We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$89
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$121
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
283
99
23
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
283
99
23
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacked lunchbefore dinnerbiggin hallcomplimentary pimmsthe main housea nice touchdining roommulled winesandwichespeak districtexcellent foodboth nightsfresh milkcheese and biscuitslovely hotelafternoon teaporridge
Filter
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 422 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Came last year and found it extreemly comfortable and a perfect place to stay for a couple of days. Very central to visit places and old friends to come for a meal.A welcome addition to the evening menu was an al a carte menu which was excellent. Only a small surcharge was added. I was told that this extra would be enlarged later on and if to the same standard would be rather enjoyable.Will be definitely staying there again in the future.The prices were the same this year as the last.

Room Tip: As I said before a Courtyard room is excellent but any room would be super.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in room 4 at Biggin Hall. This hotel came well recommended by a friend and, after staying there, we can understand why. Our room was 'traditional' and a little quirky but very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and had a separate bath and shower. The weather was a little less than kind to us so we greatly appreciated being able to have some heating in our room.
The food choice was good and the meals excellent. The complementary wine with dinner and the pre dinner Pimms were also greatly enjoyed.
All the staff were very friendly and the dining room staff were extremely efficient.
The added bonus for walkers, like ourselves, was the free packed lunch every day.
The location is a good starting point for walks and we look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Go online and you can select the room of your choice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank High-Plains-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay at this wonderful country house hotel. Don't bother coming here if you like modern boxes all decorated in the same fashion. This place oozes character but with some charming touches. Staff very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent both at breakfast and dinner. Loved every minute of it and will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lodge which was very quirky.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarjorieB190924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our third visit to Biggin Hall and it gets better every time. The dinner menu has improved with a greater choice and a welcome complimentary glass of Pimms. We stayed for 2 nights in Room 16 which was well appointed with an extremely comfortable bed. Breakfast is now self service with an excellent choice & variety. The hotel is in a tucked away rural location with easy access to Buxton, Bakewell, Chatsworth & the Derwent Valley.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chauffeurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are back from another few days away staying at Biggin Hall Country House Hotel, and once again we had a lovely time. We stayed in room 24 which has a separate sitting area which is nice. The food as always was wonderful and the staff are very good.The place is spotless, and our view of the piggies was smashing.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are oldie worldie whereas the rooms in the other parts are more modern. Take your pick.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews