We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence in all departments” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portofino Bar & Restaurant

Portofino Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 39 Restaurants in Devonport
Cuisines: Italian, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence in all departments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had been invited to a birthday function where a set menu was available at $35.00 a head.
The choices offered for the entree and main courses were plentiful and varied.
Service was very good and the meal content, both for myself and surrounding other guests, was well presented and tasteful and represented exceptionally good value for money.
Drinks service was comparable to the food service and we were well attended to throughout the meal.
The demeanour of the staff was pleasant and attentive without being over-bearing and I would have no hesitation in recommending this restuarant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    38
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Some good food, some average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place came recommended to us and it was certainly busy - great atmosphere. We shared an antipasto platter which was very nice. My main course fish was superb - perfectly seasoned. My husband's cannelloni was very average though - no béchamel sauce just a blob of melted cheese on top and the pasta was tough and not cooked through properly. So a bit disappointing on what was otherwise a nice evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crystal231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always a great steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here regularly over the last couple of years. I always get the steak and am never disappointed!

Attentive staff, quick service and good quality food.

Not exactly a cheap place to eat but I feel wellworth it.

Try the garlic bread to start - YUM!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Italian harbour side entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

There was a full contingent of Italian staff which made the food experience seem more authentic, the menu was quite expansive and had something for everyone, light salad type meals or the full works with pizza and chips and garlic breads, and all the usual desserts like tiramisu. The food came out quickly and tasted good. Approx $18 for main courses but some were higher. .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Have eaten here several times and have never really felt like I have had value for money. The main meals I have had are okay, usually steak or pasta. Have had the chocolate tart for dessert, beautiful

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bottles15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 
Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 

Been to Portofino Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing