We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Country Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Farrowings

Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings
Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Kitchen with everything you need for your stay.
Sitting room looking into the open-plan kitchen.
Dining area
Kitchen with granite worktops.
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Sitting Room with rugs and flagstone floor.
Bedroom with king-size bed, antique sofa and plenty of storage space.
Antique pine cupboard with plenty of shelves for clothes!
Tennis court
View towards village
Patio area
Monastic barn
Outside The Old Farrowings cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Country Cottage”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Old Farrowings had everything we could have wanted for a 2 night getaway to the country. Biggin Grange was easily found using Jane's directions and we received a very friendly, personal greeting on arrival (including homemade shortbread!).

The cottage is extremely well equipped with everything from reliable wifi to a coffee machine to maps of local walks and restaurants. The wood burning fire makes the living area and kitchen very cosy; the bedroom and bathroom were very spacious with a very comfortable 4 poster bed.

The uninterrupted views from the cottage were beautiful, particularly during a brief snowfall!

Have already recommended Biggin Grange to several friends - Thanks again Jane & Richard!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2015
That's great you had a nice couple of days and thanks for taking the time to write a review. You must come back again when the weather gets better but I'm pleased even February in Derbyshire ticked the box for you! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJB_85
1 review
“A perfect little country hideaway!”
Reviewed February 14, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Thank you so much Jane! We had a fantastic weekend - The Old Farrowings is beautiful! We stayed for two nights just after the snow had been. The main roads were clear and the fields just looked magical with their thick snow. We were greeted by Janes father (even in the dark, cold and ice!) the cottage was lovely and warm but naturally we took the opportunity to light a fire - easy instructions left if you've never used a log burner. Also coal/kindle/logs enough for two nights. Any extra you would have to buy at a reasonable price.

The free wifi was essential as signal is poor but who needs signal when you're away! We unpacked and enjoyed our homemade flapjacks (thank you!) and tea/coffee which was already availiable.

The kitchen has everything you need to cook including foil/oil/salt/pepper thank goodness as I'd forgot these!

Onto the bedroom....wow the bedroom is gorgeous! Such comfy bed/bedding! Lots of plug sockets, tv, radio and buxton water! Brilliant!

The bathroom is also huge with bath and seperate shower. Lovely smellies are left to enjoy soap/shower cream etc. The floors are cold due to being stone/tiles but don't worry everything is thought of as you have complimentary slippers! Perfect!

Jane helped us with where to eat on our second night, although we opted to walk to The Waterloo Inn due to the snow. Lovely little village pub filled with walkers, dogs and open fires. We stayed most of the afternoon and walked back (thank you for the torch!) across the fields.

The Old Farrowings is simply perfect, we will definitely be visiting again. Probably because the folder left with ideas of things to do still had so many more ideas!

I would absolutely recommend anyone to go!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
What a nice review! My Father will be thrilled he was mentioned in a review! So pleased you had a relaxing break in the Peak District and glad you enjoyed the cottage. Thank you very much. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralphy198...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the perfect little hideaway in the Peak District”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you're travelling to the Peak District this is the perfect little place to base yourself. Very good location within close enough distance to all the major attractions in the area.

The property itself is just perfect if you're looking for some peace and quiet. Lovely little place which has everything you need for either a weekend or longer trip. The log fire burner is one of the best features of this place along with what is a very large main bedroom!

I wouldn't hesitate to return and Jane, the manager, is a delight to liaise with.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Really pleased you had a nice couple of days in the cottage and do come back and see us again in the future if want to escape again! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter D
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy & idyllic!”
Reviewed February 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at The Old Farrowings in December (apologies for the delay in writing this review!) and from the initial email enquiring about availability to us leaving, the whole process was a pleasure. Jane was away while we stayed but she still managed to arrange (whilst in France) for extra firewood to be brought to us! It's hard to find any complaint when the service is that good.

The cottage itself is beautiful with a; cosy log burning fire, a well stocked kitchen (with a tin of homemade ginger biscuits!) and a surprisingly large bedroom and bathroom.

Location wise the cottage is conveniently placed for walking and we really enjoyed coming back from a long (cold) walk and lighting the fire!

We're already looking forward to returning this year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and so glad you had a nice weekend. It's always difficult if I'm away but thank goodness for mobiles so at least you got your logs! It is a lovely cottage and perfect when the wood-burning fire is going and glad the ginger biscuits were a success! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rwigg
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“beautiful and cosy birthday treat!”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is small yet full of character, perfect for a cosy and comfortable stay for two people. The log fire was definitely the highlight of the cold december weekend stay, as was the huge bedroom with a gorgeous 4 poster bed. The surroundings are stunning, and perfect for countryside walks. Buxton and Bakewell are a short drive away as is Chatsworth House. I stayed here with my partner for a peaceful birthday weekend away from the hustle and bustle of city life and it couldn't have been a more perfect stay. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a short break away in the peak district!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2015
Belated Happy Birthday! Glad you had a nice few days staying at the cottage and managed to get to Chatsworth House. The Farm Shop at Chatsworth is one of my favourite places up in Derbyshire. Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really well equiped, clean and cosy.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2015
It's lovely when guests return to the cottage and I am glad you enjoyed it again. You will have to come back again as I have done lots of work on the bathroom so now it looks very smart! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tracie b
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peacefull, beautiful and vey relaxing!”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Arrived on christmas evening for a relaxing break .
Even though it was dark outside you can tell the quality of the surroundings.
The cottage is warm and inviting. So clean. The log burner is beautiful.
Kitchen spotless with everything you need all you need to take is food.
Then you move on to the bedroom.....its huge with a massive wardrobe,four poster bed with the softest duvet and its such a warm room. Then onto the bathroom, bath & separate shower plenty of warm water and big fluffy towels.

We had a the pleasure of snow and lots of it for our stay so the views were even more breathtaking.

The photos really don't do it justice..its so beautiful.

We didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2015
Am so glad you enjoyed your visit to The Old Farrowings and it was nice you were able to stay an extra night. No point in trying to go anywhere in Derbyshire when the snow comes down! Thanks for writing such a nice review and hope to see you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing