We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay in a prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auckland Harbour Oaks
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay in a prime location”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very nice rooms with all you need ... you just might miss the aircon during sommer time.
They have a reasonable car park for 20 NZD per day. All Bars and Clubs are nearby and a 24h convenience store as well.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quite due to nightlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    167
    189
    113
    89
See reviews for
167
237
36
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The rooms are good; although small, they are light, well furnished, centrally located. There are comfy, queen-size beds, well-appointed kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, pots, opening windows into the fresh air with floor-to-ceiling windows and full laundry in the bathroom. The gym is fine, small but equipped. There are a few cons: firstly, the openair Pool. It was closed when I tried to use it-10.30am on a pleasant May morning - but the real drag is the entrance; you have to climb a vertical, metal ladder as the Pool is quite high off the ground - quite impossible for me at 70 with arthritis! The towels are inadequate. No computer sockets are available where you need them-near the study table, so I re-arranged the furniture. Noisy neighbours can blight if they leave their balcony windows open at night, but the Management swiftly dealt with that. The bathroom is a decent size, but the shower door opens OUTWARDS, there's no place to put soap, etc except the floor & the water pressure is so ferocious that you need to check the shower head is facing away from you when you turn it on. There are 3 fast lifts to ferry you up & down; a good idea is to get your room keycard programmed to go to other floors if your friends are not on the same floor as you are. If the Pool were better I would say, excellent, but it is only Very Good!

Room Tip: Room Nos. E & F have a Harbour View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxfordhighschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

A very good hotel in a good location with excellent facilities. Full kitchen and separate living room and a very good bathroom. But the room faced west and on a sunny autumn afternoon the sun was streaming in - so I looked for the airconditioning control. None! Rang reception to be told that there was on air conditioning. Strange in a 4+ star hotel. Wouldn't like to be there in summer!

Reception staff were a bit indifferent but otherwise the experience was painless.

Room Tip: Depends on the season. Do not choose a west facing room in summer or early autumn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nebraska51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This place is clean and offers decent rates for a city stay. It is quite central to the city centre, harbour precinct, Vectra Arena and Britomart (train station). There are quite a few massage parlours and strip joints in the streets around the apartment block.

Hotel staff are OK, some don't pass on all information at check in.So ask if you aren't sure of anything.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 37th floor (there are 38 levels). It isn't a big apartment but was sufficient for our needs. Our room faced west so the afternoon sun streaming in made the room very hot and stuffy. There is no air conditioning, but I did see a fan in the wardrobe. We opened up the door to the tiny balcony (about 1/2 metre wide). We also opened the bedroom window but surprisingly could still hear traffic below. The were fantastic views of Auckland city, the harbour, the harbour bridge and wharves, but don't look down if you have a fear of heights. When we were there, the Sea Princess was docked and we saw it leave that evening.

The room was fully equipped for self catering - there was a full sized fridge/freezer, stove, oven, microwave and dishwasher. The dishwasher was broken. The microwave was confusing to operate. There was a table and chairs to eat meals and a lounge setting. TV was tiny. The bathroom had a washing machine in it. I had to fiddle a bit to get the right shower pressure.There is also an electric heater for colder winter nights (also in the wardrobe).

There is also a pool and gym but we didn't use it.

This building is also a residential block for permanent residents or long stay guests. I saw a lot of students and office workers coming and going.

Car parking costs about NZ$20 but you do need to reserve a spot because it is limited.

Access to the building is quite secure. You need to swipe your card to enter the foyer, then when you get into the lift you need to swipe it again and enter your floor number. You need the key to enter the car park from the foyer and to leave the building. At the time we were there there was nowhere to park outside when checking in as there were roadworks, so we just parked in a lane way.

I would stay here again because of the location and the reasonable price.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with harbour views (above 20th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed 2 nights alone..so got picky. Positives - 114$ a night in April autumn winter prices. 24hr reception. Staff are good.Nice view of harbour on the 17th floor, great shower pressure, stove,breakfast consisted of museli bar, apple, orange juice a microwave,the living space had a nice couch and seat, and coffee table. nice interior.good location close to the main street. Double glazed windows good for sound but no aircon..had to open the windows anyway. negatives- No Aircon, no room manifest, local calls charged at 80c per minute and no warning of these charges, long process using the rather slow free 1 hour internet, bedding rather uncomfortable sheets not fitted, internet port behind couch far away from phone and power source. Pool was closed and the gym is very limited with equipment.The lobby is rather small and well worn carpet. This hotel easily confused with the hobson street auckland oaks

Room Tip: High up..studio..was booked out, i think it would be better value than the "one bedroom" s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Went to Auckland to see Jersey Boys and stayed at Auckland Harbour Oaks Hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Apartment was very comfortable and great value for money.
Continental breakfast supplied was nice and the bread roll was awesome and fresh.
Would definitely say there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thermalbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 21st floor,beautiful view over the port of Auckland and out to the east. Some magnificent sunrises.

Pros - very reasonable rates, so close to everything, very clean and comfortable, wonderful water pressure in the shower.

Cons - telephone which we could not call out on. At first I think the staff thought I was a bit thick and couldn't use a telephone. However, after two staff members trying to dial out on the Sunday and the Manager attempting to on Monday, they realised that 'yes, the telephone was not working' and it still wasn't working on the following Thursday when we left. However, reception was very good about dialling the numbers I wanted then putting it through to me. I could receive incoming calls.

- only 2 utensils per unit e.g. 2 x dinner plates, 2 x bread & butter plates, 2 x mugs, 2 x knives & forks etc. Meant everything had to be washed as soon as it was used, sometimes before the end of the meal. Bit useless having a dishwasher for that small amount of items.

- could not get the oven to work, also only a flat baking tray, nothing with sides to catch fat dripping off during grilling or baking

- only 1 small drawer in the bedroom, decent sized wardrobe but half was taken up with ironing board, heater and fan.

- nowhere to put soap in the shower.


- main door locked during the daytime which meant using card all the time and only one card issued for the apartment.

Seem to be more cons than pros but these could easily be sorted out. All in all it was a pleasant experience and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for something high so that you can enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooballGympie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Region hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
19 reviews
0.7 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Harbour Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Harbour Oaks

Property: Auckland Harbour Oaks
Address: 16 Gore Street | Auckland City, 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland Harbour Oaks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tallest apartment tower in New Zealand - 4.5 Star Qualmark Rated. Auckland Harbour Oaks offers Auckland CBD apartment style hotel accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour and city.New:* GYM Access* Pool Access* Complimentary 1 hour free broad-band internet per night purchased (up to 250mb). The emphasis is on style and comfort at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Auckland Harbour Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Harbour Oaks Hotel Auckland Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing