We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gunga din” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auckland Harbour Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auckland Harbour Oaks
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gunga din”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We had booked 2 rooms for 2 couples as we were attending a wedding nearby. The wedding was due to start at 3pm and we could book in at 2pm, giving us 1 hour to freshen up and get dressed for the occasion. First problem, no parking outside hotel, no forecourt, no space nearby, so had to double park in street while I raced in to register. Then I couldnt get the door open, I pulled, pushed and rattled, a bunch of exotic faces behind the counter looked in my direction and then I pushed again and the door opened. Seems the staff had to approve of my appearance before unlocking the door. Yes! we have your booking sir, but no we did not get your request for a car park, you will have to drive around the streets looking for a car park space, maybe we can find a space nearby for you later. I let the others out and drive off to find a car park, then I am phoned by my wife - We cant stay here, there's problems with the plumbing. We now have 45 min before the wedding. They found an alternative Hotel for us that was close to the wedding venue and transferred 1 booking - not both. After charging around with incorrect directions we found the new hotel with a bit of help. 30 minutes until the wedding. Queue at the desk, 1 couple register ok, no booking for the others, 25 minutes later we all get into our rooms. After a quick shower and throwing our fancy duds on we trot down the road to arrive in the middle of the ceremony.
So I will never know how good or bad the inside of Harbour Oaks is as we couldnt get in!
I feel that they could have contacted us earlier to advise of the problems. and if you are travelling by car -beware of access and parking issues.

Room Tip: Noisy streets -get a room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommaynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    160
    179
    108
    85
See reviews for
159
227
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed here with a colleague for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. I was worried about the noise from the street and surrounding bars etc, but barely heard a thing. Perhaps in the middle of summer with the windows open it might be different, but with the windows closed it was just fine. Our apartment also had 2 bathrooms which was brilliant given that I was with a colleague. The lounge area is spacious enough to spread out a bit, and the views were great too. We got a really good rate online, which included a basic but substantial continental breakfast. Carparking is extra, and should be reserved in advance to guarantee a spot. Perhaps what impressed me most was the gymnasium, much better equipped and far better quality equipment than I was expecting! It's also in a primo location, walking distance to anywhere in downtown Auckland. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed here for three nights a week into December. The hotel is afew blocks from the bus depot and the main shopping strip.

I was in a two bedroom apartment on the 21st floor. View of the harbour from the lounge sliding door and views of the city and skytower from the two bedrooms.

There was a starter pack which included sugar, coffee, tea, UHT milk, washing detergent and toilet roll. Towels were waiting on the heated towel rack. Housekeeping was offered to me each day at the door.

The staff at both check in and check out were polite and helpful.

I personally enjoyed having the pub across the ground and one on the corner. There was an outside nightclub a block away from the hotel on the Friday night which was extremely loud until 3am but this was not the hotels fault.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again.

Room Tip: I asked for a harbour view on a high floor if available :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Got a very good price on a 2 bedroom place. Really nice harbour views from the lounge and both bedrooms, and the lounge of was spacious enough for the three of us to relax in comfortably. Good location for walking to the new Britomart and Wynard Quarter areas, tons of places to eat within walking distance and convenience stores nearby as well. We've stayed in plenty of apartments in Auckland, and would gladly return to this one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porkpiegaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinterbro, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights during our around-the-world-trip with kids aged 3 and 4. On our arrival day, we were lucky to see the annual Christmas Parade from Farmers, just a block from the hotel. A great start to our stay, in such a lovely weather!

Our apartment was 23-B on the 23rd floor with a harbour view, which was stunning. Day and night we could watch life in the area, it was actually particularly beautiful at night. It also has a very small balcony where crazy people like our small ones can walk around and scare their parents :-)

The apartment had two sleeping rooms, with view in different directions, fantastic! It also had two spacious bathrooms. The room and kitchenette was spacious and had a dining area for three persons.

If we were to complain about something, we could wish some more storing place for our luggage.

Every day we got new towels and a cleaning of the apartment. This we were very satisfied with, because we travel with small kids.

We had some problems to get online at first, because the hotel does not have wifi. But everything turned out fine, thanks to a phone line in the wall behind a sofa :-) We had some water dripping from our sink one day, but this was solved within an hour!

Every night a man would come and serve us tomorrow's breakfast, a basket with juice, a banana, a roll and a yoghurt, which we found quite good. This is after all an apartment hotel with a kitchenette, where you can cook your own food if you want to.

We didn't know much about the area, but were pleasantly surprised. The Britomart is just outside the door, with many nice cafes, restaurants and interesting shops.

There were some convenient stores outside, a lot of cafes and some nice cheap restaurants, so we did not cook our own dinner more than once this week!

There is a gym and a pool at the hotel, but we did not use them.

Room Tip: Ask for 23 B, nice view from the sleeping rooms in two directions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KEGillesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Was here for 3 nights in November, got a deal on Booking.com. I reserved a bayview room, but upon arrival I was told that it was not an option. I booked it that way, tho?! The toilet ran for 3 days, no Air Conditioner, and no room cleaning either. Was nice to have a kitchenette, and location was great, but I won't be back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Our one chance to have a night away in the city turned sour by this place,the complete incompetence of the check in staff person that we dealt with was shocking.
Ended up because of a problem with the microchipped card the door would not open,turns out that they had authorised it to another room, three quarters of an hour later still standing outside the room waiting,it was finally sorted by my husband having a few words,it ended up we were late for our work dinner.Room was okay waited this morning for our free continental breakfast to arrive, not realising that it had been shoved on the bench last night one banana, one yoghurt,snack bar, and a juice and bun,what a scream.Having travelled many overseas countries it's a shame that in my home city that there could be such a terrible place,that tries to scam people that come there with false information,my advise run away as fast as you can.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AucklandGarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are very unhappy to know that you left iStay Residences disappointed. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences you experienced.

We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further. Please contact customer relations on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au.

We do hope you will consider staying at one of our serviced apartments in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland Region hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Region hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Harbour Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Harbour Oaks

Property: Auckland Harbour Oaks
Address: 16 Gore Street | Auckland City, 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 261 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland Harbour Oaks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tallest apartment tower in New Zealand - 4.5 Star Qualmark Rated. Auckland Harbour Oaks offers Auckland CBD apartment style hotel accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour and city.New:* GYM Access* Pool Access* Complimentary 1 hour free broad-band internet per night purchased (up to 250mb). The emphasis is on style and comfort at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Auckland Harbour Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Harbour Oaks Hotel Auckland Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing