We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ethnic charm”
Review of Casablanca Cafe

Casablanca Cafe
Ranked #266 of 3,596 Restaurants in Auckland Region
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ethnic charm”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to Casablanca on a Monday night, and it was fairly quiet for an early week night. I wouldn't have chosen Sylvia Park myself for a dining experience as I was thinking most of the shops in the mall close at 6pm however the local I was with decided it was a good choice and close by where I was staying. He had also had Casablanca recommended by locals as a pleasant eating spot... they know their stuff... He was right!
The Dining Lane at Sylvia Park had various eateries open for business. We chose Casablanca after perusing various menus outside each eatery on the walk through.
The furnishings and decor were very authentic and in keeping with the Mediterranean theme. The menu was extensive and I had a difficult time choosing from the fine selections available, they were all so good. I eventually settled for a chicken tagine and my dining partner had a Lahmujan- an ethnic pizza type dish. They were delivered reasonably quickly, soon after our nibbles had been enjoyed. There are many beverages on the drinks list to enjoy and we enjoyed our regular tipples.
It would be a great place to come in summer too as the seating outside would provide a visual of the mall and surroundings and the happenings that are taking place.
They have menu 'specials' on a Monday night ... check them out - it's worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    58
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I used to come here for a lunch, fell in love with the place and never was disappointed.
The dishes are excellent! Tabuli is the best I ever tried, Moroccan lamb tagine is to die for. And the cakes... oh...
The staff is awesome, and the atmosphere is unique and relaxing. One of my favourite cafes in the world.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iovchinnikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Food is absolutely divine, great service & fantastic atmosphere! Went for breakfast. The simplest of meals has never tasted so damn good. Will certainly be returning. Highly recommend trying this place out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lady-blueprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Suprisingly delicious, highly recommend.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place for large groups to lunch. The food was excellent and was delivered hot & fresh and all 20 main courses arrived at the same time, most impressive.

A lovely establishment, much better than Garrisons and for the same price too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dugstor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murat A, Owner at Casablanca Cafe, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback Dugstor! We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals (all 20 of you!) and we look forward to seeing you again :)

Best regards, from Murat and the team at Casablanca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Great tasty food. Love the black Sea chicken. I have eaten here several times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca Cafe also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Mount Wellington, Auckland Region
 

Been to Casablanca Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing