We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy, cozy and the best christmas!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Courtyard Creamery

Courtyard Creamery Spacious Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard Creamery Spacious Living Area
Outside of Courtyard Creamery Looking at Courtyard Creamery from across the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Courtyard Creamery Spacious Living Area
Outside of Courtyard Creamery
Looking at Courtyard Creamery from across the courtyard
Open-plan Sitting Room & Kitchen
The Sitting Room & Kitchen from a different angle
Relax on the comfy sofa and play backgammon in front of the fire
Leading to South facing patio
Well-equipped kitchen with everything you need for dinner
Bedroom with king-size bed, goose-down duvet and 100% cotton linen.
Relax in the comfy bed and listen to the Roberts Radio.
Relax in the roll top bath after a long days walking.
Spacious bathroom with everything you need for your stay.
Bathroom with separate shower, travertine marble floor and heated towel rail.
Soft fluffy towels in the Bathroom
Patio which is perfect for a glass of rose!
Overlooking Biggin Dale towards Whim Hill
Another view from the patio.
And another one ...!
Looking towards the village
Autumn colours
Cows and sheep in the surrounding fields
All-weather tennis court which has stunning views over the fields
Guinness the donkey!
Indian Runner Ducks to amuse you
Monastic barn in the grounds
Courtyard Creamery is a converted barn in the grounds of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Kelly G
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfy, cozy and the best christmas!”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

came here for our first christmas away and we were so impressed. The outside looks abit small, and you worry that it'll be cold but you'd be so wrong. Huge on the inside, very warm and there are so many cute little finishing touches. By far the best place I've ever stayed in!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2015
Thank you for writing a review and I am so glad you had a nice Christmas. Complete with snow on Boxing Day! It is really cosy in the cottage and the perfect place to relax so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Snow all gone now so come back and see us in the Spring! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 22, 2014
Am really pleased you had a nice couple of days staying in Courtyard Creamery. The painter has been in for a week just to freshen it all up so you will have to come back and stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. You seemed to do a lot in a short space of time and I am glad you had a good weekend at Biggin Grange. The Village Stores in Hartington is a fantastic addition to the village and I am glad you discovered it. I must revisit the Staffordshire Knot as I've not been for a while and it is always good to know good local pubs. Come back and see us again if you need a country fix! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachel P
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent a week at the Courtyard Creamery and it was an absolute delight - spacious, tastefully decorated and equipped with everything we could possibly need. We arrived on a cold and dark November evening, but the cottage was all lit up on our arrival and it was lovely and warm inside, so we felt right at home. The shower was excellent and the bed was one of the best I've ever slept in. The cottage is in the perfect location for exploring the Peak District (we enjoyed Bakewell in particular), but it was really nice to just relax in the cottage and take in the beautiful view. We'll have to come back in the warmer months, the patio area at the back would be wonderful in the sunshine. We can also highly recommend the Devonshire Arms in Hartington, the food was fantastic. Jane was warm and welcoming and I know if we'd needed anything she would have been only too happy to help. (Thank you for the ginger cookies!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Little touches like making sure the heating was on for when we arrived.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2014
I'm so pleased you had a nice couple of days in the grey November weather we seemed to have when you were here! It was at least sunny when you left! Glad you liked the cottage and it is lovely and cosy when it is cold outside. I'm glad the ginger cookies were a success. Do come back again in the warmer months - the patio is such a sun trap and lovely to relax looking out at the views. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathon...
Burton upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Every ‘excellent’ review given here is truly deserved”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed in the Creamery Cottage adjacent the main house - Biggin Grange.
The Cottage is a tasteful conversion of a historic building and finished to an extremely high standard. You’ll find quality fixtures and fittings throughout, excellent shower, comfortable sofa and a bed that feels like you are sleeping on a cloud.

The location is perfect – quiet and secluded without feeling remote, with stunning views at the back of the Cottage of the Dale and an amazing night sky with no light pollution for star gazing. If you need it Wi-fi is easy to connect to and we found it fast.
Jane at Biggin Grange was an excellent host. She gave us a warm welcome and baked lovely cookies to go with tea when we arrived.

You can access Biggin Dale from the driveway of the Grange and walk to Hartington or further afield. Biggin Hall is just a short walk away and the five course meal we had there was excellent for only £25 per head. The wine list was great and most bottles approx. £15 representing excellent value. The Waterloo pub next door also has cooked food and guest beers. Again excellent value.

All in all this was a great find and we will be back early in the new year for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Getting out of bed - it was just too nice.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2014
It was really nice to meet you both and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Courtyard Creamery. I am so glad you had a nice weekend and managed to sample both Biggin Hall and The Waterloo Inn in the village - saves cooking ....! Hopefully see you again if you need to escape from the City! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location in the heart of beautiful countryside
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2014
Thanks so much for the lovely review. I am so sorry you had so much rain during your few days with us but it never seemed to stop you getting out and about! I am looking forward to seeing you next year and it is good it is all booked in. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 7, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
Really pleased you had a nice couple of days and you certainly seemed to make the most of the area by exploring - I was very impressed with your schedule! It was lovely to meet you both and do come and see us again if you need a break from your University studies! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing