We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auckland Harbour Oaks
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

For what it is, this place is pretty good. Stayed here a week in October. It's well located in downtown Auckland. Rooms are more than adequate. Yes the bedrooms could do with some more space, but all up, the experience was fine. Carpark access was easy. Countdown supermarket was an easy 5-minute walk. Kids also enjoyed the pool.
Ravi in the office, who I made the booking with, was extremely helpful, accommodating and friendly. Thanks Ravi! Somendra on the front desk was also very courteous and professional.
Ima restaurant a few steps away at 57 Fort St was spectacular! Will certainly be going back there a few more times.
Would certainly recommend Auckland Harbor Oaks.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors facing west get afternoon sun and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Peter K,
It was so lovely to read of your wonderful stay with us at Auckland Harbour Oaks.
We are so glad that you enjoyed the accommodation and also the location of the hotel.
Thank you so much for your praise of our staff members. All our team actively read guest feedback and it is much appreciated that you have taken the time to write good things about the team. Feedback really is a great driver in ensuring we as a property can keep striving to the high standards we have.
Looking forward to welcoming you back always, thank you for your support!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    164
    186
    112
    88
See reviews for
166
233
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was reluctant to return to the Auckland Harbour Oaks Apartments after a previous bad experience, however my friend persuaded me to give them another go. We stayed in a 1 bedroomed suite (8M) for 3 nights in October 2013 and overall it was fine, but there are a couple of improvements that could be made. The bedroom was small with 2 single beds very close together. There was 1 pillow on each bed and only 1 spare pillow. Another pillow would be good. The TV is very small and the reception on some channels isn't great; rather grainy.

The shower would benefit from the use of some exit mould and a decent scrub, particularly the walls. It was good to have the apartment serviced each day and it's a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank woods60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you found our rooms not up to your expectation in terms of size. Our apartments are much bigger than the standard apartments in Auckland and especially when compared to hotels that are even smaller. We are happy to note that you find the location and service good. Your concerns have been referrred to the relevant department for action.
Please stay in touch and we can offer you 'best rates' for a larger apartment to welcome you back!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A little apprehensive on arrival (Saturday night) a lot of youngsters outside and very noisy. However proved to be just the weekend partying which didn't interrupt our sleep so overall a good hotel with clean adequate rooms and definitely in a great location to explore Auckland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shevnorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Auckland Harbour Oaks for your recent stay in Auckland. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the facilities offered and were able to take advantage of our fantastic location to explore the City.
Please stay in touch for our best deals as we would love to welcome you back in future!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Was in oaks@queenstown. If i was to compare this hotel is disappointing.The TV was small and the heater did not work well.

Other than that , Parking is good , kitchen / washing is fantasic . The kids enjoyed the bath tub.

View and location was good . Can see the tower and the harbour.

Enjoy the chinese food near the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Auckland Harbour Oaks. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the facilities offered. We have noted your comments and use all feedback to improve our facilities and services. Also glad to note that you chose to stay in one of the Oaks Queenstown properties. – there are no properties in 'Downtown Auckland' that can match what we offer in terms of location, views, price and complimentary Wi-Fi.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at Auckland Harbour Oaks Hotel for five nights in September 2013. We had booked here based on some recent Trip Advisor reviews which gave some positive comments. Our "deluxe" room was very disappointing. It was a very small studio with a small closet and very little furniture - our suitcase had to remain on the floor due to lack of space anywhere else!
There was nothing deluxe about it - no comfortable furniture and a bed that had no firmness to it.
Not good when you have travelled all day to get here. We spoke with Maureen at the Front Desk the next morning telling her we will be calling our travel agent to complain. Maureen asked us to leave with her for a couple of hours and when we returned she said she would upgrade us to a 2 bedroom apartment at no cost. It was on a much higher floor with much better views, the bed was firm enough and it was roomy so we took it.
Even with this upgrade we have suggestions for the hotel manager. Put some outdoor furniture on the balcony so guests can enjoy using it! Replace the cafeteria-type chairs with decent furniture that's more befitting to an apartment hotel! Provide boxes of tissues in the bathrooms for guest use - this is the first hotel we have ever stayed in that do not provide Kleenex tissues!
Stop the silly rationing of WI-FI access which entails constant calling to the Front Desk a couple of times a day to get a new password - the staff don't need the hassle and nor do guests!
Our friends stayed at the Waldorf Celestion Hotel - while it looked gloomy in the lobby entrance area the were far superior with rich décor, excellent furniture and kitchen and bathroom supplies that made sense.

Room Tip: Forget the tiny deluxe rooms and go for a one bedroom with the higher price or shop other hotels, li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamtripper_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am disappointed that upon check in the room was not as per your expectation. However, I am very happy to hear that our team went out of their way to ensure that you were looked after with free upgrade which helped to better your experience. We do not 'ration' the FREE WIFI to guests but have to monitor it ! This service is procured from an external service provider at a cost. There are no properties in downtown Auckland that can match what we offer in terms of Price-Location-Views-Facilities.
Please stay in touch with us so we can provide you with our best rates for your return!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you're expecting a full-service luxury hotel, you'll be disappointed. But if you're looking for a good, functional mid-range place to hang out while in Auckland, this place is fine. I did not hear the noise a previous reviewer mentioned.

Pros: Staff friendly and willing to do what they can. Location is excellent. Right across the street from The Penthouse Club - nicest club I was in while in Auckland. Lots of food options close by. It's a tall building, so there are great views - and the rooms have small balconies (can't do anything but stand).

Cons: It's not a full-service hotel so they can't do everything a Marriott or Hilton could do. No room service, no housekeeping 24/7. Also, no central heating, but they have room heaters. No bathrobes. Gym is minimal - doesn't make you want to jump up in the morning and say "I want to go to the gym." :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor so you get a great view of the city and harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Glad to note your review as Good Value & Great Location for Auckland Harbour Oaks!
Thank you so much for your praise of our staff members. All our team actively read guest feedback and it is much appreciated that you have taken the time to write good things about the team. We take immense pleasure in being able to serve our guests every day and enjoy what we do.
It is great to note that you also had a nice time in Auckland and we do hope you will come back and stay with us again in future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt City, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location is great; room okay. If you are staying for a week or so, then the kitchen and access to washing machine and dryer in the room would be well used...if you are staying for a night or two, then you won't use these. Service was fine and the room was clean and tidy. There was quite a bit of noise from the surrounding area. so sleep was interrupted. value was okay...but not likely to go back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Auckland Harbour Oaks. We are pleased to see that you approved the great location and value. The facilities offered are enjoyed by all our guests, especially if staying more than 1 night.
Take care and we hope you choose us next time when you are in Auckland.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Region hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Harbour Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Harbour Oaks

Property: Auckland Harbour Oaks
Address: 16 Gore Street | Auckland City, 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 267 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland Harbour Oaks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tallest apartment tower in New Zealand - 4.5 Star Qualmark Rated. Auckland Harbour Oaks offers Auckland CBD apartment style hotel accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour and city.New:* GYM Access* Pool Access* Complimentary 1 hour free broad-band internet per night purchased (up to 250mb). The emphasis is on style and comfort at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Auckland Harbour Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Harbour Oaks Hotel Auckland Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing