We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average...”

Beresford Tea Rooms
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average...”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I ordered a broccolli and cheese bake with side salad and bread. The 'bake' had very little broccolli and a little sliced potato in it. The main ingredient was a runny 'cheesy' sauce. Salad was not too fresh so left most of the meal. So, unfortunately my experience of the food was disappointing. Staff pleasant and service quick. Had a very nice pot of tea. My husband's sandwiches were fine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A flying visit!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Dropped in for afternoon tea today, to be greeted by the postmistress telling me "if a customer comes in you'll have to move that" ( referring to my son in his pushchair). Despite the rude greeting from the postmistress, who was merrily typing away on her laptop,my friend and I decided, against our better judgement, to stay for a pot of tea and a homemade cake. We decided to take a reign check on the cake after seeing at least half a dozen flies trying very hard to get into the cake cabinet! My friend and I were unsure as to whether the staff were oblivious to the flies' attempts at trying to sample their cakes,or whether they were just used to having the flies around, either way,my friend and I weren't staying to find out! Not a pleasant experience and one I certainly will not be repeating, well not knowingly!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You have to try the scones!!!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

A very warm and cosy little tea room.stopped here for a coffee and some cake and ended up with a scone the size of a rugby ball. All in all a nice stop off with friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Postsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Beresford Tea Rooms is a delightful place to stop for a cup of tea and a slice of home-made cake. It also provides a glimpse of local life since it doubles as the village post office. Commission-free cashpoint is useful too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Average food, reasonable prices.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice little tea room, cakes a bit too 'homemade' i.e. of varying quality. The flapjack was fry and the chocolate was tasteless. The hot chocolate was delicious though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieVLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beresford Tea Rooms also viewed

Hartington, Peak District National Park
Hartington, Peak District National Park
 
Hartington, Peak District National Park
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Beresford Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing