We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful relaxing weekend.”
other travelers have booked this property
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage The original gritstone cheese press
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage
The original gritstone cheese press
Sitting Room
Wood-burning stove
Kitchen area
Fully equipped kitchen with granite worktops
Dining area
Pine table in the Sitting Room
Set for dinner
Bedroom
Antique double bed
Bathroom with basin, loo, bath & shower
Enjoy the spectacular views over the fields
Patio
Views overlooking Biggin Dale from the cottage
Another view from Cheese Press Cottage
Enjoy watching the cows grazing in the fields from the cottage
Park your car next to the cottage
All-weather tennis court
Monastic Barn which dates back from the 13th Century is where the property began
Cheese Press Cottage
Cheese Press Cottage is a converted barn in the grounds of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gemma G
Tipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing weekend.”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed at cheese press cottage for two nights last weekend with my fiancé and honestly do not have a bad word to say about it.

We arrived around 5:30pm (a little later than the 3pm check in time) and received a very warm welcome from Jane. We were shown around the cottage and left to take in the surroundings and relax, and what beautiful surroundings they are. Having come from a busy noisy job and living in a built up area the quiet was so noticible from the moment we arrived. It was just us and the sheep! Also the views are spectacular. Cheese press cottage has a private patio area that overlooks the most beautiful rolling countryside (with beautiful sunsets as the evenings went on)

The cottage itself has everything you could possibly need. The kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, pans, crockery etc and is spotlessly clean (the nespresso machine has made me look into buying one!). The same goes for the bathroom, plenty of hot water, a great powerful shower that is very easy to use and luxurious fluffy white towels.

There is a television with freeview and a DVD player in the living area which is very comfortable and relaxing. We felt so at home there from the moment we arrived.

We had an excellent nights sleep in the comfy bed with goose down duvet and felt completely refreshed by the time we left.

Whether you choose to stay around the cottage and enjoy the owners working farm or go out and explore the nearby towns of Buxton, Bakewell or Matlock or the plentiful walks (maps are also available in the cottage) this is an ideal location for a relaxing weekend to get away from the stresses of everyday life. I have already recommended it to several friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2014
I'm so pleased that you had a nice weekend. Thank you so much for your kind words and please come back and see us when you want to get away from the City. You can definitely relax and unwind looking at the views. I have just returned from a couple of nights in a built-up area and it was so nice to get back to Derbyshire and enjoy the space and open views. Thanks again. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2014
Many thanks for the kind review. Really pleased you had a nice time at the Cottage. We are very lucky having the private footpath down to the Dale and glad you were able to make use of it. Thanks again. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2014
Thanks so much for writing such a nice review. I am really pleased you had a nice few days and you managed to feel relaxed by the time you returned to Manchester. Do come and see us again when you need a country fix! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style/feel of the cottage and surroundings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 31, 2014
Thanks to you for such a lovely review. It was nice to meet you both and I am so glad you had a nice few days break before returning to London. Do come back again and see us when you need to escape from the big city!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 15, 2014
Thank you very much for the review and I am glad you had a nice time despite the May rain!
Thank you for pointing out that there is no mirror in the bedroom. To be honest I don't know why I never thought about putting one in there! I have just ordered a full-length mirror and am going to put it on the wall near the bathroom so handy if you are drying your hair etc. It is always really useful to get feedback and I appreciate your comment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
exitmusic...
Beijing, China
1 review
“wonderful peaceful place with stunning views”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Me and my partner stayed in the cheese press cottage for 2 nights and we absolutley loved it. The cottage was very cosy and nicely decorated and was equipped with everything you could need, including wi-fi. The views were stunning and the surrounding area was beautiful and very peaceful. It made such a nice change from living in a city. I only regret not staying longer. I would recomend a walk to the nearby town of Hartington where there are various walking routes you can go on. My only word of warning is if you plan to take a walk to one of the pubs in the area for a meal they are a fair distance away so you should check the opening times, as most are not open on a Monday and some are closed between post lunch and dinner (sadly we found this out the hard way) overall we will definitely be visiting this cottage again and I really recomend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the views and surrounding area
Liked least: pubs closed on the day we stayed and the nearest shop was a 25 minute drive
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2014
Thanks very much for the review and I am glad you had a good time. You will have to come back for longer next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sazzy1972
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I picked this cottage because it looked nice and cosy with a real fire (plus it had wifi and was within walking distance of a pub) and it didn't disapppoint. It had a lovely, warm feel and the views out over Biggin Dale were wonderful (with cute lambs in the field when we were there in March).

We found the location good too in terms of exploring the Peak District as you're right in the national park and Biggin's not far from a main road (but far enough for it to be quiet). The nearest grocery shops were in Hartington which was only a 5 minute drive, while Biggin itself had two good (and different) places to eat - the pub which did standard pub fare and the hotel which provided a more refined dining experience if that's your sort of thing.

The owner lives in the big house on the same site so was around if help was required (like tips on starting the fire!), but the cottage itself is very private with it's own parking space next to it.

All in all I'd definitely recommend and would happily go back again for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Real fire
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2014
I'm really pleased you had a nice few days in Derbyshire and thank you for the nice review. Hope to see you both back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing