We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Recent visit”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were taken by friends recently to Biggin Hall whilst on a visit to them in Derbyshire. The whole evening was a total delight! The atmosphere powerful, the staff attentive, polite - we even had a courtesy glass of Pimms on arrival! Well done Biggin Hall!
The food was fantastic and the evening such a good experience that we shall certainly return.
Richard Seed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    110
    29
    17
    11
See reviews for
62
222
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is amazing . Booked lunch on the spur of the moment but glad we did.
The place dates from 1672 and as so is very quirky ,the staff are fantastic and the food to die for
the starters are well portioned but the main are just fantastic.
I had the Cearcer salad and what a meal I got gem lettuce,anchives ,croutons loverly cooked bacon and 3 large slices of very tender chicken topped off with parmasan cheese (small niggle
shave parmasam instead of grated would have being heaven )but that only my opinion
I have had This dish from NY to Hong Kong and many places inbetween but this was the best ever
We hope to return in the near future to try out their evening meals because its a little gem we have found and will let all our friends know.

Thank you biggin Hall.

Room Tip: do not be put off by the caravan park next door its well hidden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgbb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The woman in reception was having a right old rant,"I've stayed in hotels all over the world and never had breakfast finishing at 9 AM"and this was all aimed at the hapless receptionist. However, this overexcited guest was missing the whole point of this definitely non chain branded hotel which offers a level of personal service and memorable moments that can only be obtained in an English country hotel of this style. These include offering a glass of complimentary Pimms before dinner and a picnic for your day's walking. The geese who patrol the gardens as if they own the place are also fun.Give it a go !.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My partner booked this last minute for 2 nights. As well as the location, the best thing about the hotel was the helpful and friendly staff, particularly the manager who is a wealth of information. He told us where to find wild orchids and where to go off the beaten track.
Our room was like a flat, comfy bed and everything we needed. It's a bit of a mish mash with some gorgeous old furniture in keeping with the hall and some odd things like silk ivy over the mirror and awful silk flower displays. The dining room has lovely views and the service is good. Breakfast was mediocre but adequate and the pack lunches are a nice touch. The gardens are lovely, the sculptures odd and the pigs, geese and hens ace. Our dog loved it as did we.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Booked a 1 night stay last minute and was pleased to find that they allowed dogs 'free of charge'. we stayed at the Lodge which is away from the main house but great for us as we don't like to disturb others who may not like dogs. The room was clean & tidy with tea & coffee facilities along with a fridge & fresh milk. We walked from the doorstep and arrived back to know we had an evening meal booked so we didn't need to get in the car & drive. The 4 course evening meal was great and the complmentary Pimms & carafe of wine was a lovely added bonus.
We had a lovely nights stay and wouldn't hesitate in returning - in fact we're planning on returning shortly when our daughter returns from University so that she can see for herself what we're raving about.
A real gem and we can't wait to return - that includes the dog!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was there with my wife for 2 days. The hotel is in a beatiful small village, really small. Rooms are lovely and spacious, and the surroundings are very nice with horses trotting around, lambs and cows quietly wandering in massive fields. Food was excellent and not expensive at all. Pity that the hotel is located near a huge caravan site, however it was quiet anyway. Even if we did not have dogs the hotel is dog friendly and dogs are allowed in rooms BUT on the bed. Beware that dogs are not allowed in the lobby or restaurant. There are plenty of walks starting from the hotel and nearby several bike trails. Complimentary Pimms and half liter wine carafe was served at every dinner.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms can be a bit noisy when someone walks in the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Chiappone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

It was our first visit and it won't be our last. Beautiful surroundings, lovely rooms and excellent food. Such a homely place and perfect for a quiet weekend retreat.
It was lovely to stroll around the garden and see the hens, geese and pigs.
Every night dinner was excellant, a good choice and very filling! Complimentary Pimms before being seated and complimentary wine for the table added to the evening.
We will most definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smileyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggin-by-Hartington
5.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
7.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
893 reviews
6.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
10.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biggin Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Biggin-by-Hartington
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biggin-by-Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Biggin Hall Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Biggin Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biggin Hall Country Hotel
Biggin Hall Country Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing