We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are planning to stay in or near Aucjland, Admiral's Landing should be your choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you are planning to stay in or near Aucjland, Admiral's Landing should be your choice!”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Admiral's Landing B and B is well located for excursions to Auckland, to the Huraki Bay and to the many islands (Rangitoto, Waiheke, etc) in the region. The ferry terminal is steps from the front door!
If you want a picturesque view of the harbor acroiss to Auckland, this is the place. During the night, the panoprama of Auckland is spectacular, and it is also lovely in the daytime.
The spacious guest rooms and bath we had were newly finished, with updated technology, including skylights and the latest in bathroom fixtures. It was just beautiful, including the use of native New Zealand hardwoods and design features.
Devonport itself is a lovely town with great restaurants and shopping; additionally, there is also Auckland just minutes away.
The hosts, Howard and Joy, were attentive to our needs and very helpful with our questions. They even shared some of their books with us!
Breakfast choices were numerous and the meals were satisfying and delicious. Fruit and tea were available 24/7.
The house itself couldn't be better, including guest amenities such as a stocked refrigerator and delightful balcony overlooking a beautiful garden.
Even though the location is convenient, it is a quiet area for rest and relaxation.
We traveled extensively in NZ, saw plays and did major hiking and kayaking. During this time, we stayed at a variety of accommodations. We would recommend Admiral's Landing with confidence!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyandDon046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    18
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
76
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Fantastic location in Devonport with views of Auckland across the water, very close to the ferry terminal. Attentive and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nacoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this B&B for our three nights in Auckland.  Here are some of the highlights:

Location:  Best location in the Auckland area!  Admirals landing is located directly off the Ferry terminal.  This is quite perfect and the ferry is only an eight minute trip to the city of Auckland.  Auckland itself is simply a large city, but Devonport has loads of character.  It is an oceanfront community with several restaurants and shops with beautiful views.

Accommodations:  My husband and I stayed in the Poaua room which was great.  We had a queen size bedroom to sleep in, as well as a "sitting room" which had a day bed in it.  We used the sitting room for our luggage.  We also had access to both a half and a full bath, both which had just been renovated.  The shower was amazing and was heated with solar heated water.  It was also very quiet in our wing.

Breakfast:  Joy provided us with a menu the night before where we could choose what we wanted to eat.  Joy does not mind if you order everything off the menu (which we did because my husband is a professional athlete and needs a substantial breakfast).  We were grateful for so many healthy breakfast options!

Hosts:  Joy and Howard are wonderful people.  They were incredibly accommodating during our entire stay and Joy took us on a guided tour up Mount Victoria.  She also got us into the fitness center at half price (which is up the street).  This was the perfect start to our trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCatherine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Comfortable, relaxing accommodation, lots of little extra's, great hosts, excellent breakfast on the deck. 2 min walk to the Devonport ferry and on waterfront yet nice and quiet for sleeping, good parking. 10 mins drive to downtown Auckland and all downtown Auckland offers. Accommodation and breakfast aided a wonderful weekend away. Thank you very much.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank anna737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

This was our final stay in New Zealand and also our most expensive. We were booked in for three nights but stayed just one.
We were staying in the waterfront room but when we arrived at 3pm we found that the room was not ready and had not been made up. This didn't bother us too much at that point but thisdid change when we found we were the only ones staying there.
We had been there no more than half an hour when Joy took us on a tour of the area. It was interesting and informative. We knew to expect this, but as we had been driving for a few hours and had not eaten lunch and didn't expect it to happen as soon as we had arrived.
We had the choice of eating breakfast on our balcony or at a table on the landing as the dining room was out of bounds as things were being stored there. This was also the same on the landing itself.
When we were back in our room we started to see allsorts of thing that were not right.
The TV and the Sky sound system were not rigged up. The kettle needed to have your finger left on it just to boil it. The glass in the newly refurbished bathroom was not frosted or obscure and the blind in the window didn't fullycover the window, so if you were going to the toilet or washing at the sink then you could be seen.
There were holes in the ceiling where lights should have been and builders tools in one of the draws. The curtains were dirty not hung properly and didn't fit the windows.
We were told the double glazing was sound proofed at the front but this was not the case as cars were hurtling up and down the road into the early hours and there was a loud party going on at the back of us.
There was no clock, no pictures and lacked the finishing touches we had had in our other stay's.
We didn't stay for breakfast the following morning. I explained to Joy what was wrong but she didn't seem too surprised at some of the comments. I have had an email from Joy apologising for our stay and that she is in the process of rectifying the issues.
One comment i did make was that i felt let down because there was the opportunity to let us know that major works were going on and to give us the option to cancel or not.
My suggestion would be to anybody who is planning on staying is find out what you will be met with when you arrive because you may want to make alternative arrangements

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Outstanding Quality in Location, Setting and Hospitality. Howard & Joy make staying with them like being home but only with the luxuary. The location could not be better for access to both Auckland Central along with a excellent selection of resturants & shops closeby in Devonport (and their recommendations were supurb). If you want a memorable stay. in the best of company, stay here at Admirals Landing. Thank you both from Steve & Megan.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_megan2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bullwinkle55
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This is the second year I have stayed with Howard and Joy at Admiral's Landing. They are the kindest most attentive hosts, it's almost like being a guest in their house rather than a customer of the their lovely B and B. Devonport is a lovely, quiet suburb of Auckland and Admiral's Landing is a five minute walk from the ferry that leaves every half hour to go to Auckland city proper. If you like being out of the way, but convenient to the city, staying in a lovely home, with privacy, cleanliness, luxury, and wonderful hosts, Admiral's Landing is your place. I hope to stay there again and again when I am in New Zealand for business or pleasure.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bullwinkle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
217 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,196 reviews
2.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast

Property: Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11 Queens Parade | Corner of Anne Street, Devonport 0624, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Devonport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central waterfront location opposite ferry wharf (10 minutes to downtown Auckland) Stroll 90 seconds to restaurants, cafes, galleries and beach. Exquisite lighting and fittings. Data points, TV,CD, DVD, gowns, flowers and fruit in rooms.Laundry service and sprinkler system. Harbourside room enjoys magical wide views and sunsets to the south-west; mountain views to the north. Large ensuite and balcony. Big scented garden. Off street parking. Hosts are New Zealanders who welcome guests with evening antipasto and New Zealand wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast Devonport, New Zealand - Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing