We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018

This cottage couldn't be more perfect for a relaxing stay in the countryside spotlessly clean the owners go out of their way to ensure you have a comfortable stay lots of places to visit and and excellent pub just along the road what more could you want!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2018
Thank you Nicola .My mother and I take geat pride in making sure the cottage is presented to a high standard .The Cottage location is very accessible to most of the Peak Districts attractions.Many of our guests also enjoy the food and atmosphere at The Waterloo Inn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alduncan
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay despite the weather!”
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was a brilliant cottage for us and our 3 young children, had everything we needed, lots of space, lovely views of fields, sheep, lambs and tractors. Was great location for kids as 10 minutes walk to the lovely village playground (fairly recently done up) - just a shame it was so cold to enjoy it for long!! We were in a cloud most of the time at 4 degrees!

It's in a great location for everything in the southern peaks - about 15 mins drive to everywhere, Dovedale, Milldale, Matlock Bath, The Play Mill soft play which was a last resort on a particularly cold rainy day but very nice place for young children.

We managed a couple of nice walks along the river, and the kids loved splashing in the huge deep muddy puddles! Didn't manage to do several things we'd habe liked so we may well be back, would definitely come back to this cortage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2018
Alastair,I felt for you with the weather and three young children to entertain.Hope you manage to return ,so much to see and do .This time last year we were having a heat wave and guest were making full use of the garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pefect”
Reviewed April 14, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Visited with friends and their dog and it was just perfect. The cottage is equipped with everything you could possibly need to include dishwasher tablets, bin bags, tea, coffee, milk, you really do not need to take anything. A welcome hamper was provided with wine, crackers, fruit, a beautiful home made cake and treats for the dog. For dog walkers the area is ideal with loads of beautiful walks and a dog friendly pub selling excellent food just a stones throw from the cottage. The cottage was warm and cosy and the log burners in both rooms certainly added to the ambiance. We had a wonderful time and would certainly recommend the cottage to anyone. Perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2018
Glad you enjoyed your stay .I try to supply all the little essentials you need in the kitchen,but don’t feel like packing ,especially if your only on a short break .We loved the area for walking with our dog ,so nice to have a very dog friendly pub in the village .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J R
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect dog friendly stay”
Reviewed December 26, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights so the family could spend some quality time together. Weren't sure how it would work with our year-old lab. However, the owner had done everything possible to make it easy to be with a dog without sacrificing comfort and quality. We arrived to delicious home baked cake and mines pies, fires ready to light and other welcoming goodies. Beds were extremely comfortable. The village of Biggin provides numerous walks from the doorstep and we walked somewhere different every day even though it was early December. Villagers we met were very friendly and helpful - not always the case in holiday lets. The pub is 5 minutes away and very dog-friendly - had great pie and chips. We'll certainly return if we get a chance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2017
Jill
Glad you enjoyed your stay .Always nice to know ,our guest enjoy ,the walks that ,Biggin has to offer .The village pub is so friendly,and so dog friendly.Hope you get the chance to stay again .Biggin Dale is full of wild orchids and other flowers in the spring .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessyannd...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delight: Rowan Tree Cottage”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Really enjoyed a relaxing 3 night break at Rowan Tree Cottage. Jane provided us with everything we needed, from a travel cot, changing mat and high chair for our 6 month old and for the dog, 2 bowls and a towel with A lovely well maintained garden to explore. For me and my husband a cake, bottle of milk and a small hamper with a bottle of wine and biscuits waiting for us in the kitchen. We felt looked after immediately.
The cottage was spotless, the log burners we're ready to be lit (although the central heating system is so quick in heating the property we didn't feel we needed the additional warmth).
The cottage is set in a pretty village which has a lovely pub just a minuites walk away.
There is a very comprehensive file of information on local attractions, local pub menus and a visitor book so you can read what other visitors recommend and have enjoyed.
We will definitely book again when we plan pur next trip to the peak district. Thank you very much Jane.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Jessica
Thank you , for a great review.Hope you get chance to visit again . The Peak District has so much to offer . Always something to see and do what ever time of year you visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy Q
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nice setting for walking quiet but not too secluded. Owner has thought about the visitors needs. Lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Thank you .Having many of our family holiday in rented cottages .I have tried to equip the cottage with items I consider important.Being able to have for your children and family dog, to have outdoor space in which to play ,with the safety of an enclose garden is one item high n my list.

Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunlaogha...
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect home from home in a beautiful location”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The house was beautifully presented with lots of space and many little extras included in the price. It is a rural location, so perfect if you like waking up to church bells and sheep. We loved it there and would definitely like to go back for longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Glad you enjoyed stay.The church bell ringing takes me back to my childhood.Biggin a beautiful village .We tried to equip the cottage for home comfort ,the little extras will always be part of that.Hope you are able to return.

Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing