We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful tranquil retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biggin-by-Hartington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotterill Farm Holiday Cottages
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Overall, we had a lovely time at The Dairy - Cotterill Farm. It was clean and comfortable.

The views are stunning and it is so tranquil. It is great to have bikes available to hire from the front door and a laundry room too. Everything is extremely well organized and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairLady80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Cotterill Farm Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 49 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed in the barn just as you pull on to the drive 31/12/2011-2/1/2012.
The pictures provided don't do this place any justice. It's such a perfect quiet quaint little cottage. The locals are so welcoming, the pub is rustic loved every second of my stay. Will def be going back. Best new year I've ever had x thanks x

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutty-nads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have just returned from a 4 night stay with my partner. We had a fantastic stay. The 'Dairy' catered for all our needs. The welcome pack is well worth a go. It was spotless, welcoming, and cosy...Loved the log burner. There was so much to see and do couldnt fit it all in. Patrick is very enthusiatic about what he does....He is like a breath of fresh air...His information packs where up to date and comprehensive.
My only downside is that we couldnt stay for longer......We wil be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PudseyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I booked The Dairy at Cotterill Farm for a 4 night break for my girlfriend and I. On arrival we were met by a very enthusiastic and helpful Patrick who made us very welcome to our 'home' for the week. The Dairy was spotless and had everything we could possibly need for our stay.
Patrick and Frances have put together a comprehensive collection of folders full of things to do in the area, walking,cycling, tourist attractions, places to eat or drink the list goes on you can always find something to do. All put together to make your stay in the area as good as it could be.
Alternatively this is an ideal place to do nothing but relax. It's so snug and peaceful nestled in beautiful countryside.
I can't recommend a stay here enough and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Dave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our two 13 years old boys, my husband and I stayed in the Hay Store in August. The cottage was spotlessly clean, warm, light and airy. Standing outside the front door of the cottage, you could see miles and miles of green rolling hills. It reminds you the need to slow down and take stock.
The owners were kind, caring, considerate and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. They even broke their journey on their way to an appointment to take my son back to the cottage to me when they came across him fallen off his bike, Frances took him back in their car and Patrick rode the bike back to the farm. You don't see much of these kind of good deeds nowadays.
Although the farm was a bit out of the way, it was very easy to walk to the wolfdale, Milldale and the Tissington trail, The Tissington estate itself was only a short drive away. There was lots of short walks nearby for fantastic views. I often walked 10 minutes or so (to the Highfield Lanes?) after dinner to admire the sunsets.
We spent 2 days travelling on the local buses, picking up 100 yards outside the farm, down to Asbourne, going through little hamlets and lanes, then all the way up to Buxton and had tea and a little look round, then caught the last bus back to Biggin. All for £12.60 for the four of us for the day. On another occasion, we picked up other buses from Buxton, eg to Macclesfield - the moors were just showing their purple colour, to Whaley Bridge, to Chapel-en-le-Frith etc. The boys loved it.
Peak Distrist is wonderful, so much to see and to do. Cotterill Farm provides a perfect base to explore these areas. Thank you Frances and Patrick

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveengland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife & I stayed in the Milk Parlour Cottage for a week in September. The cottage was very comfortable and the surrounding views were lovely, but unfortunately you can’t really enjoy the views from inside the cottage as the only window in the lounge / kitchen looks straight out onto the side of the next barn and there is a restricted view from the side door. However Patrick (the owner) did inform us that they are hoping to get planning permission to put a window in the lounge / kitchen area so hopefully future guests will be able to enjoy the view over breakfast whilst planning their days out.

The cottages are ideally situated for all guests, whether you want to go walking, cycling or like us driving around and seeing as much of the area as you can during your stay.

Local places of interest including, Ashbourne, Ashford in the Water, Bakewell, Buxton, Chatsworth, Dovedale, Hartington, Matlock and Tissington are all less than 20 miles away and with so many quaint village pubs around you are really spoilt for choice as to where to eat out each evening.

If you are unsure where you want to visit during your stay, don’t worry because Patrick has a passion for providing his guests with all the information you will need. I for one am a stickler for organising our holidays but even I found his information packs rather overwhelming and in some cases repetitive and out of date (including the local bus timetable which was dated March 2008).

Putting Patrick’s ‘passion’ to one side we had a lovely peaceful, pleasant stay here and would recommend it and the location of their two other cottages in Hartington Village. If we could make just one minor suggestion it would be for Patrick to make his Information Packs more “User Friendly” in both size and quality and relevant to “current events, reviews and prices”.

During your visit here if you really fancy a good value meal out you must try Biggin Hall Hotel in Biggin (half a mile from the cottage and set back slightly from the road next door to the Waterloo Inn). Don’t be put off by it’s 2 star rating and rather cluttered reception area because beyond that they have a cosy lounge with a log fire and provide a one sitting evening meal at 7.00pm in their light and airy restaurant which includes a free glass of pimms, three course meal, cheese & biscuits and you can finish off your evening out with complementary coffee & mints back in the comfort of their lounge all for £19.50 pp.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTwoOfUsSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick004, Owner at Cotterill Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

As the reviewer suggests, I am passionate about the area, and like to impart my knowledge through the information folders, I also believe strongly in guests making their most of their stay here, so was dismayed that my information folders, usually much praised both by guests and by our annual Tourist Board assessors (and indeed here in other reviews), was the source of criticism. The example given of bus timetables form 2008 was definitely inapproate as these are the latest, there having been no changes to the timetable since then. With having six cottages and at a guess some 400 commercially produced leaflets in each cottage, (organised into folders, and where appropriate sorted out in order of proximity to our cottages), it would be inappropriate to change all these leaflets everytime there are minor changes (eg where prices are raised by a small amount). Where major changes are made, or in the case of major attractions or where there is important information in a leaflet(such as timetables of the various heritage railways), these are updated annually.
I sympathise more with this reviewers criticism of the lack of views from the open paln liiving/dining/kitchen area. We are putting in the extra window mentioned by the reviewer in January 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had a very relaxing week in very good accomodation. The information and walk packs were invaluable to planning our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggin-by-Hartington
0.4 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
907 reviews
1.5 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
935 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cotterill Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotterill Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Cotterill Farm Liffs Road, Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Biggin-by-Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Biggin-by-Hartington
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 x 4**** stone cottages sleeping 3, 4 & 8 persons. Wi-fi. Glorious Peak District location in rolling countryside amidst 12 acres non working farm, which is surrounded by a nature reserve leading to River Dove. Footpaths/bridleways on the doorstep. 350 yards from village and pub. Three cycle trails within 3 miles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing