We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there under any circumstances”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland Harbour Oaks
Ranked #191 of 327 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Where do i start! There's no parking unless you pre book. Otherwise you have to pay a fortune to park your car at a car park. The greeting we got from the staff was non existent. The place needs to be overhauled as its tired. There are two clubs across the road one a massage parlour and the other a gentle men's club well if that wasn't bad enough the noise coming from there as well as the night clubs was unbearable I don't know how anyone could sleep there! The rooms are tiny,old and dirty. The location is nothing special at all. The continental breakfast is horrible and they deliver it the night before. They really need to rethink what a continental breakfast is and change the menu to make it enticing for people to eat.

There is no way I would ever recommend this place to anyone and infact if it wasn't for the fact that it was prepaid I would of left much earlier.

There are so many more lovely places to stay in Auckland, don't choose this one!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenant143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 679 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

DON'T YOU EVER THINK ABOUT IT!!!! EMPLOYEES STEAL YOUR THINGS AND THE GENERAL MANAGER DOES NOT TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY!!!! RUN FROM THIS PLACE!!!! Me and my wife rented a temporary apartment for a week. Everything was ok (clean, quiet, comfortable) until the last day. After checking out we left our bags in the storage room behind the front desk because we needed to go to sign our contract for a definitive apartment in the city. We came back 4 hours later, picked up our luggage and moved to the new place. A week later, my wife wanted to use her Braun silk epilator and it was neither in her bag nor in our apartment. Before leaving Akl Harbour Oaks we had double checked the room and we were 100% sure there was nothing missing. In fact, the last thing I did was putting the epilator inside her bag on top of all her clothes. It was in top of her bag so the thief only needed to opened the zipper and it was the first thing he/she saw. Obviously, it was stolen during those hours in the storage room. What's more, some of her underwear was stolen too. I went 5 times to talk to the general manager but he was never available. I wanted to see the video footage since the storage room had cctv but they said it was not possible. I gave them my phone number and email 3 times and asked them to make him call me but never happened. Everytime you go, they give you his "personal card" but on the other side it has the website info and the front desk phone number. Therefore, you can never really contact him. By the way, his name is Sachin Ghadiyar and his twitter account is @sach1nz. Finally, we had to buy a new epilator that cost us $120 NZD. It was a very disgusting experience and I hardly discourage you to go there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmilioME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Owner at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear EmiliME

Thank you for your review. It is interesting that you have written such a review after everything was discussed with you on-site after your departure. We even went through all security footage in the storage room and it was confirmed that no such incident occurred.

Further, I think it is very inappropriate to name The General Manager of the Hotel in your review in full as well as providing the public his Twitter Account Details. I have complained to Trip Advisor on this front and hope they take action as per their guidelines.

Owner of Auckland Harbour Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Have just left the Auckland Harbour Oaks after a two night stay.

The apartments are very well equipped with full cooking facilities, washer & clothes dryer, are reasonably spacious and at the price and location are very hard to beat.

Although one of the downfalls of staying in a property like this (as opposed to a hotel) is that there is no place to meet people such as a coffee shop or communal lounge. However you do not have to walk far to find a myriad of coffee shops or restaurants with the Viaduct precinct, and Queen Street being short walks away.

One point that the Oaks can really lift it's game is the attention to detail given by the teams that service the rooms. Coffee, Tea, Milk, and soap was not replenished on a daily basis.

However, there are lots more advantages than disadvantages over this property and I'll be back for sure. But, I'll bring my own soap.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baliliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our property is certainly unique as we do have the best Restaurant & Cafes in the building and next door! We have recently procured exclusive voucher deals for Hotel guests.
We take immense pleasure in being able to serve our guests every day and enjoy what we do. The houskeeping manager and front desk staff are aware that every room service replenishments are promptly actioned at all times. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We found the hotel really noisy at nights, as night clubs & strip clubs right by the Hotel. Music all night long. Only stay if you take ear plugs. The Receptionist rang a taxi for us and when it arrived she said "Taxi is here for the old man !!" hmm... I did not like that, my comment to her " Was that necessary ?" Extremely rude of her, we are Hotel Guests !!!! Breakfast is a piece of cake in a box, (they called it a muffin) but it was a slice of cake, yogurt, and banana. Not a good Kiwi breakfast !! No Muesli in the breakfast basket....

Room Tip: A quiet room, if you can !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived at the hotel late on a Thursday night to find there is no where to pull up to check in. We then discovered that they do have a hotel car park but you need to book this way in advance. The only other option is to park in an open lot carpark around the corner and pay $20 for 12 hours of parking - this was very annoying when you get home from a busy day at 5pm and can only pay for 12 hours of parking! Our room was on the 34th floor- a 2 bedroom room with great views of the city. The room was well laid out with cooking facilities, dish washer, washing machine and dryer. The bathroom looked okay but it was impossible to shower without the entire floor becoming a swimming pool.
There are several "gentlemens" clubs in the area- one being directly across the road. Being on a higher floor we did not hear any of the noise other reviewers have mentioned, however we did share the lift with some "ladies of the night" - a rather awkward experience with a teenage daughter with us. Overall the hotel is located well- we could walk to a supermarket and there are plenty of restaurants close by. We would stay here again - but only if we were guaranteed parking in the hotel!

Room Tip: To avoid late night party noise- choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Auckland Harbour Oaks. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the facilities offered. Please stay in touch direct as we look forward to welcoming you again with assurance of a pre-booked car park.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Two adults 2 sons travelling. Where do I start ??? Perhaps the fact that when you arrive you simply can NOT even park the car outside the hotel to drop off family or bags. The Strip Club across the road blocked part of the street parking with road cones. Do yourself a favour and check out google street view to see how seedy and rough the street is. Granted I stayed with family, so if you are young blokes, and want to hit seedy strip joints then this would be perfect. My young sons & I shared the odd lift with strip club dancers who talk trash in front of you - so obviously they frequent the hotel, since they'd simply walk across the road to work.
Reception staff barely acknowledge you entering so friendly service is just not something you can expect. The hotel will reply comment about location (CBD and being close to everything bla bla bla) BUT the cost is staying in a sub standard grotty room. Stains on lounges don't even appear to be food stains (think about that one !!!)... photos included. Sink tap falls apart in your hand, Microwave oven peeling. Bath rusty and mouldy (check photos). Room generally filthy (although thankfully sheets appeared fresh) - no way was I going to look at the mattress though as some things are better remaining unknown. Room VERY small even though management will say near biggest available in Auckland CBD (others must be miniature if that's the case). They offer VERY minimal parking only if you book well in advance. They say parking is available in the street outside but it's metered at huge cost and some multi-storey car parks close by charge an arm and a leg. I'm trying to think of a positive but it's very very hard... perhaps the view of the harbour although even that has a more industrial feel than being nice views.
So bottom line is don't expect cleanliness, don't expect pleasant service, but do expect seedy dancers and very noisy street activity that keeps you awake into the early hours of the morning (thank god I took ear plugs while travelling just in case = my poor wife didn't). The Oaks chain does not present a great picture for what they offer with this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEGGSTER66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you had a stay that was not up to your expectations. Allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Please rest assured that I will liaise with the Housekeeping & Maintenance Manager about issues raised and it would be helpful in rectifying the problem for future guests if you could provide me with your room number. My email is – feedback@vrhotels.co.nz
All of your comments will be dealt with at an Executive level and relayed back to the manager and team, who always take pride in serving our guests at all times.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The location was good and the rooms were good for the price. This would be a good place to stay long-term, as there is a kitchen/washing machine/dryer, but for just one night, with expensive parking, it was not ideal. We were let down by the overall service and feel for the hotel. On check-out (10am) we had to wait until 12pm for our deposit to be refunded, as there was a problem with their system.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad to see that you appreciated what we offer here at our property. Great rooms/facilities, Great price, Great location – there are no properties in Auckland that can match what we offer with Free Wi-Fi. Outside parking services are commonly on the higher side in Downtown Auckland. We do our best to provide a reasonable rate with limited spaces we reserve onsite for our pre- booked guests.
We regret the inconvenience caused by the temporary service failure of the Eftpos system at the time of checkout. Please stay in touch and we hope to welcome you back in future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 65 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,851 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#31 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Harbour Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Harbour Oaks

Address: 16 Gore Street | Auckland City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 327 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range: $96 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland Harbour Oaks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tallest apartment tower in New Zealand - 4.5 Star Qualmark Rated. Auckland Harbour Oaks offers Auckland CBD apartment style hotel accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour and city.New:* GYM Access* Pool Access* Complimentary 1 hour free broad-band internet per night purchased (up to 250mb). The emphasis is on style and comfort at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auckland Harbour Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Harbour Oaks Hotel Auckland Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing