We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even granpa said the food was excellent”
Review of Manuka

Manuka
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even granpa said the food was excellent”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We went here for a late lunch with no expectations and were super pleased with our choice. My dad who never compliments a restaurant meal said the food was excellent - no higher praise can be expected. Would definitely go back there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    169
    36
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A real surprise!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We ate lunch here today- no problem to seat 9 of us and provide colouring in to keep the kids occupied.
Large menu which I often don't equate with quality but this was not the case at Manuka- really lovely meals.
Lamb salad- lamb perfectly cooked.
Chicken burger- generous and tasty.
Bacon and eggs- eggs cooked hard as ordered- doesn't happen often.
Tomato sauce- no problem- came out straight away.
Kids menu varied- breakfast options, pizza , pasta, fish and chips. Again generous sized portions for $9.50 per serve.
Milkshakes were a winner.
Only negative- coffee could be better. Not bad but not great either.
We would definitely return to Manuka.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CandN07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I got Brownie points”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I took my local fiends here while on holiday from NZ and they new nothing about it but did they rave about the food. I had been before in 2007 and the standard of food, hospitality and service is great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradders242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Superb salads and loved by locals”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This local eatery has an informal look and casual atmosphere that disguises the superb food and service. Going many times during my business stay in Devonport, I looked forward to each meal more and more. I particularly like the entree salads, one of which featured the very local flavours of kumara, lamb, spinach, and feta. The servers were to a person efficient, pleasant, and genuine. Sitting there night after night, I noticed that most of the clientele were locals coming for a takeout pizza, joining friends for dinner, or taking the family out for a treat. Others came just for the coffees or a glass of wine. Not cheap, but definitely a worthwhile choice among the clutch of eateries along Devonport's high street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level Contributor
182 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Service friendly and fast and the food was yummy! I had a breakfast option and hubby had lunch. Both happy with choices. Cant ask for much more really :0)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lucystarbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuka also viewed

Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 
Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 
Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 

Been to Manuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing