We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$89
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$121
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
283
99
23
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
283
99
23
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacked lunchbefore dinnerbiggin hallcomplimentary pimmsthe main housea nice touchdining roommulled winesandwichespeak districtexcellent foodboth nightsfresh milkcheese and biscuitslovely hotelafternoon teaporridge
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 422 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay at this wonderful country house hotel. Don't bother coming here if you like modern boxes all decorated in the same fashion. This place oozes character but with some charming touches. Staff very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent both at breakfast and dinner. Loved every minute of it and will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lodge which was very quirky.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarjorieB190924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our third visit to Biggin Hall and it gets better every time. The dinner menu has improved with a greater choice and a welcome complimentary glass of Pimms. We stayed for 2 nights in Room 16 which was well appointed with an extremely comfortable bed. Breakfast is now self service with an excellent choice & variety. The hotel is in a tucked away rural location with easy access to Buxton, Bakewell, Chatsworth & the Derwent Valley.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chauffeurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are back from another few days away staying at Biggin Hall Country House Hotel, and once again we had a lovely time. We stayed in room 24 which has a separate sitting area which is nice. The food as always was wonderful and the staff are very good.The place is spotless, and our view of the piggies was smashing.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are oldie worldie whereas the rooms in the other parts are more modern. Take your pick.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here,for 2 nights, for the first time.We had a beautiful large room overlooking the splendid gardens,Spotless,with a large en-suite.Staff are friendly ,very helpful,but not intrusive,The food was excellent,lovely fresh produce,well presented,and the portion sizes very generous,The complimentary Pimms,a lovely touch.I challenge anyone to remain stressed in such beautiful surroundings.Definately on our "Favourites" List.Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Main house,so cannot comment on other accommadation .
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargeryT617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently took our grandson with us for a weekend break and although we have been many times before, we enjoyed it even more. The rooms were clean and comfortable as usual, we missed the geese a bit as they have been moved away from the main garden but the chickens were still strutting around while we had our Pimms (included with dinner bed and breakfast rate) in the fresh air. Dinner included a carafe of wine. Whereas the evenine meal used to be served at one sitting, it is now available 6.30pm to 8pm which is better, it was more relaxed. Service excellent from friendly attentive staff. Room 8 is ideal with a kingsize bed in one room and an adjoining single bedroom with a bathroom between, our grandson was private yet safe and had his own TV. It is an ideal place to stay when walking in the Peak district and visiting the likes of Bakewell, Ashbourne, Dovedale and Chatsworth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesliePeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews