We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great evening”
Review of The Waterloo Inn

The Waterloo Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Waterloo Inn is a traditional Country pub in the Peak District Village of Biggin-by-Hartington. We offer traditional homemade food and Real Ales. There is a large Beer Garden and patio area for the better weather and an open Fire inside for those colder days. Our Games room holds a Pool Table during the Winter months as well as a TV and Dart Board. We currently have 7 pub teams playing Darts,Dominoes and Pool. Anyone wishing to stay a little longer can book on to our caravan/campsite at the rear which has hard standings and electric hook-ups.
Ashbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great evening”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a very nice evening here with friends (10 of us altogether ). Our meals were good and all came together.
We were then entertained by Vicky Lambert. A lovely, lively evening

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCBAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    58
    11
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The atmosphere was warm and friendly and the food was super, our order for 4 people was fish and chips, lamb and mint pie, mushroom soup with rolls and butter and scampi and chips. We all had puddings inc crumble, sticky toffee pudding and treacle sponge, all good. Would come again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kj52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very wellcoming, staff found us a nice table around the corner, very friendly and nice pub food. My partner had the lamb and mint pie and would recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jo_babe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Food, Great Ale, campsite was good too.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Brought the Caravan up here for the weekend, was given a fair sized pitch at the back of the pub with electric hook-up. The Pub toilets are available to use at anytime and shower facilities were also available but not used by us.
Spent two nights, ate in the pub both times, the food and service was excellent.
The Real ale was fantastic with a good choice on offer and a lovely atmosphere in the pub with friendly locals who were happy to chat.
The Staff were friendly and helpful at all times making us feel very welcome.
The Area is well located to explore the Peak District so was a good choice for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggin-by-Hartington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great local, but very welcoming to tourists and others”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Have lived in the village for 20 odd years and therefore been visiting this pub for that long. Since Bridget took over at the beginning of this year, the standards in our opinion have never been higher. Regularly changing choice of cask ales, nearly always from the smaller brewers. The service from the various members of staff can not be faulted. The food is great, pies are a particularly popular option, I must say, the Lamb and Mint pies are the best pies I have ever had in my life. Myself and my wife run six holiday cottages on the edge of the village, and I have been recommending these pies to our guests so now apparently Bridget knows when her customers have come from our establishment as they invariably ask for the lamb mint pies. So much so, that it used to be just a special, now it’s a regular on the menu. But my wife assures me its not only the pies that are excellent. On turnaround days, we are constantly reading excellent reviews in the visitors books written by our guests, and interestingly, now for the first time in 20 years, guests in our three cottages in Hartington a mile and a half away are making it over to Biggin and the Waterloo for their food and ales.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterloo Inn also viewed

Hartington, Peak District National Park
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Waterloo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing