We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shopping but no soul”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Newmarket

Newmarket
Ranked #145 of 452 things to do in Auckland Region
Attraction details
Ponsonby
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Shopping but no soul”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Broadway is full of shops .however it is a little sterile . I buy shoes there.
Behind Broadway there is lane, Teed Street which is better and at times can be a little funky and with the Nutfield street area which has lovey heritage building lifts Newmarket and is where i like to hang out.
The Rialto Cinema complex which is Auckland premier movie venue is my first choice for movies a

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    32
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A vibrant Centre with some great shopping opportunities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Newmarket is one of those places that have great shopping opportunites, all the big brands and some locals one you may not know but still great quality and good prices can be had, you do have to pay for parking it is about $3-00 an hour on the street, try parking in 277 shopping complex, you can get some parking for free if you purchase something in the centre
Worth a visit if you want that special gift,
Great cafes and bars to for that Flat White or a night out, it is lively place to go,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank athenry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I love new market, morrow and teed streets are awesome, the teed st larder is incredible as is little and friday.Shopping is great, lots of different and designer homeware, clothes etc nuffield st is incredible, tasca is great and their barista is one of the best in auckland

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mir7289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Shopping and Looking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I like Newmarket as a destination for nice shops, it has a bit of a buzz about it and there are plenty of choices for lunch or coffee. Always busy, and interesting retail outlets.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlemingsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not Much to Shop, but Fun to Walk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

On NYE, we came here by bus, visited Westfield 277 Newmarket and other stores, and went back to our hotel in CBD on foot, strolling through Newmarket and Parnell.

I was thinking Westfield, the mall, would be larger. I found something to buy only in Ralph Lauren. There, we bought some clothes for ourselves and relatives at home. A clerk at the shop was nice and we enjoyed chatting with him about where we were from and so on.

We also enjoyed talking with a clerk at an electric appliances store in Newmarket, who visited Japan the previous month.

We also enjoyed our lunch at Turkish Café on Broadway.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bunicchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newmarket also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Newmarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing