We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best feature is free parking”
Review of Uenuku lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uenuku lodge
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best feature is free parking”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Free parking is an awesome feature, but limited. There is a tv room and an ok-sized kitchen. There are tables outside that you can eat at but none in the kitchen area itself. There are no sinks in the same room as the toilets themselves which is kind of annoying. The shower that I used drained very slowly. The beds were fairly comfortable and there was free wifi downstairs but I did not get signal in the room upstairs. I would come back mainly for the free parking, but nothing special here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    36
    14
    10
    20
See reviews for
2
34
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I really liked to stay at the Uenuku lodge. It was easy to meet other people and everybody was nice. Everything is clean and the free wifi is quite good :)

I prefer to stay here, because it isn't directly in the city, but it is very easy to go in the city by bus.

See you, when I come back to New Zealand! ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

They put us in a 10 bed dorm on the first floor. It seems like many of the people staying here are long-term. The smell was terrible in the dorm. This is an old house haphazardly converted into a hostel. Stay only as a last resort. I have stayed in dozens of hostels in New Zealand, and this one comes in 3rd worst. Stay here only if all the other small hostels are booked. The staff is nice, and perhaps the private rooms are much better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juttyjut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland Region hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I visited the Uenuku Lodge a couple of times. Everytimes i got a very warm and family welcome. The Lodge has some very nice rooms with an amazing view on the skyline of Auckland. The staff is so friendly and help me out by everything. At least you have very fast free unlimited internet/ wifi in the whole hostel. Its perfect to skype with home or watching for some jobs online. I realy like this place here in Auckland.

Room Tip: the double room with the view over auckland. just ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited the Uenuku Lodge twice and got some really nice rooms. You could look over the city and the ocean and while lying in the bed you had a nice view onto the sky. The staff was really nice and helpful and the kitchen was well equipped. In the Ponsonby Road you have lots of possibilities to go out or get some good coffee and snacks in nice little bistros.

Room Tip: Take the rooms upstairs - nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juliane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed two nights on our arrival and cane back at the end of our trip! We were delighted by the friendly service and cozy rooms. Really affordable and located in a dynamic neibourhood. The staff was very helpful, cheery and very accomodating.A great cosy base to discover Auckland!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julipopoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm room which had a AMAZING VIEW of the city, this is the type of view i would expect in a 5* hotel.
The room had large lockers which was great knowing my belongings were VERY SAFE.,
When i arrived at the hostel there was private parking for FREE, which is FANTASTIC, I was greeted by a very HAPPY, KNOWLEDGEABLE Japanese receptionist who welcomed me to the lodge
and provided me with FREE UNLIMITED WIFI voucher which is unheard off in new zealand :-) so a real BONUS great for using skype or watching movies, i didn't actually have a computer but was told thats not a problem as there is a free computer to use in the lounge :-) along with a reading area and games to play.
The lovely Japanese receptionist provided me with maps of the city and her personal opinion on places to visit and things to do during my stay in Auckland. :-)
I had arrived in the evening and was hungry, this was not a problem as the reception was open till late and all along the road by the hostel there are many bars and cafes, open early till late offering a wide variety of foods from around the world, there was also a supermarket opposite the hostel open till late which was great because the hostel has a very well equipped kitchen with many spices and sauces free to use, There was a real fun, relaxed environment in the hostel which was infectious,
In the evening was great to sit in the garden with the other guests and exchange travel stories, it felt like a family which was really nice and made me want to stay longer, i made some great friends with the guests and staff and when ever i am back in Auckland i stay in UENUKU LODGE, Best hostel by far. STRONGLY RECOMMEND HERE :-D Thanks to all the wonderful staff who made my time in Auckland unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrewneilscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Region hotels
0.5 mi away
Quest Ponsonby
Quest Ponsonby
#59 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 58 in Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#44 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
#5 of 58 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
2.1 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#43 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uenuku lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uenuku lodge

Property: Uenuku lodge
Address: 217 Ponsonby Road | Auckland 1011, New Zealand, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 267 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Uenuku lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpacker hostel in the heart of Ponsonby, Auckland. Close to shops, cafes, bars, supermarkets and bus stop. Twenty minute walk to Auckland CBD. Rooms range from 10 bed dorm, shares, to private en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Uenuku lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing