We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mussells”

De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe
Ranked #776 of 3,550 Restaurants in Auckland Region
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: De Fontein is located in the heart of Mission Bay, just 8 minutes drive from Auckland's CBD, and is the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, especially from the sun drenched balcony overlooking the bay. We proudly serve authentic Belgian cuisine complimented by an extensive selection of fine Belgian beers & some of the best wines from NZ and Australia. We recommend you try our signature steaming mussel pots, or our famous mussel platters.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Mussells”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Half price mussells on Mondays!!! You have to go. The blue cheese one is so rich but so delicious! I have been to a few of the de fonteins and they are always good! Portion is generous and staff very friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cushla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    78
    44
    29
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, liked the Belgian Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

An acceptable range of good quality pub food at prices above what we expected to pay. We had double lamb shanks at $32 and although they were well past normal lamb age they were nice and beautifully cooked. Pork Belly at $28.50 also well cooked.

An excellent range of Belgian beers (only seem to have Belgian) and enjoyed the 2 that I tried. At $14.00 for a 500ml glass it is not cheap. The drinks lists and menu clearly show the prices and if they are unacceptable one can easily leave.

The restaurant was busy on a Tuesday night which indicates that it is popular with a lot of people. Tables and chairs fairly old but they suited the overall environment. Need to exercise care to avoid falling when using the stairs and walking to a table.

Staff were all friendly and knowledgeable and did a good job. Car parking pretty awful.

View of Bay was top class.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AytonWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Belgian beer cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great mussels. Lovely atmosphere and reasonably priced. Been several times and would definitely recommend it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raimondd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have been here numerous times for dinner over the last few years and it is always good. It's pub food, nothing fancy but each time the food has been tasty, portions good and atmosphere lively.

On Sunday 26th August we went for breakfast and it was disappointing. I ordered an omelette and it was very small with literally a handful of salad on the side which was not good value at $15.

I wouldn't return for breakfast but more than likely will for dinner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathrynAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never fails to please.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I took my date there and was pleased with the whole restaurant experience. We had the Leffe beers, ordered a big serve of mussels to share for starters, then our meals. Excellent quality, good service and interesting staff to chat to. A very pleasant experience, and I'd go back in a moment.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrancieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Mission Bay, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing