We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whanau enjoyed their stay and the facilities provided”
Review of Mineral Park Motel

Mineral Park Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mineral Park Motel
Ranked #143 of 186 Hotels in Auckland
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recommendation to day or weekend trippers with big family gatherings, especially for families that have travelled a far, to invest in staying at Mineral Park Motel. We booked the 3 bedroom house, units 1, 2, 3 and 4. And we were still able to enjoy each other as well as have our own privacy. Whanau thoroughly enjoyed having their own spa in their own units and house, as well as the main pool room, which the ladies enjoyed, while watching the All Blacks, and rewarding ourselves after a busy day, while the children were comfortably chilling with their Dads, Uncles and cousins in their units and the house. We will return there for future celebrations and even just time out, can't ask for more than that, our son had an awesome 10th birthday gathering, paintball, parakai pools and motel, Whanau were able to transit between parakai pools and the motel, without dramas either to tend to the little ones or catch a sleep, or bathe in the privacy of their own spa, or just chill out and still be part of the Whanau celebration. NOW that was very accommodating. Bonus yeah you even get discounted vouchers for entry into Parakai Pools. Pai rawa atu Mineral Park Motel, WE will be back...

Room Tip: Advance bookings would secure and add value to your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have had the displeasure of staying at this sub standard motel on more than one occasion because of a lack of alternatives in the area.
We originally stayed in the house which was damp, cold and tired. The beds were uncomfortable, pillows hard and had a few thin blankets I may as well have slept on the floor. Electric blankets were the only saving grace. We stayed for over 2 weeks in which time we could watch the filth accumulate on the lounge floor. (only remedied by asking for it to be vacuumed)
We were then expected to move to a smaller more cramped unit for the same cost. (which we argued against)
I'd also advise parents not to trust their kids in the private spas without them being half boiled. The Temperature was far too hot to use comfortably with no way to adjust (cool down or heat up)
The owners were polite and helpful but it was overpriced and the facilities/ chattels need a lot of work/ investment to bring them up to par. The owners may counter this review with a claim I am being malicious, well I've traveled the width and length of the country with my work for over 10 years and this is the first motel I have felt so disappointed I have been compelled to warn others.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wandering_savage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We rented the 3 bedroom house which was small damp and outdated.A waste of $220.00.Promised sky,,Which was in the pool room only.Broken door handles and a filthy spa pool which was to hot for the kids.A complete waste of money and staff that were not helpful at all.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have had an excelent stay here with my family in the 3 bedroom house , found the staff are very helpful and friendly.We love the pool at the deck and the temperature of the thermal water is just right and clean . The furniture are a lil old but is comfort and cosy and clean . I will highly recommend this motel to my friends and definately will come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caninebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The 3 brm house we booked for 1 night was very over priced at $265 / night for 6
Dirty furniture in the lounge and overall a very tired property.
Cold shower and totally unsympathetic management made it all quite undesirable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everlyn L, Manager at Mineral Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

The customer is the same group stayed on February 04 2013, our reply ditto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We chose this little motel as they said they had a 3 brdm house adjacent to the motel with its own mineral pool. And it was handy(ish) to the wedding venue we were attending. It sounded good for $265 per night. What we found was a tiny little house with mismatched furnishings and peeling lino and the most basic of furnishings - he sofas were dirty and no-one would sit on them. Next morning we did not even have hot water - we think they had it turned down so low it was cold! When we reported it at checkout we got $25 off. This unit may be okay for a large group who need to be right by Paraki Pools - but not at the money. It was way too dear for what it was.

Room Tip: Dont choose Unit 9!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishwatcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everlyn L, Manager at Mineral Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

We regret the customer made the exaggerated and somewhat malicious statements after failing to get more discount on the agreed price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Unfortunately I thought I had booked a 2 bedroom unit, but there was only one bedroom with two single beds in the lounge. Fairly tired decor and quite expensive at $195 really. Saving grace was the mineral spa that came with the unit - although we nearly cooked our legs when we got in. You need to uncover it and run the bubbles to cool it down first. Pretty ordinary but might be good for families with kids who want to go to the beach nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andamos_bien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Parakai Geothermal Motel
0.1 mi away
Parakai Springs Lodge
Parakai Springs Lodge
#1 of 1 in Parakai
41 reviews
31.3 mi away
Howick Motor Lodge
Howick Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Howick
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
342 reviews
30.6 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
19 mi away
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mineral Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mineral Park Motel

Address: 3 Parakai Avenue | Parakai, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 186 Hotels in Auckland
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing