We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic spicy Indian food”
Review of Urban Turban

Urban Turban
Ranked #1,162 of 3,602 Restaurants in Auckland Region
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“authentic spicy Indian food”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

delicious!
Wish we were not in a hurry because I wanted another bowl of bottomless curry for lunch.
At $29 per bowl it was actually worth it.
Pity about the "free wifi" which required patrons to enter their Vodafone My Account number in order to access it. I have a Vodafone account but it didn't work anyway.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dougcoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    75
    22
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Pretty good”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

The food was amazing especially the butter chicken but the whole atmosphere have a some what cold and boring environment meaning not alot was happening but the food made up marks and I would fully recommend this restaurant for the high quility meal

Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Modern restaurant, great location.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We went here for a drink and a snack before our dinner reservations.
The catchy name drew us in for a closer look, the menu is a bit different to a standard Indian restaurant with a few different options to suit different people. We had the chicken tikka and ginger chicken to share. Both came out very fast which is good but strange how 'fresh' chicken can be cooked so fast,
The decor is modern and upbeat with great music choice.
Staff were attentive and helpful.
Would go back to try something different.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, but a bit expensive”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Took my family here for dinner the other day. Food was great and slightly different from what you would normally get a normal Indian restaurant. Food was taste and portions were a pretty good size.
The only down sides is that I found a bit expensive, and bottom less meal, is really pointless, you only can eat so much indian food because its so heavy.

But would I recommend people to try this place out, Definitely.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capta1nAwes0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding.”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Can not fault this restaurant. The best Indian food I have ever had. A really creative modern twist on a traditional food. Waitress was accommodating,friendly and polite. Music spot on, location beautiful. A highlight of my visit to Auckland, can't wait to come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank JinjaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Turban also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland Region, North Island
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Urban Turban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing