We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning and perfect in every way”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Courtyard Creamery

Courtyard Creamery Spacious Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard Creamery Spacious Living Area
Outside of Courtyard Creamery Looking at Courtyard Creamery from across the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Courtyard Creamery Spacious Living Area
Outside of Courtyard Creamery
Looking at Courtyard Creamery from across the courtyard
Open-plan Sitting Room & Kitchen
The Sitting Room & Kitchen from a different angle
Relax on the comfy sofa and play backgammon in front of the fire
Leading to South facing patio
Well-equipped kitchen with everything you need for dinner
Bedroom with king-size bed, goose-down duvet and 100% cotton linen.
Relax in the comfy bed and listen to the Roberts Radio.
Relax in the roll top bath after a long days walking.
Spacious bathroom with everything you need for your stay.
Bathroom with separate shower, travertine marble floor and heated towel rail.
Soft fluffy towels in the Bathroom
Patio which is perfect for a glass of rose!
Overlooking Biggin Dale towards Whim Hill
Another view from the patio.
And another one ...!
Looking towards the village
Autumn colours
Cows and sheep in the surrounding fields
All-weather tennis court which has stunning views over the fields
Guinness the donkey!
Indian Runner Ducks to amuse you
Monastic barn in the grounds
Courtyard Creamery is a converted barn in the grounds of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Fisama
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning and perfect in every way”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at the courtyard creamery and can't recommend it enough. The cottage has a wonderful view from the back door and the patio is a haven, when we arrived the cottage it was warm and inviting. How wonderful waking up to peace and quiet the only noise were the sheep in the field. The area has wonderful views, nothing is too far away. We drove to Dovedale, Matlock and Hartingdon, but you really need to visit Bakewell, lovely old fashioned town, while you are there try the original Bakewell pudding. I would highly recommend Courtyard Creamery for a break, our 3 day's felt like 7 days we were so relaxed. Thank you Jane for allowing us this opportunity to visit the Peak District, we'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed staying at Courtyard Creamery and it is lovely sitting out on the patio looking across Biggin Dale. A real bonus if you get a stunning sunset as well. Glad you discovered Bakewell - it really is a charming market town. Also to sample the Bakewell Tart or Pudding, whichever you prefer as I still get confused! Many thanks. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaman A
1 review
“Could not have asked for a better 2 night country escape”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Upon arrival to Biggin Grange Farm, we were welcomed by the sweet sound of sheep, an adorable donkey (who greeted us overtime we drove in and out of the farm) against great views of the Peak District. We fell in love with the location even before stepping into the property.

The property itself is fabulous. Very spacious, clean and had everything that you can think of. We appreciated that the property was warmed up for our arrival, and the tin of tasty shortbreads baked for us by Jane. We thankfully had great weather during our stay, and using some of the guides in the property, we choose to do a walk along the River Dove (walk 1 in the Harrington guide), which was a stunning gentle walk.

The nearby town, Harrington, was a few minutes drive away, and had a shop to buy most what of what you need. There were also tea rooms and few places to have dinner. For one of the dinners we had traditional fish and chips, which comes in a van every Friday afternoons.

On our drive back home we stopped at Dovedale, which is only 20minutes away from the property by car, and we also highly recommend visiting.

Thank you Jane and Richard. We greatly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2015
I am glad Guinness the donkey showed you the full extent of his braying! He goes for weeks being very quiet and now and again he reminds us how loud he can be! Thank you for writing such a nice review and I am so glad you both had a nice few days in Courtyard Creamery. It is the perfect place to relax and I am glad you enjoyed your time in Derbyshire. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views & Location
Liked least: The Weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2015
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. We are really lucky with being able to access so many walks directly from the property and I so pleased you were able to explore. Hartington seems to get better and better as the little village shops stock so much more than they used to. So no need to venture much further if you don't want to. You must come back when the weather gets warmer. It is such a sun trap on the terrace and perfect to relax while looking at Biggin Dale.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GemmaEliz...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect country getaway.”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We recently had a wonderful stay at the Creamery Cottage. Jane was very helpful, accommodating our last minute booking very promptly and we were made to feel very welcome with homemade flapjack when we arrived.

The cottage is very spacious with magnificent views, despite the wet weather we experienced! We would love to return during the Summer months and make full use of the terrace and BBQ.

We would thoroughly recommend this cottage - it was even better than the photos!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2015
Thanks Gemma for writing the lovely review. Yes - you must come back in the warmer months as the patio area is a real sun-trap and so nice sitting out enjoying the views. Roll on summer! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dannii St...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our special place”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We visited courtyard creamery for valentines weekend of this year (2015) it is our second visit after first going late in 2013. We were amazed the first time and even more the second time! I cannot recommend this cottage enough. Jane was fantastic and made the most amazing home made flap jack which she kindly left out for us as we arrived. The scenery was again unbelievable and the sheep, lambs, horse and donkey made our stay even more special and we could not have asked for more.
Another thing which is fantastic is all the equipment inside the cottage. It made us able to bake, cook and present the food with no problems. Also the DVD collection was fantastic.
I recommend this place to every one I meet and it is most certainly mine and my partners special place.
We will definitely be returning and I can't wait!
Jane thank you for a perfect weekend x :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I'm so pleased you had a lovely weekend and I keep adding bits and pieces so I am glad you noticed all the new additions in the cottage. Come back and see us again when the weather gets better so you can chill out on the terrace and look at the views - hopefully n the sunshine! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
How exciting a proposal ....! Congratulations to you both and I wish you both much happiness together. Thanks so much for writing such a nice review and hope to see you both back at Biggin Grange in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2015
So glad you had a nice weekend and we are lucky having a local pub in walking distance. Really pleased you liked the cottage and thank you for writing a review. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing