We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great backpackers”
Review of Borders Beyond

Borders Beyond
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borders Beyond
Bielefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
“Great backpackers”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great place. It was recommended by people I met at the airport. The manager is nice, friendly, helpful and funny. The other guests were very nice. Overall it was a very good atmosphere. I felt comfortable. Although the beds are not that comfortable, I'd defenitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BjoernBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
14
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My first time staying in a hostel. I was hesitant to say the least. Greeted by Eve the on site manager I knew it was going to be good. She made sure I was checked in to what was available when my accommodations were not ready yet. After a nights rest she was the first to ask how I slept, genuinely. She is great!

I house was full of a lot of younger people working and traveling out of the hostel. It had a real family feel to it. Very friendly and welcoming. I had a little car trouble one night and came in late too the kitchen full of people cooking, laughing, singing to music. It was like coming home.

I made sure to book another stay before my flight back.

They only thing I would ask would be more refrigerator space.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

not into the CBD, but pretty close (10min walk), so it's good coz it's a quiet area. near to ponsonby too. bed are pretty comfortable. it's a little bit noisy downstairs, but there is a curfew every day to avoid late noise. so perfect place for those who like calm atmosphere and quiet neighbourough. 50c for 6min shower, but the accomodation is cheap (maybe the cheapest in auckland) so it's so ok to paye for shower, it's anyway cheaper than any other place. lot of french and english people, almost only european customers. David is helpful and nice. so it's a good place to stay

Room Tip: rooms upstairs are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We needed a place with free parking in Auckland and in the end, we had to park on the street. We had a room that smelled really bad. There was never space in the fridges and it was just generally not very clean. Having said that, we met the owner in reception and he was really informative and we had a pretty good laugh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph30000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed at Borders Beyond Backpacker for 2 weeks and I really enjoyed my stay. The manager, David, is very helpful and knows Auckland and NZ very well, so he gave me good tips! The backpacker is quite small and immediately makes you feel like home. The outdoor area with a BBQ is great and the CBD is a 10min walk away, with shopping center and everything you need very close by. I stayed at other backpackers in Auckland (Nomads) and in other cities in NZ but I must honestly say that this is the best backpacker I've been to! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jantreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Small homey hostel 5 minutes away from Downtown Auckland,Ponsonby,The viaduct & most funky neighborhood.
Shared Kitchen ,clean and workable.Rooms are simple ,but well cared for.Little terrace where everyone socializes in many languages....But what really makes the place is David & his crew....They are welcoming caring and fun...Last but not least free parking.
Perfect Base
to discover Auckland or to plan your trip around NZ

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evesail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed one week in january 2012 in a double room. The room was large enough. It's a little backpacker, we liked it. It's a quiet place where you can rest if you want. 25 min to downtown. Don' t hesitate reserve now !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Region hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Ponsonby
Quest Ponsonby
#59 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Uenuku lodge
Uenuku lodge
#43 of 267 in Auckland Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borders Beyond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borders Beyond

Property: Borders Beyond
Address: 8 Nixon Street | Grey Lynn, 1021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 267 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy backpacker in a quiet area right by the CBD. Friendly/family atmosphere. 2mn from all commodities, free tea/coffee, kitchen. Help for jobs or visits. Luggage storage.English/French/Spanish/Italian spoken ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Borders Beyond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing