Log burning stove
Plenty of character. It doesn't get better than this. Low lighting for romantic, classics rests away from work and the big smoke
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
80 reviews
Log burning stove
Plenty of character. It doesn't get better than this.
Low lighting for romantic, classics rests away from work and the big smoke
Ramblers Barn is on the left by the road
Paintings for sale
The Round Robin walk up the lane by the barn
A break with a unique different
Home comforts in our beautiful barn
Painters, artists, musicians, writers and walkers are welcome
Parking space
Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Roam68525...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage and surroundings”
Reviewed December 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful place, with lovely surroundings. Would definitely recommend. the log fire is lovely on winter nights, and a big projector for curling up with films :)

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2019
Thank you so much and hope to see you again soon. Tuyet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte...
Wolverhampton, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cute stay”
Reviewed December 11, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely Accomodation to get away from it all, great facilities and reasonable price. Went to nearby Hartington for mulled wine which was cute

Date of stay: November 2017
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2019
Thank you so much and hope to see you again soon. Tuyet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveCypru...
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location for Peak walking”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

As I had already looked on google for the cottage I recognised it from the road so it was easy to find.

Key was waiting in the door and we took our own wood to burn on the log burner and just used one basket in the cottage. Underfloor heating in kitchen was great. Once the heating was all sorted and we had eaten, had a few glasses of wine and settled in front of the TV it was really cosy.

As others have said bathroom was small but water was hot and that's all you really need. Could do with a shelf maybe behind the toilet to put things.

Need to be mindful of someone coming out of the bathroom whilst you are checking food in the oven (or maybe it's the person in the bathroom being mindful of the cook!)

There was one set of towels - hand and bath but no others and none in the cupboard as was mentioned in the arrival pack but as regular walkers and stayers for camping/hostels - we always come prepared so it wasn't a major issue for us.

Cottage is in a good spot for walking. Our walk on the first day was for about 14 miles and took in Biggin, Hartington, Alstonefield, Thor's Cave, Manifold Way, Biggin Dale, Wetton, Hulme's End (not in that order!)

Didn't see the owners but that's not a major issue for me. I like to be left alone anyway.

If I was walking again in that area, I'd definitely stay again. Maybe a spring/summer trip to see the landscape looking a bit different in those seasons is on the cards.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2019
Thank you so much and hope to see you again soon. Tuyet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_526...
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very cosy and well-appointed little barn conversion”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A lovely little barn conversion done out in a very homely way that made it very comfortable. We didn't see the owners but that was fine, we went there to get away from it all for a couple of days and it was perfect.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2019
Thank you so much and hope to see you again soon. Tuyet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonS300...
1 review
“‘Does what it says on the tin’!”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Everything met up to our expectations, a lovely cosy place with all the basic amenities you need if spending some time in the Peak District hill walking. Would definitely book again if in the area.

Date of stay: October 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2019
Thank you so much and hope to see you again soon. Tuyet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katesdad1...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Brilliant base for loads of walks. Cottage is perfect. Will definitely be back again.

Foot note: Buxton Hospital Minor Injuries Unit is a real credit. Cut of my finger tip during the stay. They patched me up, and finger is on the mend. Can't thank them enough !!

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2019
Thank you so much and hope to see you again soon. Tuyet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitnee
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed October 20, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Had everything we needed and more - quietly tucked away but close enough to local villages to visit a pub in the evening, beautiful walks on the doorstep, hot shower and cooking facilities. Exactly what we were looking for.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2019
Thank you so much and hope to see you again soon. Tuyet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing