We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland Harbour Oaks
Ranked #187 of 301 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Reviewed January 20, 2014

On the 37th floor, this one bedroom apartment with sweeping views across the harbour certainly impressed us. It was clean, compact, with king size bed, and comfortable sitting room and kitchen. No air conditioning, but floor fan adequate. Suggest management install drawers for guests, as there is only hanging space for clothes. The location is perfect to walk to Auckland waterfront and the interesting lanes off the main shopping street. Staff were polite, helpful and professional. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahCB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Auckland Harbour Oaks. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the facilities offered. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. I appreciate your nice feedback on our staff and look forward to your return visit.
Please stay in touch direct as we would love to welcome you back with our best rates in future!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 665 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Harbour Oaks was the perfect location, but given some poor reviews on this site, expectations on booking in were mixed. What we got was a fabulous 37th floor, one-bedroom apartment with wonderful views. It was well-maintained and clean, serviced efficiently and quickly each day. All the staff were more than courteous and helpful. Shops, cafes and the Auckland waterfront were within easy walking distance. I would suggest the hotel install some drawers in the rooms, as there is only hanging space for clothing. No, it's not air conditioned, but the standing fan was helpful. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahCB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our property is certainly unique in terms of the best views and proximity to everything downtown Auckland has to offer. Our amenities, services and employees are top notch and I am delighted to read that your stay was above expectations.
We take immense pleasure in being able to serve our guests every day and enjoy what we do

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

If you like City Centre Hotels this would be fine. No restaurant and a strange entry system but room was adequate. Personally we would probably book a hotel out of town in the future. Breakfast was delivered the night before but was very average

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Auckland Harbour Oaks for your recent stay in Auckland. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. Although we do not have a restaurant of our own, some of the best restaurants are in the immediate vicinity! We do offer vouchers for specially discounted breakfast/lunch menus for our guests. The light breakfast option is an offer for some guests which is being phased out due to feedback received.
Please stay in touch as we look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great location , busy large hotel with residences , easy access to shopping , eating markets, ferry rides, stayed a few times now.5 minutes away from airport bus& taxis..wifi works perfectly & fast.
Been here in winter& summer with no problems..

Room Tip: Get a room with a view,but they all do, higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location & Great Views! – there are no properties in Auckland that can match what we offer with free Wi-Fi.
We take immense pleasure in being able to serve our guests every day and enjoy what we do.
We look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our last night of a fantastic 3 weeks in New Zealand. I requested a room with a view of the city and harbour and thats what we got. We were on the 36th floor and the views of the city skyline and harbour were superb with a glass of wine in hand.
Very close to Queen Street and Britomart and plenty of restaurants.
Although not large we found our 1 bedroom apartment to be clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our short stay. Bed was comfy.The reception always appeared busy but the staff that assisted us we found to be courteous and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for them even arranging our taxi to the airport.
All in all a good place to stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very glad to hear that our little touches enhanced your stay and you had a lovely time. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend this hotel. Please stay in touch with us direct so we can provide you with our best rates for your return!
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Have been to this property several times over the past four years. (Mostly in summer). General maintenance is slipping a bit, but is still pretty clean and a great central location at a fair price. The views of the city or harbour can be spectacular if you find yourself in the right room. Good value for money. We keep coming back.
The biggest nuisance (during the warmer months) is there is no cooling / air conditioning. To keep a bit comfortable you need to open the sliding door or small window. Sleep can be difficult then due to the busy road and nightlife noise down below.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your feedback. It is really great to have your continued support over the years and a pleasure to have you as our guest I am glad you enjoy the location views and, all that the apartment offers as compared to a traditional hotel that offer smaller rooms at higher prices.
All feedback is used in assisting us to improve future guests’ experiences through your observations.
Please keep in touch direct as we would love to welcome you with our best rates always!
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family, my husband and I stayed here for the new year's eve and day. Only to be served with very rude front desk staff during check in. We travel quite a lot and have never met someone from the hospitality industry this rude. He was arrogant, disrespectful and belittling towards my family. He was yelling at us and accused me of throwing my credit cards at him (why would I do that?) and starting the argument. Please do check the CCTV, and see if I threw anything at him during check in. It was very upsetting and ruined our new year's festive mood instantly. My parents, who rarely raised their voices, lost their patience and that made me very upset. It was an awful experience, even when everything was sorted by the hotel manager, we just couldn't wait to get out of there. This is the worst and the most atrocious customer service my family and I have ever received.

Harbour Oaks is surrounded by clubs and located across a strip club, so you could hear the loud music coming from these places. Sofa has a cigarette burn. Plumbing in the bathroom doesn't work properly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. Without constructive feedback we will not be able to improve as a property. We have investigated this incident and would like to inform that appropriate protocol was followed. Notwithstanding explanation tendered, immediate action was initiated and that your family was looked after as our valuable guests
We have undertaken a comprehensive training scheme with our staff in regards to customer service and the next time you are at our property there will be noticeable difference. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#29 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#59 of 66 in Auckland Central
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Harbour Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Harbour Oaks

Address: 16 Gore Street | Auckland City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 301 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range: $131 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland Harbour Oaks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tallest apartment tower in New Zealand - 4.5 Star Qualmark Rated. Auckland Harbour Oaks offers Auckland CBD apartment style hotel accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour and city.New:* GYM Access* Pool Access* Complimentary 1 hour free broad-band internet per night purchased (up to 250mb). The emphasis is on style and comfort at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland Harbour Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Harbour Oaks Hotel Auckland Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing