We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average!”
Review of La Rosa

La Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Average food! Overpriced! We ordered their Specials! Scotch Fillet with salad,Tarakihi and prawns with vegetables, Lasagna Bolognese with salad. The menu didn't come with bread or rice or potatoes. Its not enough to fill you up! The veges are fresh and cooked nicely. The desserts were good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank divastarzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    33
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic local gem!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went for dinner with a group of friends who live out of the area. Everyone loved the food-right from the seafood dishes to the pizzas and pasta dishes. Desserts are good too. Also the service was good, the staff lovely and friendly, and good value for money. It showed how popular the restaurant is by the very fact that on a Tuesday night it was packed. Actually any time we drive by, we notice the place is always busy. We have been going to this restaurant on and off since it opened, both for lunch & dinner, and seems to get better every time. So nice to have such an awesome little place right in the heart of little old Glen Eden. By the way they do takeaway if you are unable to eat in.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Wonderful authentic Italian food, the black pasta is amazing, the staff went to great trouble to
explain dishes and see we were happy with what we had ordred.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent everything!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

La Rosa in Glen Eden was recommended to me by my cousin, who is a frequent diner. I'm glad she made the recommendation!

Service - excellent
Food - excellent and great value for money

Staff are very friendly and made us all feel welcome. This restaurant is a child-friendly restaurant.

Excellent value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RochCorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Plain and average!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Went here for dinner tonight with a friend and it was very average. Had the steak that either came with only a mushroom OR blue cheese sauce which I don’t like either, just wanted a creamy sauce with peppercorns, (you would think they would have more than 2 sauce options in the whole place!) and they gave me the steak with olive oil poured around it and about 5 peppercorns on top, not what I’d expected after they said they could do a nice sauce. My friend had the mushroom sauce on her steak which she said was far too sweet and it was runny and watery not creamy, and the mushrooms were plain and put on top chopped up. There were huge lumps of fat in both our steaks and the veggies were plain broccoli and carrot with no sauce or anything, very plain meal for $28 and could have done better at home!! My previous experience here wasn’t good either, so won’t be going back. One thing that was great was the service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 83_Gem_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rosa also viewed

Henderson, Auckland Region
Henderson, Auckland Region
 
Titirangi, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 

Been to La Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing