We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Newmarket

Newmarket
Ranked #145 of 454 things to do in Auckland Region
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Compact and interesting. There seems to be a very representative cross-section of all NZ shops here as well as some up market design and fashion places. Also some cheap bookshops as well. Can swim in the unusual baths under the parking building, go to some great cinemas -the Rialto which has some classy films - or eat at some extremely good and moderately priced restaurants. We end up here several times a year and we live over half an hour away.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatePnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    32
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A shopping centre and business hub... nothing more and nothing less”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Again... the map to my left, as I write is wrong. Newmarket is in Auckland, and it's got movie theatres, the tepid pools and lots and lots and lots of shops and services with a few nice eateries. It is where I go if I want to go to the movies, as there's parking and food and drinks to make a pleasant evening out of being in it's vicinity, else it's just a shopping experience that once was my local.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
224 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Shopping Fiesta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

If you enjoy a variety of intense shopping with a sprinkle of cafes this is a must be on your list of places to visit.

Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
715 reviews
288 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Great shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great places to shop and large variety of shops. Always busy.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Some great places to shop, all pretty close and handy.

Helpful?
Thank Change777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newmarket also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Newmarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing