We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“your wife must of digested food too rich for her taste buds”
Review of Casablanca Cafe

Casablanca Cafe
Ranked #275 of 3,674 Restaurants in Auckland Region
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“your wife must of digested food too rich for her taste buds”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

sorry mate but I strongly disagree about HAVING a bad meal in orewa as they only opened last Wednesday!?? I also had the Lamb wrap on Thursday 26 for dinner and again for lunch yesterday 30th Monday. I had no issues of food poisoning on either days. I've had a selection of dishes from Casablanca Orewa and Casablanca Mt Willington and we have enjoyed them on many occasion's. I'll be heading back there tomorrow for Lamb wraps!! lol. Awesome food Orewa..as far as im concerned my partner and I can now stay in Orewa instead of travelling to our ex (lol) favourite Restaurant out in Sylvia Park. Great service. your Guys are awesome

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHARMY20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    59
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great lunch with a sad ending”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visited the Orewa restaurant on the 28th September 2013 and had a lovely lunch. I had the Calamari salad and my wife had the lamb wrap. It was a lovey meal and the service was excellent.

Unfortunately, 2 hour laters, my wife started to fell very unwell, bought wrap back up and has spent the night with vomiting and diarrohea. Very disappointing as in previous visits to the Sylvia Park restaurant, we had no such issues.

Kerry

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KTA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murat A, Owner at Casablanca Cafe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Kerry,

We are very sorry to hear about your wife's unfortunate experience. However, we are extremely diligent when it comes to food safety. All of the food being served is very freshly prepared with the utmost care by qualified chef's whom adhere to the strictest food handling, hygiene and safety policies. Since opening last Wednesday, we have served over 500 meals, a great many of which have contained the lamb and other wrap components that your wife consumed. In fact, many of the staff working here dine on the lamb wraps frequently. We have had no similar feedback received from other customers with regards to negative effects after dining with us - your case appears to be an isolated incident. Therefore, it is highly likely that her ill-health was due to another circumstance.

So once again, we are very sorry to hear that your wife has been unwell, but we are confident that it is very unlikely to be a result of dining at Casablanca Cafe, Orewa. You're very welcome to contact us at Casablanca if you wish to discuss this further on 09 426 6818. Thanks for your feedback. Murat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A middle eastern enjoyment”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Really enjoyed the warm welcome and good service on a wet middle of the week night. The food was everything one could ask for and more and at a good price point.The flovors were as I recall experiencing in the middle east and the ambiance of many other patrons also enjoying themselves was obvious. Another to be repeated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RodG93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Authentic Middle Eastern Food - Love the Surroundings”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have eaten here on several occasions; love the decore with the cushions on the chairs and Morroccan lights. Also that the music is ethnic rather than some loud pop crap! Big menu choice, we shared a dish of spicy calamari for our entree and we both had 1 shank of a lamb tangine with couscous for our mains plus a side salad. The calamari was alittle drained in aoli; the lamb was tender and tasty. Definetly recommend this place if you're wanting casual dining and tasty spicy food. On the edge of the Sylvia Park Shopping Centre so it's easy to get to. The service was good and the food came promptly. Pity they only have one restaurant in Auckland I feel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent ambiance, got a nice Middle East vibe to it. The food that we ordered was absolutely amazing. The lamb fatoosh salad and the calamari salad were exquisite. Excellent mix of flavors and well presented. Service was quick and efficient. Would definately go back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benny911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca Cafe also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Mount Wellington, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Casablanca Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing