We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sazzy1972
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I picked this cottage because it looked nice and cosy with a real fire (plus it had wifi and was within walking distance of a pub) and it didn't disapppoint. It had a lovely, warm feel and the views out over Biggin Dale were wonderful (with cute lambs in the field when we were there in March).

We found the location good too in terms of exploring the Peak District as you're right in the national park and Biggin's not far from a main road (but far enough for it to be quiet). The nearest grocery shops were in Hartington which was only a 5 minute drive, while Biggin itself had two good (and different) places to eat - the pub which did standard pub fare and the hotel which provided a more refined dining experience if that's your sort of thing.

The owner lives in the big house on the same site so was around if help was required (like tips on starting the fire!), but the cottage itself is very private with it's own parking space next to it.

All in all I'd definitely recommend and would happily go back again for a longer stay.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Real fire
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2014
I'm really pleased you had a nice few days in Derbyshire and thank you for the nice review. Hope to see you both back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cosy”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We have just returned from staying at this lovely cottage for a weekend. This place was cosy , comfortable and had everything we needed. The location was fabulous and breathtaking. The fire provided warmth and a lovely atmosphere, the kitchen was clean and well equipped and the bedroom was comfortable and fresh.
The cottage is located about a 30 minute drive from Buxton which is where you can find lots of lovely places to eat.
My only complaint, and it is a small one, is that the shower did not have very good water pressure. This made washing a bit difficult, especially when you have lots of hair to clean.

I would come back here without hesitation !!!

Beautiful x

Laura H

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fire and location
Liked least: shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2014
Thanks very much for your review. Thanks for the comment about the shower and it is definitely on my list and I will now contact my plumber to discuss. I am always keen to keep on top of things so hopefully when you return there will be a new shower!
Thanks.
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2013
Thanks very much for the review. We have jus upgraded the WiFi connection so good news to hear it is all working well! Nice to be able to enjoy the views but still check the emails as well! Hope to see you both back again in the future. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 5, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed and heating within the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed your weekend to Derbyshire. Thank you very much for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.