We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #77 of 257 Auckland Region B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“The Best B&B in NZ”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent a few unforgettable days in a very idealistic place. The Hosts (Helen and Willem) do their best to surroundings disposed to rest and relaxation, just what we needed after a long flight. We were given for a full week to complete disposal separate house suitable for two families, at no extra cost, where there are two bedrooms, two showers, refrigerator, TV, etc. Lodge keepers hold their own chickens, so that you can get eggs for breakfast from just eggs laid. The little daughter was very happy neighborhood of horses, sheep and chickens. Lovely pool and spa are available at any time. The hosts are very open and friendly, willing to help in every way. All that like our daughter was given to us as a gift. Even we were invited by Helen to a barbecue dinner. We recommend this Lodge to everybody. From staying there we have only pleasant memories.
Хозяева делают всё возможное для удобства гостей от чистого сердца, не считая это работой, а призванием и мечтой к реализации которой стремились долгое время.

Room Tip: The separate house is better then main home
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateryna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bycroftlodge, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Kate, Anton and little Anne, Thank you for your lovely words. It was really special for us to have you around as you were our first Russian guests and we hope you enjoyed the rest of this beautiful country as well. All the best in Moscow and hope to see you ever again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very happy to have chosen the Bycroft Lodge for our first 2 nights on the Northern Island. A genuine warm welcome: Willem and Helen are great hosts! Interior: good eye for detail.
Our little one (5 yo) really enjoyed the outdoors: the sheep, horses and chicken (don't worry....you hardly hear them) and garden to move around in. The Bycroft Lodge is definitely on our 'return to Auckland'- map, especially because it is so close to Auckland (and Airport), but still very quiet. (and we still have to try out the Spa!) Almost forgot to mention the amazingly rich breakfast. We're happy to recommend!

Room Tip: We liked the Ascot suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday201050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bycroftlodge, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Manon, Robin and Leyla, Thanks for the lovely words. We think you are great people, full of "life and adventure", the type of guests who inspire us! Would love to see you back before you leave the country! Helen & Willem xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roelofarendsveen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A warmer welcome you can not wish for. After traveling in a campervan for a month and sleeping in a hostel above a 24-hour disco, we were looking for a nice relax retreat to end our travels to New Zealand. And what a (re-)treat did we get! Lovely hosts, very comfortable room decorated with taste, hottub, yummy food with view on the countryside of Auckland...what more can one wish for? Do not hesitate about this adresse; just book and see for yourself!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bycroftlodge, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Gerd, Ute & Christina,
We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope the good feeling about New Zealand will stay!!
Good luck with all your future plans and maybe we'll see you back here! Kind regards,
Helen & Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were going to a wedding in Papakura and decided on a weekend away. Beautiful room in a lovely location. Lovely couple who did ALL they could to ensure we had a great stay!!! So accommodating!! Had 2 wonderful night's sleep there and left so rested!!! Recommend!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngarewa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bycroftlodge, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you Ngarewa it was a pleasure to have you as our guests. Hope you had a good trip back to Hamilton and also we hope to see you again! Kind regards, Helen & Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our last night in New Zealand we stayed at the Bycroft Lodge. We had a warm and lovely welcome, a wonderful night and a great cooked breakfast. The room was fully equipped, silent and offered a view in the green. Thank you Helen and Willem!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bycroftlodge, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Gerd, Ute and Katharina,
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests! We hope the NZ feeling stays on and we will see you back here just not only for a holiday ! Good luck with your decision!! Many regards Helen & Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary and we really enjoyed staying in Ascot Suite. The place is tidy and the spa pool is amazing with definitely a nice view. The hosts are really accommodating, and serves yummy breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bycroftlodge, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Brando, thanks for the lovely words. It was a pleasure to have you and your lovely wife around for the weekend.We hope to see you guys back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We came there for the last days of our trip around the world. It was the perfect end of a perfect journey. Hans and Willem gave us a very warm welcome. Every morning lovely breakfast with a beautiful view over the farm land: what else could you wish for? Maybe a hot tub? That's is also part of the deal! In short: we enjoyed this place very much!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirjam0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bycroftlodge, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks Mirjam! How romantic that Jens proposed
To you on our verandah! We wish you all the best
And hope to see you back one day with the three
Of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland Region
9.3 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
142 reviews
5.0 mi away
BK's Counties Motor Lodge
5.5 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Pukekohe
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Runciman Berries and Emus B&B
Runciman Berries and Emus B&B
#35 of 122 in Auckland
15 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lavalla Estate
Lavalla Estate
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
17 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Country Inn
The Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ramarama
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Bycroft Road | R.D. 2 Drury, Karaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bycroft Lodge is a boutique style B & B, comprising 2 rooms with ensuite bathrooms and one self contained apartment in the green area of Karaka, only 20 minutes from the airport and 30 minutes to the CBD of Auckland. All luxuries available to make this the perfect start or end of your 100% pure New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing