We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #81 of 256 Auckland Region B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little slice of heaven”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I took my husband away for a night to Bycroft Lodge as a birthday present, and it was hands down the best place i could have chosen. Helen and Willem are the epitomy of perfect hosts, and were so incredibly warm and welcoming as soon as we arrived. We had booked the Ascot Suite for the night, and as soon as we were taken inside we were blown away at how beautiful it was - rustic whitewashed furniture, large sweeping windows, even a wonderful antler chandelier. Once we had settled in, Helen gave us some fantastic ideas of some places to have dinner out, and we ended up at Monarch in Pukekohe. As a side note, Monarch was really fantastic, and there were also numerous other options, spoiling us for choice. The next morning we were greeted by beautiful glistening sunny views through the palm trees out over the fields, and then at the time that we had chosen, we were presented with the most amazing breakfast spread we have ever laid eyes on! Eggs, bacon, homemade fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt and extra special Dutch coffees. After a relaxing breakfast, and then a wander around outside to meet the horses and chickens, we packed up and sadly headed back to the city. We really cannot reccomend Bycroft Lodge enough, it is the perfect escape from the city, or from anywhere for that matter, and you feel like youve been transported away to a magical slice of paradise. Helen and Willem are the real standout of the place, with their amazing kindness and welcoming nature - they are so lovely and so open to helping out with anything you need. Head to Bycroft Lodge for yourself and experience it, we can assure you that you will not be disapointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stenta149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
It's always a pleasure to have such nice people staying with us, that's what makes it so enjoyable for us! Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent two nights at Bycroft Lodge, before and after our wedding. The hosts, Helen and Willem, were absolutely lovely - always friendly and approachable, but never too intrusive.

The rooms were both beautifully decorated and equipped with all the usual things - tea, coffee, kettle. We also got bath robes! Bed was very comfortable, beautiful clean sheets and comfy pillows. The view from the balcony (and room) was the highlight though - a gorgeous meadow with hills in the distance. When we woke up in the morning it was the loveliest thing.

What really put our experience a cut above though, was the fact that as it was a base for our wedding, we had people - hairdressers, family etc. - coming in and out of the lodge and this was absolutely fine with our hosts, they were very gracious.

Breakfast was divine - fruit, yoghurt, eggs, bacon, sausages, bread, coffee, tea, and I'm sure there were other things as well but needless to say there was a lot of lovely food and we were not about to go hungry!

In summary, we found Bycroft Lodge a delight. it was luxurious, comfortable, we ate great food and enjoyed the peace and quiet of a gorgeous rural location. It was a wonderful spot for pre-wedding activities and a great place to relax post-wedding. Thank you Helen and Willem for such an enjoyable experience and we hope to visit you again sometime soon :)

Room Tip: Both rooms were almost identical, except that one had a large mirror that was great for the hairdres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickAlexPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bycroftlodge, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We are very grateful that we were able to make your BIG Day such a wonderful experience!
It was a pleasure to do so and very easy as well with such a delightful wedding couple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on the way home via auckland, and I must say that the owners Helen and Willem were the perfect Dutch hosts. We were travelling with our 15 month old, and they did everything for us to help us have the most relaxing time.

We hadnt told them in advance of my wifes food allergeis and Helen did everything to cater for her. She even had a travel cot for our little girl!

They have beautiful acreage with a country view of rolling hills over paddocks of sheep and horses. The rooms face east so you get the beautiful warm sun streaming into your room if you leave the blinds open each morning, and we were spoiled with breakfast served on the balcony in front of the room in the sun.

Our daughter loved the grass to run around in, the sheep and feeding the chickens that give them fresh eggs every day. The spa is a beautiful 38 degres, and the pool looked beautiful but a bit too cold in October to try it out.

We wish we planned to stay longer. You will not find better hosts anywhere. The lodge is very close to the airport and much nicer than staying in Auckland. There is a town close by with lots of restaurants, and there are nice country drives to local wineries and a honey farm. Your hosts can even pick you up and drop you to the airport! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrixyPo_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bycroftlodge, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thanks for your lovely words, we always enjoy it when we have little ones around who can experience a bit of the country life! Would love to see you guys back here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

My husband and I, along with my brother and sister in law , had been travelling the entire length of new Zealand and had been away from Canada since January 27th . We chose this B&B before we left home based on the location to the Auckland airport, because we were leaving for Canada the next evening .
We were greeted with open arms at the Bycroft by both Helen and Willem .( who loves to sing while he works ) We then were taken to our lovely cottage with 2 separate and beautifully designed rooms, each with its own bathroom . The cottage had an expansive verandah where we were able to sit back , relax and watch the sheep, horses and the peaceful countryside . Helen brought all of us a welcome drink of our choosing to start off the evening . After unpacking ,we went over to the Gasebo near the house,( Just a few steps , really) where Helen served us a very tasty meal, which we had pre-ordered . We invited them to join us for the meal and had a great time getting to know each other. They are a fun couple who love meeting others from every corner of the world and we had such a super evening ! We went for a dip in the pool and then sat for a bit in the inviting hot tub., all within a few steps of our home for the night . The breakfast next morning was excellent and we truly hated to say goodbye to this very gracious couple. They stood together and waved good bye until we could no longer see them .
Bycroft Lodge B&B is truly a little piece of heaven in the country side but close enough to the Int. Airport in Auckland that you will have no trouble finding it . If you prefer, they will take you and drop you off or pick you up.
We guarantee you will love it !

Room Tip: contact by website Bycroft B&B .
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank prairygirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bycroftlodge, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
What a wonderful Canadian people!! It was like having long term friends staying with us!
We hope we can meet again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland Region
9.3 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
141 reviews
2.5 mi away
Runciman Berries and Emus B&B
Runciman Berries and Emus B&B
#33 of 119 in Auckland
15 reviews
5.5 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Pukekohe
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
BK's Counties Motor Lodge
9.3 mi away
Lavalla Estate
Lavalla Estate
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
17 reviews
2.8 mi away
Drury Motor Lodge
Drury Motor Lodge
#16 of 59 in Auckland
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Bycroft Road | R.D. 2 Drury, Karaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bycroft Lodge is a boutique style B & B, comprising 2 rooms with ensuite bathrooms and one self contained apartment in the green area of Karaka, only 20 minutes from the airport and 30 minutes to the CBD of Auckland. All luxuries available to make this the perfect start or end of your 100% pure New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing