We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Biggin Hall Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed the weekend - with family all meeting up for all over the country.
You need to book the dinner - and it is just the one sitting at 7pm - however this makes for a lovely atmosphere and it is 3 courses plus cheese buscuits and coffee - with around 4 or 5 choices for each course
The food was very good and the service extermely friendly

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UkGailJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    30
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We ate at Biggin Hall on the advice of friends who live locally.It was a midweek lunchtime and the restaurant was still relatively busy. A good sign.The building and setting are first rate and the staff got it just right. Friendly but not overly so. The food was excellent both in quality and presentation and prices that rate alongside many pubs in the area.What a lovely experience. Keep up the excellent work, hopefully we will be back soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bambooculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely lunches at Biggin Hall”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Biggin Hall is a lovely hotel with lots of character. The set lunch menu - around £12 for three courses, is of excellent value and quantity, plus an alternative bistro menu. The staff are always pleasant, helpful and efficient and are happy for us to linger after our meal sipping teas and coffees in one of the charming lounges - we particularly like the one with the roaring log fire on cold days. We usually go in a group of 8 to 16 and wouldn't think of going anywhere else for our regular get - togethers. As our last visit was just before Jubilee Weekend we also enjoyed driving through Biggin and seeing the lovely tributes to the Royal Family.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeakDistrictTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We went for lunch served between 12-2pm. We had a table looking out onto a very nice garden with geese and chickens running around. The Hall is grade 2 listed and the decorations in the lounge are a wealth of antiques we were sat there for drinks and to look at the menu before going into the dining room.
The food is mainly locally sourced and it was very pleasant and good value. We will go again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenys85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

What a breath of fresh air is Biggen Hall.

Beautiful setting; delightful gardens; historic building.
Friendly staff provided a free Pimms on arrival.

We then had a three course meal which was superb for £ 22 per head.
The limitless cheese table was free as were tea & coffee - yes free.

We had the best evening for a very long time and we will be going back for more.

John & Jane Northridge

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biggin Hall Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park
Hartington, Peak District National Park
 
Hartington, Peak District National Park
 
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
Hartington, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Biggin Hall Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing